We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best Indian food I've had in a long time, original dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ottawa
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Simply the best Indian food I've had in a long time, original dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Cannot compare this to other specialty Indian restaurants in Nairobi, but Haandi was a fabulous find by my North American standards. They offered an inventive menu with quite a few dishes I'd never seen in Indian restaurants on the other side of the Atlantic, or even in the UK. Complex flavours. They asked first how spicy we wanted the dishes, and delivered just what we asked. Many vegetarian options. Rapid service.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    117
    35
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best in Nairobi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Went here with business colleagues as it had been recommended by others and was quite close to my hotel in Westlands. Definitely a good choice with great food and really good service!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre-Buenos Aires
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Not real indian feeling. Looks more to a standard hotel restaurant.
Food quality is average.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Indian food as good as back home, if not better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

We visited Haandi for an Indian meal on the day of arrival and on the day of departure. On both occassions the food was very good and the 2nd time, since we were in a hurry to get to the airport, the service was real fast as we requested, we were out of there in 30 minutes which is not bad for a family of four eating a full meal. Definitely worth a visit if Indian food is what you want.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in East Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have eaten at this restaurant in Nairobi almost every time I have visited Kenya over the past 10 years and it always exceeds my expectations. I have always enjoyed the variety of food that is cooked there. I have the opportunity to also visit their sister restaurant in Kampala, which always delivers the same excellent quality of food. Very enjoyable experience whether it is dinner during the week, or lunch at the weekend. A place to savour!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.