We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We - a family of four - stayed here for just one night as we arrived late and wanted to catch the shuttle bus to Tanzania, which leaves right opposite the hotel. The rooms were clean and of decent size, breakfast sufficient although service was very slow and location was extremely convenient. Considering the price was low, I would say you get what you are paying for, the only
other critisism I have is that the mosquito nets were way too small and didn't close around the beds. As this was our first night in Africa we didn't know whether this would be a problem or not but we realised that there weren't any mosquitos in the rooms anyway, so all was fine in the end.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    49
    60
    18
    10
See reviews for
10
50
40
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, kanya
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent in this hotel sometimes last year and i must say it was more than we expected,the staff were so welcoming and friendly,the rooms were okay,there was a bit concern about the safety of the hotel noting the fact that is right in the middle of town area,but to our surprise it was calm and safe with great food,and we definatly enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in July. The staff were very friendly and the rooms clean, safe and simple. The WiFi didn't work when I was staying in a room further away from the stairwell but you can always go to the area near the restaurant to get better reception. On the weekend some rooms can be a bit noisy due the clubs nearby, but this seemed to quieten down after midnight.

Overall, I'd recommend it for anyone transiting through Nairobi or just wants a simple, fairly cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This hotel is located in a good place. the prices are good the staff is helpful and friendly.

The bar on the other hand is pathetic. they have no booze and if you ask they tell you its out of stock! seriously get Your game together.

Over all i enjoyed my stay except that mishap with the Bar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent two nights at the hotel together with my fiance. We were concerned with the safety in Nairobi, but this hotel made us feel safe. The room was clean and had ok standard. Restaurant in hotel open 24 hours (good for us since we got up really early the second day, but it seemed a little odd to us). Staff very helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The location is quite convenient, and the facilities are adequate, but leaves somethings to be desired if you're coming for a multiple night stay. I have stayed here on two occasions and both times was moved to a different room - shower was apparently leaking into the room below, and another time the lock on my door broke. The staff is pretty understanding and the in-house restuarant/bar relieves you from needing to venture out at night. The street noise can be pretty annoying at night, but really for one or two nights, it's a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This hotel is located right downtown, which makes walking very possible. The staff make up for any areas that may be lacking in the hotel. On arrival (3:00am) we were given a very basic, small room. We were so tired at that point we only wanted a bed to sleep. The next morning the front desk wanted to move us to the correct room we had reserved. The difference in the basic room and the superior room is like night and day. Our new room was much larger, with many more amenities. The view was much better also, as we were on the 6th floor.

We only booked this hotel to and get some rest prior to starting our safari. It was a good choice, but the hotel is basic. From the front desk, the doorman, the bellmen, and the breakfast staff we found them all to be very friendly, and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for a base to get some rest prior to your safari. Don't expect luxury, but it's clean, and we felt safe.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, and ask for a high floor, as it's quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.