We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat fest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 204647
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Orpington England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meat fest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent an enjoyable evening at Carnivores, with around 20 friends prior to a wedding that weekend. Very vibrant atmosphere, and walking past the fire pit at the entrance, where all the different meat was being barbecued, certainly created an expectation of the good food to be savoured.

The meat was brought to your table on long skewers or swords, and a flag was placed in the centre of your table. All the time you left the flag flying the meat would keep coming. When you were all full, the flag was lowered and indicated no more meat please.

We had a wide range of meat served. Beef, pork, chicken, lamb, crocodile, ostrich and ox balls, were some of the delights. Good food and ambience ensured that the Carnivore was fully booked the Friday night that we dined there and should not be missed if you are in Nairobi.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review about the Carnivore.

We are so delighted you enjoyed meal and were pleased with the food and service.

Your remarks have been shared with the service and culinary team, who will be really motivated to continue improving.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    368
    486
    262
    113
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pricey!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Was great to go and mingle with the mix of locals and tourists but for the price we were charged I was left a bit shocked and disappointed. Waiters were lazy and ignored us most of the evening and I sadly won't be recommending it to friends, I would much rather they went to Java House or Art Cafe at one of the shopping centres. Sadly there are too many positive reviews to make this seem worthwhile writing but had to get my thoughts out there!!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Carnivore- a memorable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Early in the year I visited Carnivore for lunch with some friends who had asked me to share with them. My friends and I enjoyed every bite of lunch that we had on this day. For tasty buffets, nyama chomas this is the place to be while in Nairobi. Safe from what I had heard from friends I had a first hand experience. You will never go wrong with carnivore restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review about The Carnivore and are so delighted you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the food and service.
We have shared your review with our team, who will be really motivated by your remarks.
Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A real spectacle of a place but hardly the best value for money in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Any visit to Nairobi should involve one (although just one) visit to Carnivore.It is a very smart place & the food is really good as are the sauces that complement the meats,the service is very good & the whole ambience is great.But Nyama Choma (what this place serves) is a Kenyan institution & can be had in many other places for a fraction the cost of Carnivore,although rarely in a place as lovely as Carnivore.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the ambiance of the Carnivore experience, but felt it was not value for money. We try hard to offer our customers a unique experience but obviously did not wholly live up to your high expectations for which we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“ok but overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

When visiting Carnivore again (after several years) I was rather surprised about the price they are asking nowadays. As the place/menu/service is still the same the new price was surprising and is not justified. Also the fact that 10 % service charges is automatically added was new to me and my kenyan friends. Will not go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at The Carnivore Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are so sorry that your experience at Carnivore was unsatisfactory. We try hard to offer our customers value for money but obviously fell far short of your expectations on this occasion. We will share your view with our team in order for us to improve. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.