We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and secure hotel in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel to your Saves list
Kenya Comfort Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A friendly and secure hotel in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent two nights (one in a budget, one in a standard) here in April 2012. The staff were friendly and helpful, and there was plenty of security to make us feel safe. For us the budget room was better as we did not need a tv or wardrobe. The location is right next to the shuttle to Arusha/Moshi which makes this a very conveienet spot to stay if you are heading to climb Kilimanjaro. It is also close to a supermarket and many cheap places to eat.

All up this would be my first choice of accomodation in Nairobi (and I have stayed in much more expensive places).

Room Tip: Choose a budget room if you do not need a TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    60
    20
    12
See reviews for
10
53
41
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed in a budget room on the second floor. We booked our room online, paying 95 USD, only to discover that it would have been 75 USD if we paid at the hotel.

The rooms were small and had thin walls. We originally had a room along the street and it was really loud. We had to ask to have our room changed, which they did because we had not "used" it yet. Room had no A/C. Had windows but did not have screens so we were hesitant to keep them open due to bugs and mosquitoes.

They had good security with safe deposit boxes located on the 3rd floor.

We liked the location. There was easy access to food, bank and shopping. Check out City Market which is a 5 minute walk away to bargain for souvenirs.

Room Tip: Room that is not along the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a great Nairobi hotel. If you want somewhere Western look elsewhere. When I was dropped off I had my doubts, but as soon as I entered the lobby, met the staff, was escorted to my room I felt at home. This place encapsulates African charm, efficiency and friendliness. Granted it could do with being refurbished, but that might take away the magic. In fact, take that back. Don't refurbish it. Leave it as it is. The staff are wonderful. Breakfast is great. Strong reliable WiFi in the rooms. Nice bar showing English Premier League matches and serving meals as you watch. The local beer,Tusker, is more than acceptable, and round the corner is a great supermarket and pizza place (on Terrific Tuesday you get two for the price of one - try the veggie, superb). My room was cleaned spotless every day. Looked like nobody had been there before. Didn't see one bug, which is always important for me. So the only warning is this: if you want plastic, sanitised conditions you may not enjoy the Kenya Comfort, however, if you want to feel at home as a guest of Africa's finest hospitality from the moment you arrive, then the Kenya Comfort is the place.

Room Tip: I had room 603 which had air con. It was on the front and some people advised against this because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Kenya Comfort was really nice.... we spent three nights here in Jan 2012. The staff were awesome.... Martin, Fred, Walter, Jackie and all the rest whose names i did not master. All of you are very nice workers. I will always stay at Kenya comfort whenever i am in Kenya

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This hotel was not bad, so normal. You can stay here for couple of nights without any harm, maybe slightly disgusted from the room, furniture and bathroom. But you won’t enjoy it at all. Don’t expect anything like in three star Europe hotels. It was, if I close one eye, like the worst one star hotel, but with the price of the good four almost five star hotel.
The location was quite good, to close to see the city by walking, so there was no need to take taxi if you want to go to the Kenyatta International Conference Centre or other tourist attractions close to this. Also very good supermarket is just a couple of meters from the hotel.
But the hotel – breakfast was quite bad, or maybe we just were not used to these tastes. The room: very small, not in good conditions, quite old and used furniture, bed sheets, pillows, mattresses etc. To flush the toilet properly was really big deal. It was almost impossible so we almost broke the flush a couple of times. Our second room (after we came back from safari) did not flush at all. We asked for another room and they change it without any problems.
So to compare all this with the hotel price, we would not go back to this hotel at any rate. For the same price, it must be something better in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This place is well located and secure (which we quickly realized is important in Nairobi - even the pizza place next door had security issues), but not worth anything like the price. We booked a superior room - the most expensive of our three week stay in Africa - hoping for a little luxury before flying home. The rooms are just about big enough for a double bed (we couldn't open the door with our luggage in place), and have no fan or air conditioning. The water only warmed up after running the tap for long periods and at times didn't work at all. Certainly no better than a genuine budget option, which this doesn't price itself as.

Most of the noise in the corridor in the morning seemed to come from cleaning staff (who actually knocked on the door on our first morning to ask if we were 'extended our stay' - we were asleep, and had already booked a second night, as well as having a 'do not disturb' sign on the door.)

The breakfast is pretty poor, and the restaurant takes an extremely long time to produce meals that are ordered even slightly off peak (so the 24 hour thing isn't actually all that useful). It's not an awful place at all, it's just relative to the price, you could get a lot more (we stayed in much nicer places for less than half the price), and the service was fine but disorganised when it came to quite a few things. The steam room was laughable - room temperature, and directly next door to the conference room through clear glass. The men's toilet in the restaurant also has a view of the kitchen through opaque glass, which is pretty odd.

You could do worse, but it's not worth the money. Read a few other reviews here for the replies from the hotel, too - the endless excuses will give an idea.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I stayed at KC with a couple of people for a few nights before heading out on our next leg of our trip. The KC is a great starter hotel in Kenya because there are lots of food options literally on the same block, it's around the corner from nakumat, and it's a couple blocks from a java house. They have several computers for you to use (they charge a fee), but offer free wifi. There's also a bar and restaurant which I don't recommend. Breakfast was awful and you'd save yourself some disappointment if you walked the 4 blocks to Java House.

pros: comfy bed, big windows, ultra safe.
cons: noise level is a little high on rooms that face monrovia, the shower isn't separated from the rest of the bathroom. seriously, it's just curtained off from the sink which makes the entire bathroom a drain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.