We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Silver Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silver Springs Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Port Harcourt
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at Silver Springs for two days while on a field trip to Mpala Research center. The room rate that included buffet breakfast seemed to be a good value. The meals were of acceptable quality. The service was generally good. The Internet service was poor in my room and so I had to use the business center which was quite helpful. The front desk staff were helpful. The rooms are quite small. The shower was sometimes difficult to regulate and the first room I stayed in had no shower curtain installed and so the floor became quite wet after each bath. In all a good experience and value for money in a very expensive town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    39
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
6
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I've stayed here several times. It's OK: not fantastic, not too bad, on the better side of average in relation to price. The location is not right in town (it's up on Upper Hill, opposite Nairobi Hospital, a 5-10 minute taxi ride into town), but the prices are not bad at all as compared to "town" hotels. It's a little faded, with limited facilities, but basically clean, safe and comfortable enough. Smallish rooms which are a little sparsely furnished, but with OK (although fairly old - could do with a bit of modernisation) bathrooms, a TV and a desk. The restaurant serves passable food (very much the hotel buffet / chicken and chips style) and there's a decent swimming pool. Overall: don't expect abject luxury at this price, but for a modest, secure and yet perfectly acceptable hotel at a fairly good price, you could do alot worse than Silver Springs.

Room Tip: Those facing the road/overlooking the pool area can get a bit noisy, especially at nights and weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed at Silver Springs for two weeks while working at Kenyatta National Hospital, about 15 minutes walk distance. For $150/night, including buffet breakfast for two people, this seems to be a good value in an expensive town.

In addition to daily breakfasts we ate several dinners at the hotel using both the buffet and a la carte options. All of our meals were of acceptable quality and some dishes, particularly the Indian influenced choices were quite good. The service was generally very attentive although there were a few lapses.

The pool area is very pleasant in the afternoons. The business center was able to help us with a few problems at reasonable cost. Internet service was poor in our room at the end of the hall but adequate in the lobby, restaurant, and business center. The front desk staff were helpful.

The rooms are quite small. The shower was difficult to regulate in the morning (scalding to cold pretty quickly) but better in the evening. There is a good quality spa/gym adjoining the hotel but it is not included in the price and daily rates are high. We had a good massage there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Maine
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed two nights in a standard room. The effort has been made to refurbish all of the rooms in this hotel; and the curtains, white bed linens, and white towels are all fresh and clean. It looks newly painted as well. The front desk and housekeeping staffs are friendly and professional. Service in the bar/restaurant is "leisurely", to put it politely. I didn't feel that there was proper supervision of the buffet, especially at dinner, as many selections were down to crumbs and it was all left quite untidy and unappetizing. My husband ordered off the menu, and the food took a very long time to arrive. It was ok, but nothing special. The wait staff seemed unsupervised and not well trained. The standard room was tiny. We were stopping over before returning to the states and had four large suitcases which made it nearly impossible to move around or sit in the one chair in the room. Old TV with repetitive channels (ie BBC is on about five of them), no movie channels. A couple of sports channels. The shower is miserable. Hateful. Dangerous. There is absolutely no way to adjust the temperature. It goes from being truly scalding hot to freezing cold. No middle ground. Old taps which are hard to turn. And the light fixture in the shower was falling off the ceiling with electrical wires exposed. My husband, who is 6 feet tall, kept hitting his head on it. The A/C wasn't working when we arrived, but after asking twice, it was repaired. Since Silver Springs was chosen and paid for corporately, we stuck it out for the two nights. Otherwise, we never would have stayed; nor would I recommend it.

Room Tip: If possible, pay extra to upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent 4 nights here for a conference. The food was nice and dinning area/pool area looks nice. Rooms were not great though and the first night black water came out of the taps. There is also an issue with using the gym next to the hotel, which was really annoying. Why can't they make an agreement to let hotel guests use it without prior arrangement? They let me in after some negotiations, but it was annoying to have to do this.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I stayed at the this hotel for two days in March 2012. Overall I found the place to be of an acceptable quality. Given the fact that the more fancy places in Nairobi could be quite expensive the USD 135 a day was reasonable for the service. The room I was given is small and it was quite hot as the AC was not working for the first night. The place seems to have been recently renovated which is a very good thing, but they could have paid more attention to detail in the process. In my room, for instance, an old door knob which is no more being used is still left on the wall and looks very curious indeed.
One thing which I found to be a bit disappointing is the food in the restaurant. Though they serve buffet for lunch and dinner I opted for a la carte menu which obviously proved to be a bad choice. The lamb I was served was very tough and the chips must have been done a week ago. They should really be careful about this and my advice is if you can dine out then do so.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have a great view and i assume may be cooler as they don't face the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed in the "standard" rooms and in a "superior" room. The first standard room I had didn't have functioning A/C, no hair dryer, no convenient electrical outlets, and no fridge or minibar. The next morning, I asked to change rooms for a room with working A/C. Was shown 2 rooms, neither of which had A/C that worked. I ended up in a superior room in another wing of the hotel which requires a walk from the reception through the dining room, bar area, going outside through the swimming pool area, and up a back staircase. The superior room was larger (the standard is quite small), with hardwood floors, double sinks, antique hair dryer, fridge, A/C, larger desk, and better lighting. The lighting in the standard rooms is deplorable -- I had one miniature night table light and 1 small desk lamp. Very hard to read or work after dark. The superior room (about 4,000Ksh more than the standard) has better lighting, but still not great.

On my return to Nairobi, I stayed in another standard room that had good A/C but still small with little surface space that makes it difficult if you have more than 1 suitcase.

The sheets were clean but otherwise the rooms were not cleaned well. The floors were not swept clean nor washed regularly. Ditto the mirrors, walls, doors, etc.

The restaurant was fair. The buffet breakfasts are nice with lots of fruit and juices but nothing special. Other food is okay but the club sandwich had the distinction of probably being the worst club I've had. Service is unhurried. All staff are friendly and pleasant.

There is a tiny shop in the lobby that is fabulous in all that it stocks in such a small space. I bought a sim card ($4) with air time and was even able to get some throat lozenges there. Plus they have some small Kenyan crafts and newspapers.

The cost of the hotel was reasonable ($139 for standard room; $189 for superior), but I wouldn't want to stay here again as the location is not great -- nothing much to walk to but not far from central Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room but do check to ensure that the A/C cools and doesn't just blow air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Hotel

Address: Valley Road & Argwings Kodhek Road, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Springs Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Silver Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.