We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Silver Spring hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Silver Spring hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is nice,clean, well furnished and modern. The premises was renovated lately and so everything is just perfect. The rooms of second floor away from the road are very serene,spacious and quiet. Their food especially buffet is just what you need. The hotel is very proximity to major hospitals in Nairobi and a stone throw to city centre.

Room Tip: The rooms of second floor East side away from road are very quiet and smart looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
6
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

It is a beautiful place, quiet and clean. But I think they are understaffed. The waiters are few and far between. If you love cake as I do, you will be disappointed. Nevertheless, a beautiful serene place close to the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The grounds were nice, with a large swimming pool overlooked by little bougainvillea-covered balconies (though not private balconies). Breakfast was also pretty awesome, with a large selection of tasty Indian, Kenyan, and continental dishes. The rooms are plain but very comfortable.

Unfortunately, at night it was quite noisy. It's right off the Argwings-Valley Road intersection, and the traffic sounds came right through our closed windows. I ended up sleeping with earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizen of the world
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place was really pretty average so far as the room and amenities went. I was excited about the shower, needing one badly when I arrived, but the water went hot and cold and almost scalded me. My favourite part was the breakfast, included in the room price, which featured a vast choice including lots of local fresh fruits and good Kenyan coffee. The hotel is NGO paradise, full of foreigners working on assistance projects.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djibouti, Djibouti
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Had a good stay at the hotel and almost on a daily basis fruits are delivered to the room and they have a nice swimming pool. Breakfast Buffet is available and bar is very conveniently located.

Outside hotel, just a minute walk, you have a mini supermarket where you can buy most desirable items for your convenience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

During the recent stay in the hotel, I was pleasantly surprise by the friendly staff and assistance received. Nothing was too much to do. Keep up with this good service. It was nice to sit next to the pool after a long day in the board room and relax.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel three times now on short (Workshops) and long business trips and the rooms I luckily get have been amazing. I got an upgrade on my recent stay , maybe coz of being a regular or not but their business suite is quite good. Esp that its got a sauna ! The staff on the other hand are willing to go an extra mile and help. I preferred having a different choice of fruits in the fruit basket in the room and the change was effected immediately. Somehow I find the staff quite friendly, from the guards, reception and the waiters. I think its upto one to smile and start conversation. Good location as one can either catch a taxi, or if you want to try the local public transport, there is a near bustop for busses and matatus. also since its opposite one of the main private hospitals, its quite helpful for a frequent traveler. Unfortunately I feel sick on my trip back from Somalia and after a day of struggling with fever, I just walked to Nairobi hospital and the treatment was spot on!
The only down part is that to use the fitness centre one has to pay extra, which is quite a shame as it should be complimentary to the room comparably with similar hotels in Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.