We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Food that the waitress said would take 20min took 45min to prepare. The french fries were burnt. The meats were OK. The waitress was even shocked that they had chicken tikka sandwich on their otherwise limited menu. We asked to speak to the manager and had to leave half an hour later not having spoken to him/her and without any information on his/her whereabouts. The best was the 15min it took for our drinks to get to our table. It could have been longer just that we opted to go collect them from the bar and even after complaining to the bartender all he had to say was 'let me open the sodas.' Nothing like 'Just sit I will have them brought to you' OR 'I will personally bring them.'

The Executive Spa on the other hand were absolutely professional, excellent customer service and definately value for our money!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    40
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
7
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Neat and comfortable. Menu is a bit limited if you stay for more than 3 nights. Service levels are excellent. There is 24 hour service available and it seems quite safe with 24 hour security. Can recommend it as a solid reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I got placed here the night I arrived in Kenya when someone overstayed in my room at the Country Lodge. Definitely a couple steps down. The staff here are lovely - which makes up for the 70s era building that needs a major facelift. The nicest thing about the building is the Euro elevator. The room was nothing special, the tub old, the TV old, the bed as hard as a rock, the wifi decided not to work (although the staff were lovely trying to fix it). The doorways don't block noise so I could hear the loud TV across the hall at midnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We were a family of 2 adults, 2 children that spent 2 nights in this hotel in late June 2012. Decent hotel with clean rooms and good food. Courteous staff. Their breakfast and dinner buffets were good and there was good variety of choices. We basically visited the elephant orphanage, giraffe center and the Karen Bixon museum. The location seemed OK for these venues, but I was told this is too far away from the main city. So we couldn't go to the parliament etc as this was too far.
Overall not a bad option at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Harcourt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at Silver Springs for two days while on a field trip to Mpala Research center. The room rate that included buffet breakfast seemed to be a good value. The meals were of acceptable quality. The service was generally good. The Internet service was poor in my room and so I had to use the business center which was quite helpful. The front desk staff were helpful. The rooms are quite small. The shower was sometimes difficult to regulate and the first room I stayed in had no shower curtain installed and so the floor became quite wet after each bath. In all a good experience and value for money in a very expensive town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've stayed here several times. It's OK: not fantastic, not too bad, on the better side of average in relation to price. The location is not right in town (it's up on Upper Hill, opposite Nairobi Hospital, a 5-10 minute taxi ride into town), but the prices are not bad at all as compared to "town" hotels. It's a little faded, with limited facilities, but basically clean, safe and comfortable enough. Smallish rooms which are a little sparsely furnished, but with OK (although fairly old - could do with a bit of modernisation) bathrooms, a TV and a desk. The restaurant serves passable food (very much the hotel buffet / chicken and chips style) and there's a decent swimming pool. Overall: don't expect abject luxury at this price, but for a modest, secure and yet perfectly acceptable hotel at a fairly good price, you could do alot worse than Silver Springs.

Room Tip: Those facing the road/overlooking the pool area can get a bit noisy, especially at nights and weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Silver Springs for two weeks while working at Kenyatta National Hospital, about 15 minutes walk distance. For $150/night, including buffet breakfast for two people, this seems to be a good value in an expensive town.

In addition to daily breakfasts we ate several dinners at the hotel using both the buffet and a la carte options. All of our meals were of acceptable quality and some dishes, particularly the Indian influenced choices were quite good. The service was generally very attentive although there were a few lapses.

The pool area is very pleasant in the afternoons. The business center was able to help us with a few problems at reasonable cost. Internet service was poor in our room at the end of the hall but adequate in the lobby, restaurant, and business center. The front desk staff were helpful.

The rooms are quite small. The shower was difficult to regulate in the morning (scalding to cold pretty quickly) but better in the evening. There is a good quality spa/gym adjoining the hotel but it is not included in the price and daily rates are high. We had a good massage there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.