We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel to your Saves list
Kenya Comfort Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,092 reviews 1,092 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
745 helpful votes 745 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The location of the Kenya Comfort Hotel is good, being very central and within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. The large 24 hour shopping centre next door is very helpful. The hotel is a bit old and rickety, but then again most of Nairobi seems to be that way!
Check-in was a bit slow and painful, although I was at the end of a very long transit, so I was feeling every second before I could collapse in my room. There was some confusion though – I had booked for 3 nights, they thought I was staying for 1 night and I ended up leaving after 2 nights! Overall, though, the staff were friendly and helpful.
My room was on the 6th floor and should therefore have been one of the quietest. Not the case, with windows that did not seal at all. Street noise was a constant, although overnight the street outside was not too noisy. Mine was one of the air-conditioned rooms, and while the air-conditioner was present, it had very little effect on the room temperature and was not worth the extra money. That was my first major gripe – it wasn’t too bad in July as the temperatures are cool anyway, but in the heat the air-conditioner would do less than a ceiling fan. That they charge extra money for air-conditioned rooms is a disgrace.
My second grip was the wifi. With 3 connections to choose from, it became a frustrating and ongoing challenge to a, get a connection, and b, get that connection to actually connect to the internet. Drop-outs were a constant and overall the wifi connection was terrible – another feature of the hotel that they advertise but that comes up short.
Despite all this, my room was not horrible, although the blinds did not block out the light from the street and some painted over windows let the light from the stairway into the room too, so light sleepers (pardon the pun!) would generally struggle.
Kenya Comfort Hotel is at the cheaper end of the spectrum in Nairobi, and you certainly get what you pay for. Probably okay for a night, but not much more.

Room Tip: Maybe a room that does not overlook the street might be quieter? Don't bother with the AC rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    66
    25
    13
See reviews for
11
57
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed one night after our safari and chose this place because it is close to departing point of the shuttles to Arusha. Our budget room was small and not too clean but the bed was good. It was fine for one night. The restaurant is open 24 hours and serves good food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located in a central place in Nairobi. There is a big grocery store nearby. The room was small but had good mosquito nets and warm water in the shower. The room also had a tv with many channels. There would have been a breakfast buffet for a reasonable price but we did not have time for it. Staff was really helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Oh dear! Cockroaches and other bugs in my rooms (level 3 and 4). Had to stay pre and post safari as shocking company Absolute Adventure Africa use it as their Nairobi accommodation. Smelly on arrival. Staff need to wear deodorant. Holes in the old mosquito nets. You couldn't be bigger than a size 12 to fit into the bathroom (1m wide with toilet, sink, shower, door). Security staff present, Don't use the lift. Terrible breakfast! Not worth $60 per night.You even have to pay more to use their secure safe at reception! No safes in rooms.

Room Tip: choose another hotel - a clean cheap hostel or pay more for a good place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed over for 2 nights since I was in the city shortly to attend a friend's wedding. It is easily accessible, a walking distance from many of the city's restaurants, shopping malls, banks and main universities. There is a garden/park right across the streets, though not too safe especially for non-residents. The staff are friendly. I found the rooms too basic though, with the tv set placed high up on the wall, have to look up to watch.The bedding was clean, so was the bathroom except for a damp mat at the bathroom door. I got a street view, which was okay. I didn't sample their meals since I had my favourite eat out spots in town. Its a budget hotel, but would choose others over it since I know my way round Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakuru, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

i totally enjoyed my stay at the comfort hotel. the rooms were clean, bedding's clean and the food was also very good.
the receptionists were fun to talk to and really cheerful- they made the place very warm with their laughter. only thing is the rooms do not have DSTV, so if u like sports u have to go to the bar to be able to see and no late night movies since local channels switch to either aljazeera or cnn after midnight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on two separate nights. Both times, I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel felt safe with security guards at the front door at all times and iron gates (requiring a key for entry) on each floor. The first time, I stayed in a standard room which was basic and clean with everything you need in a cramped space. The room and the hallway reminded me of student dormitories - this was the first thing that came into my mind. It's not a bad thing, just a description to give you an idea of what to expect. For the second visit, my friend and I decided to upgrade to the deluxe room (one tier up from the standard room). The deluxe room was more spacious and didn't cost much more so if you can, I would recommended a deluxe room.

The hotel is in a convenient location with a couple of small shopping centres and supermarkets nearby. One of them is just behind the hotel and the supermarket there (Nakumatt) is 24 hours which comes in handy for the quick trip for water, snacks etc. There are also a number of cafes and fast food restaurants around. The hotel has a 24 hour restaurant, which was also convenient and the food was good and decently priced.

The only thing was that street noise carries into the rooms so it could get quite loud. For me, this wasn't a huge issue but for light sleepers this is something to consider.

In Nairobi, where decent, safe budget accommodation seems to be hard to find. I have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.