We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast Food that isn't that Fast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Plaza food court

Diamond Plaza food court
Nairobi, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 318 restaurants in Nairobi
Restaurant details
Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fast Food that isn't that Fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Diamond Plaza in Nairobi is a great place for Indian food however it is not that fast until you get to know the waiters. When you first find a seat, you will be greeted with a LOT of waiters heading towards you because they all want you to buy their food. Its a good idea to know Swahili when going here. Also, be sure to know what you want in advance or they will convince you to buy their food and you could end up with a lot more food than you want. Its a nice place to grab a quick bite or lunch, but not really a good place for dinner. Bugs are a minor issue during the day, but the nighttime will make it worse. They have facilities available to wash your hands near the seating area

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    12
    19
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crazy experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Diamond plaza food court is one of its one that gave me and and my friends a crazy experience. Upon entry, waiting stuff come running to win you to buy from them but lucky enough my friend knew the court where we were going to eat from otherwise you would get confused. Its a good place to eat out on weekends with family as the food is cheap and authentic. Its not aplce to go get excelent service for another kind of experience of its own.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“variety of different foods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

nice big choice of food and drink and good service

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fun, authentic, cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're in Nairobi and want a glimpse of Muhindi life in Kenya, then this is the place to go as it is located in Muhidiland, aka Parkands. It is a little Bombay, with all the wonderful sights, smells and sounds that go hand in hand. It is far from filthy but neither is it a sanitised westernised repackaged Indian experience. I love it (helped by the fact I am armed with tropical strength insect repellent spray) and sometimes it's just great to hang. You can freely banter with other diners as well as the waiters. If you're a traveller with a budget, this is a fun place to hang out and there's loads of inexpensive shopping that can be got here with plenty of shops selling from sweetmeats to saris to indian movies. This is not 'the place' if you're finicky and fussy.

The food is good and cheap; you can eat and drink for under 500ksh. I personally recommend a taste from the wonderful array of freshly squeezed juices, sugar cane with ginger or pineapple and mint being my favourites. And I would personally always go for grilled meats, tandooris etc rather than curries as you are less likely to get sick if there is dodgy hygiene at play.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Being Indian..it was fun to find decent Indian cusine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

one must look at visiting this place for small shopping & enjoying good food available at this place. remeber to bargain for your shopping and you would finally land up getting a good deal in the end.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diamond Plaza food court also viewed

 

Been to Diamond Plaza food court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Plaza food court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.