We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for downtown.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel to your Saves list
Kenya Comfort Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Haifa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location for downtown.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great for budget travel, great location right downtown, not do far from Nairobi's night life and easy to access from the airport. Breakfast is OK, service is OK, yet try to avoid the bar at evenings if you want to avoid women (and men) looking for trading company for money... A bit expensive for the value, but still I'll recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    66
    25
    13
See reviews for
11
57
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms and service are decent. Mosquito nets have large openings so don't cover the whole bed, but mosquitos were not really a problem. It is a bit noisy, but quieted down later. Location is great and price is good, by Nairobi standards. Restaurant is good. Computers are available but for a fee. There are a lot of rules that must be followed, which is a bit annoying. There are several layers of security.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

What I wanted in a hotel was a clean room in a good location that I felt safe in. The Comfort Hotel was that and more. First of all the staff could not be more friendly and helpful. This was everyone from the front desk to the restaurant staff and the bar staff and security guards. I thought the restaurant food was good and the bar was a fun time, even just watching a football game. The location could not be better. I did not find the hotel noisy at all. The only noise was from drunk German tourist. The room was clean and roomy. Yes the bathroom was small but who cares, the cost was very reasonable. Keep in mind that this is not the Ritz Carlton but it is a clean, friendly place to stay. I would stay here again and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was staying in Nairobi during my visit in July 2012. The Hotel Rooms are Preety Old type. Hotel management is very very OVER-Professional. They even charge for Empty plates & each & everything U need in the room. If U get some food packed while Roaming in Nairobi & when u come back to Hotel & wish to eat food, U will be charged 200 KSH for just empty plates everytime U request. Its too much. Hotel Staff is co-operative but they are bound with management decision. I literally changed my Hotelafter 2 days. There are many good & Budget hotels within 100 mtrs from this Hotel. I wont recommend this hotel to anybody unless smone accidently checks in. Pl dont make ur holidays Drowsey & Boaring by staying here.

Room Tip: NO NO & NO Pl Travellers...U get Vry good rooms around in same Budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, Maine USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Hotel is in a great location for bus/shuttle to Tanzania. They stop right outside the Hotel. If you want a quiet restful night, FORGET ABOUT IT. It seems like their are no windows or they are wide open but they are closed. No matter what part of the Hotel you are in it's real loud and bright in the rooms all night long. A window above the door keeps light flooding the room. I had to put a towel up to block the light. The drapes have been removed and only a thin curtain covers the windows. The bathrooms are about 4'x10'. While sitting on the toilet you can not open the door. The Hotel staff is great but the restaurant cook, can't. Plus it's $10 per person for breakfast. Security is great too, but do you really need all that. Too much security. The fees for the rooms are too high for what you get. It's $60 and $70 per night.It should be $35 to $45 per night. The internet room is fair. All in all, you could do better at another Hotel. Keep looking. The television completely sucks. If your an american, forget about programming. Might as well keep it off.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front and asked to be moved to a higher floor in the rear of the Hotel the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at both Kenya Comfort Hotel and Kenya Comfort Suites (around 5-10 minutes away) in Nairobi on two separate occasions (before and after Safari to Masai Mara). We spent considerable time on looking for affordable but clean and safe accomodation in Nairobi which was rather difficult. We were very happy with Kenya Comfort the first night so decided to go back there before flying home.

The rooms were spacious, the bathrooms clean and modern, the showers hot, the staff friendly and helpful. We even forgot a few things at the hotel the first time and got them back when we returned.

The restaurant in the hotel was also nice and we enjoyed the food there.

If you stay at Kenya Comfort Suites be aware that the street can be a little noisy before midnight but it was not a major disturbance. On the plus side, rooms at Kenya Comfort Suites are much bigger and more modern than at the Comfort Hotel.

Overall, the hotel is a good choice if you need a decent base for a few days in Nairobi, a solid middle class hotel at a good price / quality ratio. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I recently stayed here for a night with a couple of friends backpacking from Cairo to Cape and we can all agree that Kenya Comfort is pretty good. There is nothing here other than the restaurant that stands out but there is nothing terrible about this place either. In my opinion, it is just an average hotel quality-wise. First off, the location of this place is very very good. It is in the heart of the city center and very close to everything in Nairobi. The bad part about that is that it can be quite dangerous at times but the security is solid here. The price is decent for a hotel close to the center but there are better places for cheaper outside the city. The staff were all very nice, they don't mind helping you out with any questions or reasonable requests you have. They do have free wifi, which is a big plus. The one thing that stands out, like I said earlier, is the restaurant. The price is decent but the quality of the food is amazing. We ate two meals there and it was probably the best meals we've had in Kenya. The only drawbacks we had with the hotel was that it was very small. I felt very squeezed when I was there with little room to walk with all of my luggage. Overall, if you want a safe, decent place to stay, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.