We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in NBO” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average hotel in NBO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I spent there 3 nights while waiting for my Visa to DR Congo.
Downtown is quite far and arond the hotel there is nothing really interesting. So you need a cab all the times.
Food is basic, breakfast wasn't really attractive.
Rooms are just OK.
During the three days there were two large groups of people for workshops or conferences. Hotel was crowded and noisy.
Drinks are too expensive too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    39
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
6
10
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the Silver Springs Hotel as just an overnight on our way to start our safari. We arrived around 9:30 pm, got checked in, showered and went to bed after several very long flights.

6 am the next morning we were up and having a nice breakfast at the hotel before our flight from NBO to Mwanza. The dining area was really pretty and a nice start to our day. We had quick Internet connection which was nice.

A fine place to stay for an overnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Silver Springs hotel is a great hotel for conference venues. A few kilometers from the city centre makes it a convenient venue especially for those who would like a tour of the city after conference hours. The hotel staff are carteous and friendly, making you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moroto, Uganda
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel is situated about 1.5km from the heart of Nairobi at a busy cross roads and just across the road from Nairobi Hospital, which was handy for me because that is why I was in Nairobi. All the recurrent assets - food, staff, etc are excellent - food is tasty and well prepared, staff are friendly and very helpful, the flowers are great and really brighten the inner courtyard, but the fixed assets - buildings, rooms, pool, etc are functioning, but a bit dated and in some cases, worn at the edges. Of course being on a busy road junction means that any outside rooms, especially on the Southern and Western sides can be noisy, but the rooms facing the courtyard - as mine was - are very peaceful and it is nice to look out on the pool and flowers. If you need a change from hotel food, there is a chicken joint across the main road and a good Chinese (Chopsticks) a short walk up the road in the Hurlingham Shopping Centre. If you are feeling more adventurous the Yaya Shopping Centre is about 1km up the road - 20Ksh on a City Hopper Bus - where you can find great food, an excellent bookshop, a Kenya Airways Office, a One Way Shop, a Java Coffee Shop and many other delights. The hotel has a fitness centre, but at peak times it is only available to guests at a cost, so I did not use it. Free internet is available to throughout the hotel and is not secure so I guess open to all visitors.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the courtyard and not the main roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times. The pool area is a very beautiful section, to sit and wind away evenings. There service in this section is poor, as the management has not placed a permanent waiter to man this section. Kindly management, do something about this! Yestrerday i waited 40 minutes for my fruit punch and another hour for my lunch! yikes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenyaHolidayer, General Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for your feedback Ms. Keshi.
On behalf of the management of Silver Springs Hotel, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at our establishment and precisely at the Poolside.
We have since addressed this issue and put measures in place to ensure that this doesn't recur. Next time you are around, kindly sample our services and give us your feedback. I am certain that you will be pleasantly surprised.
Thanks for the feedback, we appreciate that this is the only way we will be able to improve services to our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here the first night of our Kenya trip. The rooms were small, cramped, and the air conditioning did not work. Additionally, our room overlooked the parking lot where there was traffic much of the night as well as loud voices that disrupted our much-needed sleep after a long flight. However, that being said, the food was good and the staff incredibly helpful. Their IT guy was able to help get the Safaricom service running on my iPad which enabled internet access throughout most of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eustus, General Manager at Silver Springs Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for the feedback.
Your sentiments on the room have been well received and on behalf of the management, I am pleased to inform you that a lot of improvements and renovations have and continue to be done on the old rooms.
We also have a new wing of rooms which are of world class quality. We invite you to come and have a look next time you are in town. I am sure you will be happy with the improvements and will enjoy staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent one night at The Silver Springs before going on safari. It is an average, business-orientated hotel located relatively centrally in Nairobi. The rooms are on the small side but clean and tastefully decorated, although the whole hotel could benefit from a little refurbishment. The management were very helpful and professional. The buffet breakfast was very good.

This hotel is fine for one night as a stop over but I would not stay here for a prolonged period of time as it lacks any character and the rooms are small.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.