We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you can afford better, stay elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #40 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“If you can afford better, stay elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

The hotel has seen better days. Perhaps some rooms on some floors are better renovated than the ones we stayed in (two visits, different rooms). Our rooms were very basic. A fan in one room, nothing in the other. Lacking in any kind of charm, but if you can get a really cheap price and only want a place to sleep, then Silver Springs would be OK. The buffet meals were quite OK, not fabulous, but enough variety to please most tastes. There is a pool, but it was too cold in August to use it. Nairobi is a jumbled city, so I am not sure where would be considered to be a good location.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
8
13
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malawi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Clean enough, the standard rooms were OK, showing signs of "high use" wear and tear.... the fact there was a safe was great, but neither that nor the TV remote had batteries in.
Very functional and if more time, probably not so bad, the swimming pool looked inviting, the beers were cold and not to pricey, although a colleague who had a scotch had a shock at the price of that!!
Breakfast was a massive spread, so if you do big breakfasts hold the evening meal if you do B&B.
For a hotel to use passing through Nairobi there is a lot worse!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Arrived late one Sunday evening after a long flight from Europe for a week's conference (not in this hotel), but apparently no rooms reserved for me or my colleagues. The front desk staff were very helpful and found us rooms, despite saying they were full. Mine was a 'superior' room, but after 3 nights I was moved to a standard room, which I preferred. The former had a strange steel kitchen sink unit, and AC (but who needs that in Nairobi?) and overlooked the busy road outside, so it was noisy. The latter was smaller but much more comfortable and quiet (round the back - hint), and had a fan which was perfectly adequate. Previous reviews have mentioned lack of hot water. I found there was plenty and at a really good pressure. The rooms are clean.

Many of the staff seemed a bit unsure of what they were doing and the doormen were downright slack. I missed a taxi because they failed to advise me of its arrival. Service in the restaurant was a bit lacadaisical, but the food was good, although I only had the buffets (which were varied and very good). However, a lady on the table next to ours had her laptop in a bag at her feet stolen while we were there (presumably by the 4 guys sitting at the table next to her, but we saw nothing untoward). So be warned, sneak thieves can easily gain access, although there are signs in the lobby saying they're installing CCTV. There's a pool. but no-one used it (it's cold in August in Nairobi), and it's right in the middle of the dining area so hardly secluded.

Quite a long way from the business district, but there are plenty of taxis at the hotel and a very frequent bus service, if you can endure Nairobi buses. It's on the main road to Hurlingham, a suburb that's trying to be up-market. Plenty of cheap restaurants and take-aways along this road, and a plush new shopping mall about 20 minutes walk away. Often you are quicker walking than taking a taxi or bus in the very slow traffic, but maybe you wouldn't want to try that after dark.

There is wireless internet, reasonably fast broadband but not free. Prices are broadly comparable to Europe in hotels where they charge for this facility. There's a small tourist shop which is pretty hopeless. For example, bring your own street plan of Nairobi because they don't have any.

Overall, adequate, but nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

The Silver Springs Hotel is located very centrally to Nairobi CityCenter. The hotel has very good rooms which are clean. The staff are very good and helpful and the management is very concerned about the welfare of the clients. We had a nice time at the hotel. Food is very expensive though. We advice that you try this hotel while in Nairobi. They would even keep your luggage for free is you wish to leave it for a while to any other destination and collect it back when you return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

I stayed at the Silver Springs by suprise when I arrived into Nairobi in the middle of the World Social Forum and could not find a room! I found the price to be reasonable especially when compared to other hotels within Nairobi.

I stayed in their new wing and it was stunningly beautiful. My room had hardwood floors, with an enormous 4 poster bed and a nice sitting area - very classy.

The whole hotel gives quite good service at international standards. Room service is available as is poolside service etc etc. The restaurant was not exciting but was very good and reliable.

The hotel has a good business centre, a gym, and a shop for newspapers.

The pool is lovely if you like the sunshine - this is because it is in the sunshine and not the shade so may not actually be very good if you are thinking of small children, because you will need to put a lot of sunscreen on them.

I did have quite a few problems related to my stay however. First the room would only give me hot HOT water. They seemed incapable of fixing this. So I moved rooms and this next one had the same problem. Finally I ended up in a room with only cold water. The management sent me a fruit basket for my troubles, but I think for that price, the ability to take a nice warm shower should be included and so felt a little bit cheated.

Otherwise though it was a great experience.

As for location, to get downtown you have to walk past Uhuru park. To be honest the hotel is relatively near to the Kabira slum. This should not concern a visitor however, you will not feel very comfortable walking after dark and should be prepared to take taxis. So just be aware of that and if walking is your primary priority, consider a hotel which is actually in the downtown core.

One more thing, the spa is lovely!

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest, USA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

I stayed at the Silver Springs for 5 nights on business. I found the hotel to be very clean, but found all kinds of little annoyances that added up to a poor experience.
No hot water for showering (a few degrees cooler than lukewarm)
Hot water knob in shower kept falling off - I guess it really wasn't needed anyway
A couple of channels on the TV would freeze up all night (battling jet lag, I like to watch movies to try to get to sleep)
Very poor wireless internet signal in room - I gave up after 3 nights of pissing away more minutes (you have to pay for internet, which I guess is okay, but I thought at a certain level hotel - $130/ night - it would have just been included.
Health club advertised on website costs 1200Ksh to use. Again, at this level, a hotel should just include that.
Staff are incredibly shy and do not instill confidence that they are understanding your requests. Recommend having them repeat request back to you to confirm that you're getting what you want.

If this hotel were half of its current rate, I'd have rated it much better. As it is priced now, it falls short.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

I think it is important to remember that whils one travels to developing countries the standard will differe from what one is used to elsewhere. That being said, Silver Springs was wuite comfortable and very safe. The lobby was very nice and the customer service was exceptional. The bed was big and comfortable. There was wireless Internet in the room but it wasn't free. Buffet breakfast was delicious! However, the walls were scratched and paitn was coming off, the bathroom was very old and bit dingy. I didn't mind it too much becaue the atmosphere in the hotel was good and I got a good night sleep. There was a outdoor poo, I didn't use it though. On a side note, aparently this hotel is woned by the President of Kenya!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Dingy bathroom
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.