We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deterioration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deterioration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have visited this place every year for the past six years. This time there was a noticible deterioration. Sauces were out of a tin and not made in-house. Portions were small and carelessly presented. I was upset to have to listen to staff arguing about who had stolen who's pen at the bar.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    123
    37
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent variety, service, value - well worth searching out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Haandi's is on the upper floor of a mall that looks a bit like it's seen better times. Go anyway!

Your meal starts with a hot towel that expands sixfold when the waiter pours hot water over it. The menu has a wide range of choices, including many vegetarian options and spice combinations that are not usual in North America's Indian restaurants. My Indian dining companion found it all as good as Grandma's. Portions were not too large, which we appreciated as it meant we could try more different dishes.

Don't remember the exact bill but it was very reasonable. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Average food with good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I think the place needs a re-fit, looking a bit tired and outdated now except the glass fronted kitchen. I did note that there were very few Indians dining here compared to say Open House over the other side of the road, maybe this speaks for itself. The chilli paneer was bland and the kadai chicken was far too salty. On a positive note the naan breads were good. The service was good but a little intrusive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Handi in Nairobi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Dear all,
My collegue and I were in Nairobi for one week and we looked for a good Indian restaurant was advised Haandi in Westlands is good, this was far from it seems to be owned by Indians but I am sorry to say that they must think we are all daft, the food was water downed and not authentic Asian, it seems to be aimed at tourist who must be daft, food quality = terrible , and as over priced .
I do not mind paying for good quality but this is the worst food I have tasted.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were a bit tired when we came here. Nevertheless, food was excellent. Can recommend the calamari and the rogan josh. Good service

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.