We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Frills But Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Frills But Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a simple, no frills hotel that was suitable for my single overnight stay in Nairobi. It has good security and I felt safe. Rooms were small and simple and included an AC unit which was useful. The bed was comfortable. The hotel was quiet. Their breakfast buffet was quite good and had a large selection including made-to-order omelets.

Though nothing fancy, I'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.
We are happy that you were satisfied with the overall experience during your stay with us and thank you for the compliments regarding our security and food.
We really value and appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    41
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
7
11
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, directly opposite the excellent Nairobi Hospital and Doctor's plaza. In fact this is really the only real positive about the place. The hotel itself is bordered by the main road and a boundary wall with no grounds or gardens to speak of. Taking a walk means negotiating the human traffic outside and inhaling lung-fulls of exhaust fumes. Not very pleasant. I chose a standard room which was extremely small. The breakfast buffet is impressive on first glance as there is a wide selection of foods on display however on closer inspection the quality is not great. Service was fine, staff friendly and attentive. The decor, particularly on the ground floor level is a mish-mash of aesthetically unpleasing styles. I was shocked to hear it had been refurbished quite recently. I think this hotel is more suited to local workshops than international travellers. I doubt very much I will stay here again unless I need to access the hospital easily.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest feedback in regard to your stay last year.
I'm really sorry to learn that our facility did not meet your expectations then but i am happy to let you know we have been carrying out some renovations since then and your feedback helped alot in identifying areas to work on among others. We do have different categories of rooms, standard being the lowest so i will ensure you get a more spacious room next time you visit. Our chef has not only worked on improving the quality of food and presentation but has also ensured that there is a variety to choose from.
I sincerely regret the dissatisfaction and do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We held two conferences over one week at the Silver Springs and had a wonderful experience. The first conference had over 60 attendees and the second about 20 attendees. The Silver Springs hotel was very flexible and accommodating, making sure that we had what we needed and totally willing to make last minute changes. We held plenary sessions, poster sessions and breakout discussions and the Silver Springs was able to meet all of these needs. The wifi in the conference rooms was the most reliable in the entire hotel.

As a guest, I was in a standard room which was comfortable and clean. Since I was busy with the conference, it was more than sufficient for my needs.

The breakfast was wonderful, especially the fresh fruit and the fresh crepes (which they call pancakes). The lunch buffet was excellent, especially with the stir fry station.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest during the time you were attending a conference and more so for your honest feedback.
As management we are glad that you were satisfied with our services and we really thank you for the good compliments regarding our facility, service and food.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again.
Kind regards.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week at the end of April, was visiting the Dental Hospital next door. Arrived at about 10.30pm check in went smoothly and we were allocated a room at the back which entailed walking through the central pool and sitting area. Room was OK, large bathroom, tea and coffee, complimentary bottles of water. Could have done with a fridge and more drawer storage space and the TV took almost all the desk space up so I could not use it. Nets round the bed and an electric anti mosquito machine with tablet replaced each day. The pool area was nice to sit round. There were lots of tables inside and out where you could order food and drink and the Coffee Bar did food all day. Breakfast buffet was fine with cooked to order eggs, had nice fresh fruit the first couple of days but not for the rest of the stay. We ate in the restaurant twice, vegetables were very undercooked the first time so we had pasta the second time which was fine. We generally used to go to the bar in the evening and order something from the Coffee Bar which was generally good, loved the chips (fries). There always seemed to be plenty of staff around looking busy but on occasion service was not very good, we had to wait over 30 min in the restaurant before we could order a dessert. We took a taxi a couple of times to the city centre and once to a shopping mall, 1,000KSH return. Overall I would probably stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest in April and we thank you for having chosen Silver Springs as a hotel of your choice.
We noted your dissatisfaction for the service delivered during your stay and we have taken measures to address this shortcomings especially the duration taken to serve a guest and the food quality.
I hope to get a chance to meet you in person and welcome you soon when you come back to Nairobi.
Kind regards.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Ontario
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here two nights before and after a hiking and climbing trip to Mt. Kenya. Security appears to be quite thorough here. It is a fairly short walk to ATMs, money exchange and grocery store. Staff are friendly. The upgraded room I had on the first floor past the pool was considerably better than the tower room I had the second night. Free wifi was not the strongest, but better than none. I only ate here for breakfast, which was good if unimaginative. I doubt I would have booked this hotel independently, as I think their rates are a bit high for what you get, but as part of my package it was a serviceable and relaxing base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
May i take this opportunity to thank you for having considered Silver Springs as a hotel of your choice during your previous stay.
Thank you for your feedback especially for acknowledging our security set up which i assure you that it is our number one priority to all our guests. The hotel is strategically located and all essential services can be reached within a short notice. We have two more internet service providers on board who have managed to improve internet connectivity.
Please don't hesitate to contact me for any assistance and i look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was sent here on business and had a superior room which was a good size and clean.

The staff are helpful and all areas including the pool are clean.

A coffee shop and small shop with essentials are useful. The wifi was a little intermittent but available throughout the hotel and is free.

Enjoyable stay and will use again when visiting Nairobi.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us your honest feedback.
We are happy to note that your general stay with us and experience was good and i regret the intermittent wifi. I would like to assure you that our IT team has brought two more internet service providers on board and as a result connectivity has greatly improved.
We really appreciate your feedback which has contributed to the general improvement of our services.
I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANGHAI
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Room seemed small and old,not matching the fabulous looking of the hotel.Meanwhile,the public space such as lobby,dinning room and swimming pool were much better.Besides,the breakfast was quite substantial.
The staffs of receiption was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,
We were honored to host you in our hotel and we thank you for your feedback.
I sincerely regret that the room allocated to you during your stay did not meet your expectations due to its physical state but i am pleased to assure you that since then we have managed to undertake some renovations and improved on the whole look. We do have a superior wing with a higher category of rooms ranging from from superior to executives which are much bigger and very spacious.
Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me for any kind of assistance and i look forward to host you again.
Yours sincerely.
Shadrack Wawire
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.