We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for using shuttle buses” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kenya Comfort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kenya Comfort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kenya Comfort Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent location for using shuttle buses”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed here for one night after a return shuttle bus from Arusha to Nairobi. The Riverside Shuttle buses, as well as many others, drop you off 50 metres from the front of this hotel next to Jeevanjee Gardens. With safety being an issue in the CBD/downtown area, this is important. It is on a busy street corner, although it was recommended not to venture out on foot after dark.

The hotel itself is quite old, with a tiny reception area and upfront payment. A room with a TV but no a/c on the 6th floor was $60 for single occupancy. The room has an adequate double bed (not the most comfortable), a fridge, wardrobe, desk and wall-mounted old CRT TV. The bathroom is very cramped with a toilet, sink and shower very close together. Mosquito netting is provided (see photo) although not necessary when I was there. Even from my floor, it was quite noisy during the night.

There's a lively restaurant on the 2nd floor but service was definitely very slow. Masala chips were cheap and tasty! There's also a rooftop terrace - nice to take in a view around the CBD, or to lounge at. Service was fine, but not overly helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to face away from the main road if possible. Recommend paying extra for a superior room (or seei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, General Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
My most thanks to you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Nairobi and for taking your precious time to share your feedback with us.
Guest satisfaction and reliable service being our cardinal aim, we take our guests seriously and always strive to meet their expectations.
We have noted your comments in regard to our tiny reception and old TVs in the rooms.
To address this problems I am pleased to inform you that currently we are extensively renovating our sister hotel, Kenya Comfort Hotel Suites at Milimani and in completion there is also a grand master plan to renovate the town hotel where reception is top in the plan to give it a completely different new face also the TVs will be replaced. Most rooms in 6th floor have ACs
We further thank you for complimenting our lively restaurant and do apologize for the slow service an issue we have addressed and do appreciate your constructive feedback. Which will go a long way to improve our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    47
    60
    16
    10
See reviews for
10
48
39
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel is located in the busy downtown area of the city. Prices are reasonable and breakfast is nice. The drawback is that the rooms and more particularly, the toilet attached is extremely small - to the extent that a bit overweight person may not even be able to comfortably enter the toilet! They have an airport taxi but for the adventurous, the bus station is right across the place. The hotel has the advantage of a supermarket very near with a small food court too serving variety of food. The best part is that the STAFF are really NICE and FRIENDLY. Another thing I like is that the hotel management shares valuable information that I felt was honest and good for an outsider - congrats to the hotel team and the bosses!

Room Tip: Choose a bigger size room, if you are large or more in size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, General Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
We feel greatly honored by your feedback, we do take our guests and their comfort very seriously and always strive to meet their expectations.

We have noted your comment regarding rooms and more especially the toilet. Our advice is that there are bigger rooms with ample toilet space. This you can inquire at the reception to be guided so that you can make your own independent selection

We greatly appreciate your feedback about our friendly staff and the valuable information. we share with our guests coupled with the airport transfer and the adjacent mega supermarket including five start fast food outlets
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

on our trip back from masai mara , we decided to check into this hotel which was central to our needs. we were asked to pay first and we did , then when we were taken to out room it was a total dump with unclean linen and bad bathroom and the room was situated behind steel bars where you get locked in. after about 10 minutes i went downstairs and asked to check out. We were refused our money back, we left anyway and the manager lady was so rude that she actually came on the roadside and confronted me angrily. 2 days later i had police come to our hotel where we checked in (Hotel KIpepeo) and arrested me on charges of publically denigrating a business and causing public nuisance. I spent the next two days visiting the police head quarters across the road from kenya comfort answering all sorts of allegations ranging from drunk behaviour ( i never drink) to causing public nuisance and loss of business by my behaviour. I will highly recommend Hotel Kipepeo in the budget class hotels , we were treated like royalty there. Kenya comfort lost me 2 days of my lovely visit to Kenya , the country i love.

Room Tip: try Hotel Kipepeo on River Road , I made friends with every staff member and i was treated like a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

When in Nairobi, The place to stay for budget travelling and convinience is Kenya Comfort. Hotels. good location and clean

Room Tip: Rooms away from reception is more peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

stayed there for a night as it was included in the safari package.basic hotel,quite old and in need of refurbishment. The safety box is on another floor so you need to go to the reception first before being able to get your valuables. Other than that there are quite a few security guard here as well which makes you feel better. The breakfast was ok,the area was ok too especially during the day.there are quite a few places to eat in the area ,and shopping center. The local market is nearby as well. One very good thing was the free WI-FI. another was that the bus to Arusha /Moshi/ leaves just across the street.
So if you are not very picky the hotel is ok ,but i personnaly would not stay there again. Did not like the interior of the room,the bathroom,or the safety box thing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I stayed at the Comfort twice, for two nights each, in late September, 2011. The location is good, with ATM's and restaurants nearby, an easy walk to Uhuru Park, and down the street from the bus station. The rooms are small but very clean, and the shower is hot with good flow. The security is good, and the staff very friendly and helpful. There is a nice restaurant on site, as well as high speed desk top computers. Contrary to one review, there are mosquito nets in the rooms, though I saw no mosquitos. There is some street noise, but it is tolerable. The beds are comfortable. The price is reasonable, and they will give a reduced rate for half a night, which is convenient for the arrival and departure times of some international flights.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Downtown Nairobi isn't a great place to stay in terms of noise and safety, but this place is certainly adequate and safe enough. One advantage is the in-house restaurant, which was good though our service was a bit slow. No air conditioning, which was mostly an issue in terms of street noise (Kipepeo has a/c, tv's and safes for about the same price).

Room Tip: Corner rooms have two walls of windows, which we found a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kchensuites, Manager at Kenya Comfort Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
We thank you very much for taking your precious time to post a comment about us. We take these comments seriously as they act as a yardstick towards enhancing quality service and customer satisfaction.
We have an option of room with A/Cs and TVs and others without. Our superior rooms in 6th floor answer to your problems and 5th, 4th 3rd floors are all fitted with TVs. This is in line with guest needs and wants with also the cost concept allowing our guests an independent selection decision. We have a safe for storage of valuables which is arranged at reception. We are sorry for the slow service in the restaurant an issue which we have addressed accordingly.
We have a much better location in comparison since we are situated in the CBD upmarket with a superstore just at our backyard. We are overlooking the only garden at the CBD which is well guarded, at a walking distance we are neighbours to other star rated hotels. Just 250 meters is the central police station. We are located at a safe place at normal security standard levels and look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kenya Comfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenya Comfort Hotel

Address: Monrovia Street & Muindi Mbingu, Nairobi 30425, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Kenya Comfort Hotel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Kenya Comfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kenya Comfort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.