We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class our home and safari base in Kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Save Saved
You added Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris
Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Wildlife Safari Offer
Ranked #3 of 145 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class our home and safari base in Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Relaxing, excellent food and a great welcome. From meeting us at the airport to helping organise wildlife and scenic photographic trips. Trevor had good guides available for birdwatching and wildlife trips and then we went to the coast fishing with other contacts of his, staying in a cottage he arranged. He booked our internal flights and transfers. We are now regulars and will remain so, I highly recommend them when planning a trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
What can I say, I and the staff here appreciate the compliment and are so pleased that the family enjoyed their stay and the safaris we organised. We exchanged e-mails freely back and forth to be sure they saw and visited what they desired and at a price in their budget. The family are a pleasure to host and have visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    13
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We (myself and 5 others) stayed with Trevor and Hannah at Kikuyu lodge as a midway break from a months volunteer teaching. Both Trevor and Hannah made us incredibly welcome from the off and made us very comfortable during our stay. We were apprehensive especially due to recent events in Nairobi but the hotel was on the outskirts and we could not have felt any safer. We had 3 adjoining rooms which was perfect for a party our size and the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Hannah was a superstar and looked after us all incredibly well, the food was lovely and she catered to all. Trevor organised our full itinery organising a safari in the masai mara, visits to the nearby sheldrick elephant orphanage and giraffe centre and also all our travel. He could not have been more helpful and having this organised was incredibly helpful allowing us to focus on other areas of the trip as it was all in capable hands. The lodge is beautiful and very homely making for a comfortable stay (the pictures do not do the lodge the justice it deserves.) Trevor and Hannah were both incredibly friendly and have become part of an incredible experience spent in Kenya. I would happily recommend Trevor, Hannah and the lodge to all including friends and family and the students next year. I hope to come back and visit again. I cannot thank you enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
It was a genuine please organising and managing this trip with the Wildlife Safari and Local Tour. I am pleased that they were so happy and appreciate their review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have just spent 5 nights in Kykuyu lodge with my boyfriend while we were travelling in Kenya and it was very pleasent stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the dining area and garden are in a very nice style. Also the optional dinners were great. But most improtant at this place are Trevor and Hannah, who really made our stay absolutlely amazing. Trevor is great organiser and helped us make our itenerary of travelling even before we arrived to Kenya, the email communication was excelent and he was alos very helpful during our stay (renting car and driver, organising trips...). He also arranged a visit of Diani beach with great accomodation there and treated us in very friendly way. And Hannah could not do more to feel us as at home. I have never met such friendly people running a hotel and I reccomend this place to everybody who prefers small places rather then big hotels. It is true it is on suburb of Nairobi, but good starting point for visitng Karen Blixen center, girafe center ect. Also because the main road to Great rift valley is nearby, it is good place to start day trips to Naivasha, Hells gate or your safari tour to Masai Mara, Nakuru, Aberdare since you avoid the terrible trafic and aditional hour in Nairobi. Since Nairobi is rather expensive place, I have to say that for the service we recieved the price was more then fair. We hope to come back to Kenya and we will certainly stay at the Kikuyu lodge again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
What can I say other than to thank them for their kind comments and how please we all are that they enjoyed their time with us and in Kenya as a whole. It is gratifying knowing that their few weeks of vacation met their expectations. We know that our visitors work hard through the year and that time on vacation is of special value and we try to treat it as such.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and me stayed with Trevor and Hannah, the good soul of Kikuyu Lodge, for in total 4 nights in august. Trevor is perfect in organizing everything you need for your trip, you can book a whole tailormade safari or just a rental car, as you need it. when trevor heard that we were going to drive ourselves to uganda he even gave us a gps for free for two weeks, because we only had maps with us and he thought a gps would really be helpful for us!
the lodge itself has a very nice garden, a great livingroom for having your meals or just hanging around, the rooms are good even though you can see that the building was built more than 10 years ago so a little renovation sometime in the future would be nice.
One thing is important to know though: Kikuyu Lodge is on the outskirts of town, so it´s nearly impossible to get there by public transportation, that means you have to take a taxi (which of course trevor will gladly organize for you) everytime you want to go somewhere and come back.
All in all we were very pleased with our stay there and both Trevor and Hannah were very helpful and friendly so we can definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It is nice to know that after a guest has had faith to choose to stay with us, that we met their expectations. Because we are a small establishment it is interesting to be organising safaris arrangements on a personal level to meet requirements from Self Drive through to packaged Safaris as well as business or NGO requirements. I am delighted that this couple had such a good time on a very extensive self drive adventure from Kenya on into Uganda and I and my staff very much appreciate this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We actually chose this place for our last 2 nights in Kenya from the favourable reviews on this site. And I have to admit that we certainly weren't disappointed. The room was spacious and the bathroom clean and tidy. Breakfast and (optional) dinner were delicious and I have to say a big thank you to Hannah at this point for being so helpful with everything we requested, and it seems that she virtually ran the place single handed, from cooking and cleaning to washing and making the rooms. Only downside I can think of is that the place is situated next to a very busy highway and the traffic can be heard all night long. Small price to pay for such excellent service!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
As always we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return. Regarding the road we are pleased that the new Nairobi Southern Bye-pass construction is well underway and will mean fast access to both airports as well as greatly reducing traffic. Your review is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gravesend
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We recently stayed here for a week and I honestly don't think Trevor or Hannah could have done anymore for us! Hannah always provided us with amazing food and one day when we come home she even sowed up a rucksack that had broke (and did such a good job we couldn't even tell which strap had been fixed!) The location is great if you're planning on visit the various sanctuaries (elephant/giraffe) and Trevor is fantastic in helping sort these out. I would highly recommend this lodge if you want to feel at home whilst in Kenya :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are here to make you feel at home, to give you the best experience of this wonderful country. Whether we are planning your safari or assisting with a minor problem you may have. It is a pleasure and if you should write a great review like this I and the staff here are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I recently traveled to Kenya with 5 friends from university to complete a teaching placement for a month. We stayed in the lodge for our first week in Kenya and could not have had a nicer stay. Trevor and Hannah made us feel very welcome from the beginning and made extra efforts to make us feel at home. We had 3 joining rooms which suited us perfectly, all clean and very comfortable. The food Hannah prepared for us for breakfast and dinner was also delicious and we were all looked after extremely well.
Trevor also took the time to organize activities such as the elephant center and giraffe sanctuary which are definitely worth a visit. He also organised a beautiful safari stay in the Masai Mara which was fantastic!!
Thank you so much for giving us a brilliant start to our trip, I shall definitely recommend the lodge to the students next year, and I hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
I was a pleasure to host these students doing such wonderful volunteer work her in Kenya. \i am gland they were happy and that we could organise the safari for them to see the Masai Mara and something of this wonderful country while they were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Also Known As:
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel And Safaris
Address: Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a long established family run Guest House/Safari planners, organising personal itinerary holidays and wildlife safaris to the game parks of Kenya, Sightseeing to the beautiful Rift Valley and it lakes, and the mountain scenery of Mount Kenya and the Aberdare Ranges. Beach breaks to the beautiful Indian Ocean and Marine Park. For the serious naturalist or the leisure of a holiday in beautiful surrounding we organise it all and at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel we offer comfortable homely accommodation, good food and a warm welcome as well as our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.