We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming looking but lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 316 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Unassuming looking but lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was a very low key Indian restuarant inside a mall but the food was delicious and extensive. Beautiful lamb legs, prawn dishes and breads. Really nice friendly service and very attentive.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    108
    92
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, better Indian than India!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

After being in Nairobi for 3 weeks and working our way through the trip advisor recommendations we were taken with Haandi.

The service was perfect, not pushy, yet still observant of meal progress. The waiters and an intimate knowledge of the menu.

The food was fantastic, naan bread was out of this world, as was the traditional dishes they are served in.

We will be back in the next few days!

Thank you Haandi

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good food, but can be inconsistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The food is usually very good. I've had the best experience food wise in the westlands location. Food at the Capital Center location has been inconsistent and is pricey for wht you get.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in NBO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

In my opinion the best Indian food in Nairobi. I love the garlic mushrooms. If you like Indian food, should try this.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I eat at Haandi's more than any other restaurant in Nairobi - it's consistently excellent. The service is good, and they are redecorating in stages (as of March-April 2013) which hopefully will brighten a slightly dull/stuffy interior. The (glassed-off) view into the kitchen is nice.

Haandi's starts you off with the KenIndian-customary crudités with sauces/chutneys, and have a unique hot-towel system. The waiter places in front of you a steel bowl containing what appears to be an oversized mint. Pour boiling water onto the "mint", and it expands into a steaming hot towel.

Haandi's does North Indian, and does it extremely well. I tend to stick to the "dry" dishes, rather than the curries, since those tend to be heavy (albeit deliciously heavy). The chicken nilgiria tikka is divine, as is the calamari. The naan breads are the best I've had anywhere.

It's unclear to me who can have room to order from the dessert menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.