We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value,customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel to your Saves list
Kenya Comfort Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent value,customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My stay with friends and family at this hotel was excellent, the custome service was excellent. Everyone on site was ready and willing to help with almost anything like carry bags or assist with children. the restaurant ladies need to do better. they were very slow all the time I was there and you had to keep asking for food. If they asked for tea, you had to remind them they forgot milk or the cup. Not once but all the time I was there 6 nights I had to keep asking for something. last day I just left without my mandazi since I dint want bread. got tired of waiting and they did not like when I tried to serve myself. That is the area that let down the hotel you can do better.the cook mathias I think was his name was quick with orders ladies let him down.
The front office manager Fred was helpful even offered to buy me a city ticket for my car to avoid being towed. Dint work with martin but I saw him and as usual he asked if we needed help. innocent the guy cleaning the room was always handy when needed. the security lady and guys as well were very help ful I forget the names.
overall the hotel was comfortable and clean even with children. I sure will return again.

Room Tip: choose room opposite the road if you prefer a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    60
    21
    12
See reviews for
10
53
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Clean, comfortable, very hospitable staff. Free wifi services are very unreliable in the rooms but excellent on the second floor (restaurant etc). Good budget option given the price range of other hotels in Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Safety: This is not like a typical hotel. It just has a female security guard but they make up for the safety by having metal doors at every floor which only guests can access.

Rooms: Are dingy, no fan and no AC.

Beds are kinda just ok.

Many safari bookers use it for one night when they arrive in Nairobi and is a popular hotel among the safari tour operators, I would suggest to spend a little more and get a better place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here while on vacation in kenya. At first we had some problems with our room and the manager on duty a Mr Martin acted quick to get problem solved. He stayed after his usual working hours and assisted ,my family with not only the room issue but also with my assisting locating my lost laggage. he even organized for transportation to collect my laggage at the airport the next day. Could not be happier with such personal care and attention. Am not sure how much he makes but he deserves a raise. he is polite and very helpful at all times.
As for the hotel the rooms are clean and there is hot water and internet which makes the stay comfortable. Basic amenities are provided and always a bottle of water was good to have on hand. thanks so muh i will return to stay her when i visit. its a budget friendly hotel.the restaurant was also very convinient and good food served. keep it up.

Room Tip: book in advance to avoid missing on a room especially during high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we have stayed twice at the Kenya comfort hotel now, once before and once after our safari, both times we had a good experience. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the shower has hot water, and the rooms were well stocked with basic amenities (soap, kleenex, water bottles, toilet paper etc). We had breakfast included and definitely worth it because there are several hot and cold options to choose from. The staff are friendly, and the wifi is slow but at least it works. I recommend this hotel as a stopover in Nairobi without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an excellent low budget hotel located in the city center and convenient for all attractions. Rooms are comfortable, service is very good, food is typical Kenyan style. Don,t be put off by all the stories about Nairobi not being safe, the city center is quite safe at all hours. Of course there are areas you need to avoid, like all large cities all over the world. Always ask the price before you get into a taxi, however the drivers are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for the executive, it is not expensive and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights after reading the reviews here. I agree with most of the comments here.
Its a nice affordable hotel with excellent location. Don't expect a five star treatment, its not what you are paying for.

Room Tip: Rooms at the corners are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.