We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real rip-off!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real rip-off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We spent a week in this hotel - the staff in general are very friendly and helpfull, but.. We paid around 150 euros per night and the room was very, very basic and dirty. I had blood stains on my sheets..! the shower didn't work properly, couldn't even was my hair cause the pressure was so weak. We wanted to have a late check-out, but apparently the hotel was fully booked, so they couldn't extend the check-out time even until noon instead of hidious 10am. On day of my departure I was very stronly suggested to take a "day-room" so that I can "relax and freshen-up" before my flight. The room was supposed to cost 6000 shillings, but instead it was over 10 000 shillings. I was so tired that didn't want to make a fuss about it. Got the room around 2pm, went to check it and it wasn't ready i.e. they were renovating it. Floor was dirty, there were no adapters or towels - or towel curtain.. and a nice bonus was that the renovation was going on in the room next to mine, so no hope of sleeping with the constant banging.

So really bad experience. Especially of what it comes to the room rates. I discussed with a guest who had paid 60 dollars for night in similar room as what I had for 150 euros. And the few hours rest after all the hazzle with the staff & finally when I almost managed to get some sleep, the cleaning lady came and wanted to hang the shower curtain.. and they still charged me almost 100 euros despite of the fact that I didn't have the room until 5pm. Nice one! So if you have to choose between sleeping outside or in Silver Springs, then go SS!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
6
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I last stayed at the SS in the early 1990s when it was not at its best. This trip, in March 2010, was a revelation. The hotel is more than adequate for business and there's that nice sense that the management are trying to get it as good as they can.

Room was nice, not noisy, with free internet. Good mattress, easy to sleep. Food in the restaurant above average.

But the nicest thing was the staff: friendly and helpful, attentive & professional.

We had a meeting there and the room and arrangements were fine.

WEll worth considering if you are staying in Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Stayed here one night when I first arrived in Kenya, and did not venture far from hotel, so I think it was a decent location, but can't fully vouch for this.
Cab ride from airport was $25 for about 40 minute ride.
Stayed in the standard rooms, which were good in terms of cleanliness and value.
Breakfast was good, coffee at coffee shop was decent.
Hotel was quiet, safe feeling, hot water in the shower. The suite rooms in the other wing of the hotel looked beautiful.
Would stay here again if I go back to Nairobi.
Staff was helpful, but there were a few times I had trouble understanding the front desk person and there was no one around to help us clear up our communication problems. But oh well, it was no big deal.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel has seen better days. Perhaps some rooms on some floors are better renovated than the ones we stayed in (two visits, different rooms). Our rooms were very basic. A fan in one room, nothing in the other. Lacking in any kind of charm, but if you can get a really cheap price and only want a place to sleep, then Silver Springs would be OK. The buffet meals were quite OK, not fabulous, but enough variety to please most tastes. There is a pool, but it was too cold in August to use it. Nairobi is a jumbled city, so I am not sure where would be considered to be a good location.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Clean enough, the standard rooms were OK, showing signs of "high use" wear and tear.... the fact there was a safe was great, but neither that nor the TV remote had batteries in.
Very functional and if more time, probably not so bad, the swimming pool looked inviting, the beers were cold and not to pricey, although a colleague who had a scotch had a shock at the price of that!!
Breakfast was a massive spread, so if you do big breakfasts hold the evening meal if you do B&B.
For a hotel to use passing through Nairobi there is a lot worse!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Arrived late one Sunday evening after a long flight from Europe for a week's conference (not in this hotel), but apparently no rooms reserved for me or my colleagues. The front desk staff were very helpful and found us rooms, despite saying they were full. Mine was a 'superior' room, but after 3 nights I was moved to a standard room, which I preferred. The former had a strange steel kitchen sink unit, and AC (but who needs that in Nairobi?) and overlooked the busy road outside, so it was noisy. The latter was smaller but much more comfortable and quiet (round the back - hint), and had a fan which was perfectly adequate. Previous reviews have mentioned lack of hot water. I found there was plenty and at a really good pressure. The rooms are clean.

Many of the staff seemed a bit unsure of what they were doing and the doormen were downright slack. I missed a taxi because they failed to advise me of its arrival. Service in the restaurant was a bit lacadaisical, but the food was good, although I only had the buffets (which were varied and very good). However, a lady on the table next to ours had her laptop in a bag at her feet stolen while we were there (presumably by the 4 guys sitting at the table next to her, but we saw nothing untoward). So be warned, sneak thieves can easily gain access, although there are signs in the lobby saying they're installing CCTV. There's a pool. but no-one used it (it's cold in August in Nairobi), and it's right in the middle of the dining area so hardly secluded.

Quite a long way from the business district, but there are plenty of taxis at the hotel and a very frequent bus service, if you can endure Nairobi buses. It's on the main road to Hurlingham, a suburb that's trying to be up-market. Plenty of cheap restaurants and take-aways along this road, and a plush new shopping mall about 20 minutes walk away. Often you are quicker walking than taking a taxi or bus in the very slow traffic, but maybe you wouldn't want to try that after dark.

There is wireless internet, reasonably fast broadband but not free. Prices are broadly comparable to Europe in hotels where they charge for this facility. There's a small tourist shop which is pretty hopeless. For example, bring your own street plan of Nairobi because they don't have any.

Overall, adequate, but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The Silver Springs Hotel is located very centrally to Nairobi CityCenter. The hotel has very good rooms which are clean. The staff are very good and helpful and the management is very concerned about the welfare of the clients. We had a nice time at the hotel. Food is very expensive though. We advice that you try this hotel while in Nairobi. They would even keep your luggage for free is you wish to leave it for a while to any other destination and collect it back when you return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.