We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TOP INDIAN RESTAURANT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 340 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“TOP INDIAN RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A long established restaurant know by regulars as a top evening out at a relatively reasonable price. A favourite for business lunches and dinner and family gatherings.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    120
    36
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I kick myself...I ordered something with big fat juicy prawns, but can I remember what it is on the menu....I have to go back! ps. the black lentils are amazing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
“If you have a layover at the Nairobi Airport drive here for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a 6 hour layover at the Nairobi airport. Faced with the bleak food choices at the airport we went to Haandi for dinner. It was well worth the trip. The food is excellent as was the service. Our only complaint is that we could not take the leftovers with us to eat on the plane! The hostess told us the restaurant is negotiating to open a site at the airport. If so I hope the food served there is as good as at this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

For Indian Food lovers, Haandi is an excellent choice. The waiters will be handy to take up your order and expalin to you the various food types to the first timers. Excellent food as well excellent services and ideal for the whole family as well as business.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Most first nights after 24 hours of travel are terrible at best....but making it to Haandi put this night in a whole new category. This charmer is located in a small shopping mall which was initially a concern....but I'm so glad we followed a recommendation and went out for dinner.
The food was delicious and made to order - spices included. The breads were fabulous. There was lots of activity and happy people enjoying everything from family meals to couples get aways. All seemed to be happy to have found this spot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.