We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kenya self drive safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris to your Saves list
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris
Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana/ Kikuyu, Nairobi 00902, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kenya self drive safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were on a two week self drive safari. Trevor's contacts in sorting a 4X4, his local knowledge, and willingness to help, with everything from loaning us spare fuel cans, tools, and his personal Sat' Nav', to advice on routes, made our holiday in Kenya the best to date.
Staying at the Kikuyu Lodge Hotel is not the sterile, insulating experience of the usual large hotels in downtown Nairobi. It feels part of the local community of Magana; about 20 mins from the city centre. You will hear some noise from the local community, be that traffic, goats, chickens or children playing, but the payback is feeling that you are actually in Kenya, not some "corporate managed" hotel environment.
We stayed three nights at the beginning of our trip, and two at the end. We were made to feel very welcome, meal times arranged to suit us, Trevor's friendly company during evening meals, and Hannah's ever cheerful presence to make us laugh.
Highly recommended if you want to feel part of Kenya, and why would you come to Kenya and not want to be!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Well Steve has spent a lot of time in Kenya on and off over the years so I feel it is a real honour for him to give the hotel and staff such praise. We much appreciate the recommendation of such an experienced traveller.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
22
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family and friends (8 people in total) stayed in Kikuyu Lodge for 1 night after our arrival in Nairobi and before departing for Safari. We love the room, garden, food, and everything at the Lodge! The only setback is that the shower in our room has very small water flow but anyway we do not need a waterfall:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope your safari went well. I will take a look at the shower you mentioned. It is good to have your feedback on these things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family of two adults and two teenaged children stayed for two nights en route to Naivasha and Nakuru, for which Kikuyu lodge is ideally situated. The ensuite rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and the food, cooked by Hannah, was plentiful and delicious. However, it is Trevor's thoughtfulness and hospitality that add significant value to Kikuyu lodge. His capable and practical advice and assistance on matters large and small allowed us to fully enjoy our time in Nairobi and we felt we were engaging with 'real' Kenya rather than a sanitised package experience. Looking forward to a time when we can return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
We take great pleasure in the variety of people we meet and their diverse interests. I was happy to share in there experiences in Kenya and pleased that they were also happy with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Trevor was extremely helpful in arranging my internal travel and bookings in Kenya. What impressed me was his prompt email replies to my many questions and requests. Friendly Hannah looked after me very well with her cooked dinners and breakfast. The KLH provided a homely escape from the bedlam of Nairobi traffic. The taxi service arranged by Trevor was reliable. I used this service for two complete days while I was in Nairobi to visit wherever I wished to go. I would recommend KLH if you are not interested in staying in the large expensive tourist hotels in the centre of Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Reviews are always appreciated, we know that for the guest it is a special time for them and endeavour to provide personal service. It is then gratifying when we know that they enjoyed their time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My 2 friends and I recently spent a long weekend in Nairobi and couldn't have been happier with Kikuyu and all of Trevor's help. He seriously answers every single email and is so amenable and helpful. Our group was initially 5 girls, then 4, then 3, and then we changed our flight 1 day before we were to arrive and Trevor was still able to accomodate everything! The atmosphere at the logde feels like extended family - Hannah is an amazing cook and so friendly and Trevor has so much knowledge and experience that you can't go wrong with any of his suggestions. We loved Nairobi, went also to Lake Nakuru (not to be missed), the Elephant Orphanage, the Safari Walk, and the Giraffe park, all in about 2.5 days. The tour guide Trevor organised, Charles, was wonderful and it's clear they work together all the time.

The lodge is about 15 minutes outside of downtown Nairobi, but that wasn't a problem for us since we were focused really on outside activities. That would be the only drawback so if you're looking at a hotel that will give you lots of access to downtown Nairobi, this probably isn't the place. Otherwise, enjoy the lovely garden and wonderful hospitality of Kikuyu Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We are very pleased that the group enjoyed their stay here. It was a pleasure to organise their trips out to the Rift Valley Lakes and places of interest around Nairobi. We hope they will return for a full Safari some time. The review is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nords Wharf
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First we must mention the hospitality at Kikuyu Lodge. Trevor made as feel welcomed and organised a safari for us to remember for a long time. The balloon trip over the Masai Mara was spectacular. Hannah the cook was sooooooo pleasant. Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
It is great to know that people have enjoyed the wildlife safaris we have organised for them and their time with us. These reviews are appreciated but our staff and hopefully will assist other travellers. We know and appreciate that your time in Kenya whether on holiday or business is a special time for you and hosting you is our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were very satisfied with the accommodation and with our room. Everything was clean, room was very nice. The food was expceptional. Hannah (cook) and Trevor (owner) are very nice. Trevor helped us to book flight tickets in the time when it was almost impossible and he spent a lot of time trying to find flight tickets for us to Zanzibar. What we appreciate most is that Trevor organized for us 10 days Safari trip, which was absolutely great and well organized. We asked for mid range safari and the price was important for us. Trevor offered the lowest price for the best quality. We were surprised by the quality of accommodation which was offered by other safari tour operators for extra fee. So thanks to Trevor we had pleasant stay in Nairobi and amazing Safari.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
I am very glad to hear that this young couple were happy, there safari took them to Tanzania and then on directly to Zanzibar and I was please that we managed to find a small airline that made their trip easier. Making the safari fit the clients interest and budget is our primary role, and of course within the budget the accommodation and food while in the game parks has to a priority, this is the basis of our reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Progressive Park Hotel
#20 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#9 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#32 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Address: Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana/ Kikuyu, Nairobi 00902, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a long established family run Guest House/Safari planners, organising personal itinerary holidays and wildlife safaris to the game parks of Kenya, Sightseeing to the beautiful Rift Valley and it lakes, and the mountain scenery of Mount Kenya and the Aberdare Ranges. Beach breaks to the beautiful Indian Ocean and Marine Park. For the serious naturalist or the leisure of a holiday in beautiful surrounding we organise it all and at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel we offer comfortable homely accommodation, good food and a warm welcome as well as our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel And Safaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.