We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be on everyone's to-do list in Kenya” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Road, Nairobi, Kenya
254 020 605933
Update restaurant details
Ranked #27 of 302 restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Should be on everyone's to-do list in Kenya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I went there in Jan 2013, it is one of a kind. I have read reviews saying there are better version of such "exotic meat grill" restaurants, but I haven't been to any so this was an amazing experience for me.

The staff deserves a special mention, they are amazing. top-notch service, always smiling, courteous, eager to serve.

The total bill was KSH4644 with KSH2550 for the dinner which is unlimited meats with sauces and salad, one soup with bread and desert of fruits or ice cream at the end. Two large Tusker beers cost me ~KSH600. There is a special drink called "Dawa" which means medicine (in Hindi, and also in Swahili according to the waiter). The "Dawa" is a cocktail of vodka, lime, honey and a few more things, but lime & honey are the dominating flavors. It is good, and costs KSH 575 per glass. There is a 10% service charge, 16% VAT and a 2% levy. I was there all by myself so KSH4644/person is definitely not cheap.

Now the main show: exotic meats. They have only 2-3 varieties of these exotic (or unusual) meats. One is crocodile which actually tastes quite bland. It is kind of disappointing for such a ferocious reptile. Second is ostrich, which is amazing. The meat has a very deep flavor and is unique. This is something that everyone should try once in their lives. They also have Ox's testicles, but I didn't see them going around and wasn't really interested in them. Overall here is the meat report:
1) Crocodile: bland, almost tastless, somewhat like chicken
2) Ostrich: grilled: amazing taste, deep flavor, must try
3) Ostrich meatballs: tastes amazing, somewhat similar to mince chicken but with a deep flavor
4) Roast Turkey: really good
5) Chicken wings: good, has a tangy sauce on it
6) Goat ribs: good
7) Goat grilled: dry and almost inedible
8) lamb meat: very similar to the goat meat.

Soup and desert are not worthy of a mention.

They also have a side show of tribal dances and a tribal dance welcome at the door, but I think thats just part of a tourist-trap, we all know they are not really tribals, they are urban Nairobians.

Overall, highly recommended and I'll definitely return whenever I can

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    334
    417
    231
    106
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“a paradise for meat-eaters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Farewell dinner at Carnivore was a present from our safari provider, Diwaka Safaris, and was an unexpectedly revitalizing experience after 5 -hour drive from Ngorongoro and 1-hour flight from Kilimanjaro to Nairobi. A perfect ending for a perfect safari-thanks to Diwaka for both

We were met at Nairobi airport by Diwaka representative and taken directly to Carnivore, where everything was already arranged and waiting for us.

We had refreshing towels and drinks, then the show began. It started with an array of soecial cocktails, then an offer of soup, then a round plate of salads and sauces, followed by detailed explanation how the restaurant works
They put a small wooden pyramid on top of this round sauce-holding plate, and a small Carnivore flag in it.

then they start bringing the meat on long skewers and you are being offered all the variety until you surrender- you have to show it by putting the flag down.

We started with sausages, chicken wings (they call the Kenyan Airways), then honey-glazed pork ribs, turkey, pork, beef, lamb and finally -a crocodile, an emu, ox balls!

Crocodile was bony and dried, emu was worse than turkey ( tasted like turkey dark meat) -so we continued with pork ribs and chicken

Drinks are somewhat expensive, we paid about 200 USD for two bottles of vine, several cocktails and a couple of beers. on the other hand, if you divide it by six of us -its not that expensive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food was ok. Atmosphere was nice. We went on Christmas Day so there were lots of people and lots of activity. I especially enjoyed the monkeys that ran across the top of the building to get in the trees

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Atmosphere in this restaurant is great. All kinds of meat at your table untill you surrender.... Fun!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Touristy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Plenty of theatre as you walk in with a huge fire pit with a huge selection of meats happily cooking over it. You are shown to your seats (best to book!) and how the restaurant works is explained to you. The servers walk around with the cooked meats on long skewers and serve you at your table. They carry on coming around until you take down your 'flag'. If you still want more, raise your flag & it all starts all over again!
I was a little disturbed by the ammount of cats running around the place & they sit looking at you whilst you eat!
If it's a little chilly, traditional fires are lit in portable heaters and left near your tables.
The meat selection is varied; the usual chicken, beef, pork & lamb as well as crocodile & ostrich.
I place is well geared up for tourists as a lot of the tour companies will include a lunch time visit here on the back of an excursion to the elephant orphanage or giraffe centre.
There is a large bar next door which turns into a club on the weekends & that is worth a visit!
Prices as of Dec 2012 Dinner 2500KSH per person and a 10% service charge on your total bill (which I object to paying! If service is good then I will tip; I don't like being told that I have to). Personally speaking, it was somewhere I wanted to try, having read the reviews, but it was a bit too far out of town & I think that Fogo Goucho offered better value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.