We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Indian Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Enjoy Indian food, both North indian and Mughlai, feel as in India, good hospitality and service. Big Menu card to choose from. Place for family and business visitor

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    107
    92
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Deterioration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I have visited this place every year for the past six years. This time there was a noticible deterioration. Sauces were out of a tin and not made in-house. Portions were small and carelessly presented. I was upset to have to listen to staff arguing about who had stolen who's pen at the bar.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent variety, service, value - well worth searching out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Haandi's is on the upper floor of a mall that looks a bit like it's seen better times. Go anyway!

Your meal starts with a hot towel that expands sixfold when the waiter pours hot water over it. The menu has a wide range of choices, including many vegetarian options and spice combinations that are not usual in North America's Indian restaurants. My Indian dining companion found it all as good as Grandma's. Portions were not too large, which we appreciated as it meant we could try more different dishes.

Don't remember the exact bill but it was very reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Average food with good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I think the place needs a re-fit, looking a bit tired and outdated now except the glass fronted kitchen. I did note that there were very few Indians dining here compared to say Open House over the other side of the road, maybe this speaks for itself. The chilli paneer was bland and the kadai chicken was far too salty. On a positive note the naan breads were good. The service was good but a little intrusive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Handi in Nairobi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Dear all,
My collegue and I were in Nairobi for one week and we looked for a good Indian restaurant was advised Haandi in Westlands is good, this was far from it seems to be owned by Indians but I am sorry to say that they must think we are all daft, the food was water downed and not authentic Asian, it seems to be aimed at tourist who must be daft, food quality = terrible , and as over priced .
I do not mind paying for good quality but this is the worst food I have tasted.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.