We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #40 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week at the end of April, was visiting the Dental Hospital next door. Arrived at about 10.30pm check in went smoothly and we were allocated a room at the back which entailed walking through the central pool and sitting area. Room was OK, large bathroom, tea and coffee, complimentary bottles of water. Could have done with a fridge and more drawer storage space and the TV took almost all the desk space up so I could not use it. Nets round the bed and an electric anti mosquito machine with tablet replaced each day. The pool area was nice to sit round. There were lots of tables inside and out where you could order food and drink and the Coffee Bar did food all day. Breakfast buffet was fine with cooked to order eggs, had nice fresh fruit the first couple of days but not for the rest of the stay. We ate in the restaurant twice, vegetables were very undercooked the first time so we had pasta the second time which was fine. We generally used to go to the bar in the evening and order something from the Coffee Bar which was generally good, loved the chips (fries). There always seemed to be plenty of staff around looking busy but on occasion service was not very good, we had to wait over 30 min in the restaurant before we could order a dessert. We took a taxi a couple of times to the city centre and once to a shopping mall, 1,000KSH return. Overall I would probably stay there again if the price was right.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest in April and we thank you for having chosen Silver Springs as a hotel of your choice.
We noted your dissatisfaction for the service delivered during your stay and we have taken measures to address this shortcomings especially the duration taken to serve a guest and the food quality.
I hope to get a chance to meet you in person and welcome you soon when you come back to Nairobi.
Kind regards.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    44
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
9
8
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed here two nights before and after a hiking and climbing trip to Mt. Kenya. Security appears to be quite thorough here. It is a fairly short walk to ATMs, money exchange and grocery store. Staff are friendly. The upgraded room I had on the first floor past the pool was considerably better than the tower room I had the second night. Free wifi was not the strongest, but better than none. I only ate here for breakfast, which was good if unimaginative. I doubt I would have booked this hotel independently, as I think their rates are a bit high for what you get, but as part of my package it was a serviceable and relaxing base.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
May i take this opportunity to thank you for having considered Silver Springs as a hotel of your choice during your previous stay.
Thank you for your feedback especially for acknowledging our security set up which i assure you that it is our number one priority to all our guests. The hotel is strategically located and all essential services can be reached within a short notice. We have two more internet service providers on board who have managed to improve internet connectivity.
Please don't hesitate to contact me for any assistance and i look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I was sent here on business and had a superior room which was a good size and clean.

The staff are helpful and all areas including the pool are clean.

A coffee shop and small shop with essentials are useful. The wifi was a little intermittent but available throughout the hotel and is free.

Enjoyable stay and will use again when visiting Nairobi.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us your honest feedback.
We are happy to note that your general stay with us and experience was good and i regret the intermittent wifi. I would like to assure you that our IT team has brought two more internet service providers on board and as a result connectivity has greatly improved.
We really appreciate your feedback which has contributed to the general improvement of our services.
I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANGHAI
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Room seemed small and old,not matching the fabulous looking of the hotel.Meanwhile,the public space such as lobby,dinning room and swimming pool were much better.Besides,the breakfast was quite substantial.
The staffs of receiption was helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear guest,
We were honored to host you in our hotel and we thank you for your feedback.
I sincerely regret that the room allocated to you during your stay did not meet your expectations due to its physical state but i am pleased to assure you that since then we have managed to undertake some renovations and improved on the whole look. We do have a superior wing with a higher category of rooms ranging from from superior to executives which are much bigger and very spacious.
Please don't hesitate to get in touch with me for any kind of assistance and i look forward to host you again.
Yours sincerely.
Shadrack Wawire
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Initially I was booked into a standard room, which was rather small and very tired looking. The decor was well outdated, however surprising everything worked. (The AC was not that effecient).

On asking for an upgrad, it was provided. The room was a delux room with more leg room and comfortable setting area. Overal again it was an average room with a bit more space. The bedding was clean and towels were of good quality.

The food at the hotel was no thing great to write home about. If you're a veggie; dont have a buffet meal here, only one or two items on the menu. Breakfast is extremely basic. They really need to revamp the seating area and get new chief was new ideas.

There are a few foodie places located a few minutes from the hotel and supermarkets for snacks and water etc.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadrack W, Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I sincerely regret to note that you were allocated a room that did not meet your expectations.
I am very sorry that you did not get a variety of vegeterian food on the buffet a situation that we have addressed our Chef and improved on the variety. In addition we also do have a live cooking station for vegeterian by our Chinese and Indian cooks.
We sincerely regret the inconvinience and look forward to having an opportunity to welcome you back.
yours sincerely
Shadrack Wawire
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Silver Springs is a very tired hotel, but they are slowly improving it with series of renovations. The rooms at the front of the hotel have had the treatment first and generally well maintained, whereas the rooms in the tower at the back are a little shabby. The food is truly bad, and so should be avoided if possible.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located, good service, and good food. I was initially in a standard room, then got upgraded to a suite. Both were ok, nothing great. The suite was larger and had a nicer bathroom, the standard room was rather small. The beds in both rooms were terrible. Overall though, you get what you pay for, and for the price this place wasn't too bad. One thing which was quite irritating is that hotel guests can only use the gym from 10-11:30am, or 2-3:30pm, otherwise you have to pay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.