We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reliable curry house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haandi

Haandi
The Mall Shopping Centre | Ring Rd Westlands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
4448294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 355 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A reliable curry house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Haandi has been working to a succesful North Indian formula for many years. It's a little rundown in the light of day, but with consistently god main coursss in flavoursome sauces you may not notice in the evening. It's popular, but you rarely need to book. If you can't finish the meal (eyes can be bigger than stomachs) they will pack. Parking in the Mall is safe.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    128
    38
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
364 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A pretty decent Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I was directed to this by my taxidriver. Having eaten at other Indian restaurants, I would say that it is pretty good. The portions are sizeable. We ordered 3 dishes--two meats and a veg plus naan and we could not finish them.

There is no real view and the tables are close to each other. So don't expect ambience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not what it was”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Nice decor, Average food and poor service sums up what has become of Haandi.
Plenty of better Indian restaurants in town.
Time for them to wake up and realise that past reputations only last so long.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very poor service staff are nit friendly and manager very rude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Never ever I would go this is the second time I have had a very poor service rude manager food tool forever and service was like to serve certain people
The owners need to know and pull up
Those days are gone where Haandi was popular

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“another favorite in nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

located in the westlands mall, the haandi restaurant is a staple of our visits to nairobi. great service and excellent ethnic food. take the cab ride, it's worth it!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haandi also viewed

 

Been to Haandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haandi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.