We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD INDIAN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 346 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD INDIAN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We sampled some nice dishes of Balti Indian style in this resto as well as some char grills.
The prawn curry was really good as well as the fish curry. These dishes were well spiced and really tasty. The naan was very good.
The rasmalli dessert was also great.
Atmosphere quite buzzy, one of the best Indians we had.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    116
    34
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A decent curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This is a good Indian restaurant. I have been many times and the food is of a consistently high standard. I like a very hot curry and if you ask for it you will get it. Be warned !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Haandi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went to Haandi with a group of 24 doctors and nurses from the UK here on a mission performing peadiatric heart surgery. Food was very good but thoroughly disappointed with the dessert. We had ordered Kulfi and everybody left it after taking just a spoonful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

After travelling to more than 25 countries and trying an indian restaurant almost everywhere I can confidently say that this is one of the best indian food i have tasted! The food is great, service is good, ambience perfect..what more can you ask for! Highly recommended for anyone who loves indian food and is in nairboi!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Ambiance - Average Taste”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I went to this place with Friends during my stay in Nairobi. The food is nice though I found the taste to be a little bland and prices to be a little expensive then what we paid at other restaurants.

One of the things that I didnt like was that the waiters kept pushing for ordering more or choosing expensive options and will give looks as if u r being cheap. Additionally, we were wrongly billed for an additional rice and when we told this to the manager, he said that the credit card payment has also gone through and he can only adjust this when we come in next time (which we didnt ofcourse).

We stayed there for 3 weeks but never went back to this restaurant. Though the place was quiet full so it seemed to be a local favorite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.