We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Methodist Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Methodist Guest House to your Saves list
Methodist Guest House
Oloitokitok Road, | Box 25086, Nairobi 00603, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 194 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We could barely open the door to our room as the bed covered 90% of the floor space. The general atmosphere was good but for the price we paid this was not good value for money. There is a large swimming pool but this can be extremely busy so don't expect a leisurely swim.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obazma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My room was $80 (single person) but even that was over priced for what I got. The shower and bathroom area (photos) were grungy. The bathroom made you not want to use it. The basic single bed itself was fair but the sheets were suspect. The dinner (buffet) was terrible. Spaghetti or over cooked quartered fish with bones, rice, fruit and cabbage salad. Look, I know that Nairobi is bi-polar; either great five star at $250+ a night or the backpacker hotels. But, really, unless you are backpack, Peace Corp or trying to do Africa on the cheap then sometimes in not so great places like Nairobi you have pay more to be safe and comfortable. I found the Sankara Nairobi Hotel for $156 (ouch) and I head there tomorrow. MGH Not recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdoamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here together with a big group in January.

Pros:
- The standard was quite good (for the price)
- Good service from the staff
- Free internet (or, it costs money, but so little that they give the login information to you for free)
- Nice swimming pool about 50 m from the hotel, free to use

Cons:
- Food is not so good, the meat was always chewy and/or bony and breakfast was quite dull
- Thin walls - you hear everything that's going on in the hallway

I don't know anything about the price since this was part of a group journey, but overall it's an ok place to stay. Very nice to have a pool :) I was in Africa for almost 6 weeks, and this was the nicest place we stayed - however, our trip was very low-budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiccabom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here for the first time the night before and the night after my safari in the standard room. It was average, but compared to other places, it was good enough for the price. Here are the pros and cons:

pros
- relatively good price (paid about 50 euro/night breakfast included)
- lots of security to get into the premises
- free internet
- rooms are good size
- I tried the dinner and breakfast, and both were very good. Lots of food, lots of choices, and it tasted good. Breakfast was eggs, bread, fruits, baked beans, bacon, cereal, juices, tea, coffee. Dinner one night was chips, potatoes, salad, ugali, rice, soup, bread, fish, beef stew, fruits.
- very friendly and helpful staff
- there is a store in the lobby that acts as a mini post office and place to buy phone cards. very convenient!

cons
- walls are paper thin. Expect to hear your neighbour singing or people's conversations in the halls.
- I stayed in room 311 one night, and the wifi signal was too weak to reach - no wifi
- whole place is a bit dated. Rooms and beds are a bit old
- there is simple push lock on all the doors. No chain lock or bolt. Staying by myself I did not feel very comfortable with that.
- Rooms clean for the most part, but the first night I checked in there was a mud stain near the bed....
- hardly any power outlets

Overall, good place to stay if you just need a reasonably priced place to sleep a few nights. The breakfast included makes it a good deal.

Room Tip: don't stay near the stairs (too noisy) or in room 311 (wifi signal too weak)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpurpleorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colma, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is our third stay at the MGH. Rooms are simple but clean, with ensuite bathrooms. There is plenty of hot water, in fact, trying to get a comfortable temperature for the shower can take a long time! The staff is very helpful, and there are guards to insure safety. We usually take two meals a day in the restaurant. It is adequate. Breakfasts include eggs made to order, cereals, beans, chips, bacon, sausage, and fresh fruit. Dinners always have several meats (beef, chicken, lamb, fish, goat), vegetables, soup, and lots of starches.
The guest house now offers free wifi, but it is spotty and unreliable. If you are having trouble with a signal, move to another part of the guest house.
MGH is just a short walk away from a bus/matatu stop, which can take you directly downtown.
Because we stay at least a week or more, we opt to pay in shilling instead of dollars, which always reduces our bill, even with bank fees.. Do the math between the room rates, before deciding which is best for you!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel is very clean with plenty of hot water and the free wifi; the staff is very friendly and helpful but room was not quiet to relax and sleep. The breakfast is perfect (includes Delicious omelets and alots of fresh fruit). Rates seem high ($90-110 USD/double). This hotel is far from city center. I would stay never again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Kenya, and it was a good introduction to Nairobi, especially when we didn't know what to expect. It was clean and simple, as you'd expect from a self-styled guesthouse. The corridors were quite "institutional"and echoing, and the doors did perhaps bang a little noisily, but the rooms were very clean with plenty of hot water, showers, mosquito net and bottled water. Free wifi was a bonus on our first night to let everyone know we were there safely. Breakfast was good, wide range including Kenyan porridge and fresh fruit. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
The Ndemi Place
#29 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Ngong Hills Hotel
#40 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#43 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Reata Serviced Apartments
#15 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methodist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methodist Guest House

Address: Oloitokitok Road, | Box 25086, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Methodist Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methodist Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing