We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good indian food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really good indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

I was in Nairobi for two days only and my client took me to Haandi. I loved the food so much. I loved lassi, aloo chley and paneer tikka. The other day when I wasn't with my client we went to handi again. We ordered paneer kadai, daal kebab and chicken biryani for my cousin. He said he didn't like egg garnishing on the top in biryani. Other than that it's awesome. It's a little pricey too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    113
    94
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Top Notch Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great restaurant in a not so great mall (called, not so originally, "The Mall"). The decor is very modern and clean. You can see the chefs preparing the food through the large glass window that prominently displays the kitchen from every vantage point in the restaurant. I didn't have a large meal, but what I had was excellently prepared. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Indian food near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place to grab a meal if you've got a few hours in between flights at the Nairobi airport and don't want to travel too far afield. Curries are great, and ambiance not bad (given the location in a mall) - especially the terrace. Worth the cab ride out to get some decent Indian food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Handi in Westlands has for a longtime provided the best Indian Cuisine in Nairobi. The food is so amazing and the place is clean with a great ambiance. Anyone would love the restaurant.
As usual I will always recommend it for a touch of indian taste in Kenya.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went to the Haandi at Capital Mall and it was a great eating experience. The food was delicious and the service was very efficient.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.