We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just good for a quick stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Methodist Guest House

Save Saved
You added Methodist Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Methodist Guest House
Oloitokitok Road, | Box 25086, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just good for a quick stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

i will not say this is the best hotel in lavington, but i also wont say it's very bad. The hotel has a christian foundation so theres a church attached to it. Pleases dont go there on a sunday if ur not a church goer because u wont get any sleep. The rooms are very basic, local standard, it needs some serious renovation. The floors in the bathroom are all stained, u cant really balance the hot and cold water which comes out of a rusty shower. The room service here is limited to the sick, breakfast time is just too early if you were on vacation.
I had a situation whereby the housekeeping man just barged into the room after knocking once, i really felt insecure knowing my door could be opened from outside even when it's still locked from the inside.
Otherwise they have a lovely swimming pool and their staff are good, except for one female receptionist who kept texting on her phone while i had to wait before i could get my room key. Someone else had to give it to me and she wasn't even apologetic!
Methodist Guest House is just good if ur passing through nairobi just for a night, otherwise it's not really a comfort zone. Cosidering their location, i think they can do better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
3
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the only place we stayed in Kenya. It is dated but clean. Hot water all day. The internet is non-existent unless you log on between midnight and 5 am! The meals are the same every day and the quality decreased as the evening progressed. Often there was little selection and poor quality later in the evening. Staff was helpful -- they made the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

By African standards, this place is a palace. Safe, clean and affords you all of the comforts and securities of home. Laundry, good food, the only place I've seen in Kenya that brews coffee (typically you will see instant powdered coffee and hot water, or just tea). The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The wifi signal is weak pretty much everywhere on the property and even when you get a signal, it comes and goes. There is a beautiful pool and running water, even hot water (These are not easy to come by in Kenya). The front desk can exchange money for you and arrange for transportation. Very nice conference facilities. My one and only complaint is that the hallways echo and the hotel attracts large groups, so noise was a problem a few times. Tea time with fresh brewed coffee every day at 10 and then again at 4pm. I believe your room rate includes breakfast and dinner. You won't be disappointed. Fresh squeezed juice, fresh cut fruit and a custom omlette bar. If I go back to Nairobi, I will most definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We could barely open the door to our room as the bed covered 90% of the floor space. The general atmosphere was good but for the price we paid this was not good value for money. There is a large swimming pool but this can be extremely busy so don't expect a leisurely swim.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
296 helpful votes 296 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My room was $80 (single person) but even that was over priced for what I got. The shower and bathroom area (photos) were grungy. The bathroom made you not want to use it. The basic single bed itself was fair but the sheets were suspect. The dinner (buffet) was terrible. Spaghetti or over cooked quartered fish with bones, rice, fruit and cabbage salad. Look, I know that Nairobi is bi-polar; either great five star at $250+ a night or the backpacker hotels. But, really, unless you are backpack, Peace Corp or trying to do Africa on the cheap then sometimes in not so great places like Nairobi you have pay more to be safe and comfortable. I found the Sankara Nairobi Hotel for $156 (ouch) and I head there tomorrow. MGH Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here together with a big group in January.

Pros:
- The standard was quite good (for the price)
- Good service from the staff
- Free internet (or, it costs money, but so little that they give the login information to you for free)
- Nice swimming pool about 50 m from the hotel, free to use

Cons:
- Food is not so good, the meat was always chewy and/or bony and breakfast was quite dull
- Thin walls - you hear everything that's going on in the hallway

I don't know anything about the price since this was part of a group journey, but overall it's an ok place to stay. Very nice to have a pool :) I was in Africa for almost 6 weeks, and this was the nicest place we stayed - however, our trip was very low-budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for the first time the night before and the night after my safari in the standard room. It was average, but compared to other places, it was good enough for the price. Here are the pros and cons:

pros
- relatively good price (paid about 50 euro/night breakfast included)
- lots of security to get into the premises
- free internet
- rooms are good size
- I tried the dinner and breakfast, and both were very good. Lots of food, lots of choices, and it tasted good. Breakfast was eggs, bread, fruits, baked beans, bacon, cereal, juices, tea, coffee. Dinner one night was chips, potatoes, salad, ugali, rice, soup, bread, fish, beef stew, fruits.
- very friendly and helpful staff
- there is a store in the lobby that acts as a mini post office and place to buy phone cards. very convenient!

cons
- walls are paper thin. Expect to hear your neighbour singing or people's conversations in the halls.
- I stayed in room 311 one night, and the wifi signal was too weak to reach - no wifi
- whole place is a bit dated. Rooms and beds are a bit old
- there is simple push lock on all the doors. No chain lock or bolt. Staying by myself I did not feel very comfortable with that.
- Rooms clean for the most part, but the first night I checked in there was a mud stain near the bed....
- hardly any power outlets

Overall, good place to stay if you just need a reasonably priced place to sleep a few nights. The breakfast included makes it a good deal.

Room Tip: don't stay near the stairs (too noisy) or in room 311 (wifi signal too weak)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Methodist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methodist Guest House

Address: Oloitokitok Road, | Box 25086, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Methodist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methodist Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Methodist Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.