We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carnivore Restaurant

The Carnivore Restaurant
Langata Rd, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 733 611608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: African, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: On the outskirts of Nairobi on the Langata Road is the world famous Carnivore, known as the Ultimate 'Beast of a Feast', a meat lovers den where a vast selection of succulent meats are charcoal grilled and carved at your table. Adjoining the Carnivore main restaurant is the 'Simba Saloon' - a vibrant informal a la carte restaurant with a childrens playground,
Capelle aan den IJssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Atmosphere in this restaurant is great. All kinds of meat at your table untill you surrender.... Fun!!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    516
    273
    117
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Touristy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Plenty of theatre as you walk in with a huge fire pit with a huge selection of meats happily cooking over it. You are shown to your seats (best to book!) and how the restaurant works is explained to you. The servers walk around with the cooked meats on long skewers and serve you at your table. They carry on coming around until you take down your 'flag'. If you still want more, raise your flag & it all starts all over again!
I was a little disturbed by the ammount of cats running around the place & they sit looking at you whilst you eat!
If it's a little chilly, traditional fires are lit in portable heaters and left near your tables.
The meat selection is varied; the usual chicken, beef, pork & lamb as well as crocodile & ostrich.
I place is well geared up for tourists as a lot of the tour companies will include a lunch time visit here on the back of an excursion to the elephant orphanage or giraffe centre.
There is a large bar next door which turns into a club on the weekends & that is worth a visit!
Prices as of Dec 2012 Dinner 2500KSH per person and a 10% service charge on your total bill (which I object to paying! If service is good then I will tip; I don't like being told that I have to). Personally speaking, it was somewhere I wanted to try, having read the reviews, but it was a bit too far out of town & I think that Fogo Goucho offered better value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Arrive hungry!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Carnivore will really stuff you. Professional waiters bring you all the meat you can eat and the interior is wonderful, but there is still to much tourist trap here.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap but Thumbs Up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This reminded me of a much better Rainforest Cafe in the states. Carnivore prepared various types of meat that you cannot find anywhere else and it is SO worth it. It is pricey but great for a one time go-around. I ate ostrich eggs, buffalo balls, and much more exciting meat that is brought out on sticks and offered to you at your desire. (We also did the all you can eat for a set price). The staple adult beverages are heavenly and the service is friendly. I'd give it a whirl... on an empty stomach!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were staying just outside the city so the traffic was slow and it took a while to get there but it was a good opportunity to take a look at our surroundings
The restaurant was how we expected it to be. Huge slabs of meat cooking so definitely not for vegetarians ( they did ask if we were and I thought they were joking ) The drinks were not too badly priced the service was excellent and all the staff were very friendly.
Staff bring around skewers with a variety of meat until you have had enough and put the flag on your table down signifying you have had sufficient.
We were served, beef, two different types of lamb, chicken wings, pork, bulls balls, Ostrich and Crocodile and they even came around with an entire turkey on a giant skewer and sliced sections off it.
The meat was served with a variety of sauces to accompany each meat and a salad with a baked potato.
We really enjoyed the experience and were really glad we made the effort to go instead of just eating in our hotel.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Carnivore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Carnivore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carnivore Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.