We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Kikuyu Lodge and Trevor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris to your Saves list
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris
Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Safari Package Discount
Ranked #7 of 163 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My stay at Kikuyu Lodge and Trevor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I would irst like to say, how exceptional Trevor is. The number of e mails I sent him was inumerable, yet he replied to every one no matter how trivial
My wife had ridden 400k in Kenya within 4days, or women versus cancer charity, as this gave us the chance of a lifetime, of travelling to Kenya, going to the coast of Mombasa with a Safari at the end.
We wre going to travel by train from Nairobi to Mombasa by train.
I had already contacted Trevor about staying at his Lodge The day we came back from Mombasa readying or a Safari. Trevor not only arranged us to stay at Kikuyu for the night prior to the Safari, but also the Safari itself and then the last day after the Safari. He also arranged for taxis rom Nairobi to his Lodge and return. Also as I had told him we were going to catch the train. He suggested rather than spend the day in and around Nairobi that we go to his lodge or awhile the go buy taxi to the station. All this worked out well.
Unfortunately the day before my wife was to go off on her trip we received word that the train had been cancelled . He came to our rescue and let us stay at the Lodge overnight untl the plane I had to book after the cancellation of the train. He again arranged for the taxi both ways.
Thinking that nothing else could go wrong I met my wife at Nairobi after her ride, the taxi driver waited until she arrived and of we sped, we were met by a really exceptional woman called Hannah, who was more like a mother duck looking after flock, she got out chairs or us to sit on then later two beds or us to lie on in the garden.
Trevor came in and we met it was like meeting someone you had known for years so welcoming was he.He was a wealth of information.
I had in one of my many e mails asked if my wife could have use o a washing machine or her dirty riding clothes. Not only did he say yes but also Hannah did the laundry herself.
Trevor allowed us to leave our clothes we were to wear on the Safari at his lodge, again a resounding yes. He kept the room we had on day one for us all the time we were in Mombasa.
Then disaster struck, the plane we were suposed to have caught from Mombasa back to Nairobi had been cancelled.
He had found out that this had happened and that we were supposed to have caught the earlier one. Unfortunately our rep had not told us of this.
Trevor had arranged for the taxi to be at the airport for the earlier flight(the one our rep forgot to tell us of)
When I found out that our flight had been cancelled I managed to contact Trevor and let him know that we were going to be two hours late, he was justifiably surprised, but he then arranged that the taxi wait for the extra four hours (remenber he though we were on the earlier) Eventually we made it the cost an extra ten pounds.
We stayed overnight once again Hannah was tremendous and laid on another feast.
Early the next morning our mini bus for the Safari.
Not only was it most comfortable but we had a dedicated driver just to ourselves. Let it be said that the driver guide (Godfrey made our Safari) we were lucky enough to see the big five even the Rhino.
We returned pleased to be going back to Kikuyu lodge Trevor/Hannah and Trevors' son Dan
a really nice man, in fact he drove us to the airport to catch our plane.
I cannot thank Trevor et al enough for all they did for us.
Both my wife and I were very sad to have been leaving Kenya.
I can truthfully vouch that anyone contacting Trevor will find someone so helpful which in todays world is a rare thing.
Thanks Trevor.
If you are thinking of going to Kenya and want to do as we did, leave it all to Trevor.
Bob Swift

Room Tip: It does not matter they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
For someone to come from the UK to cycle 400 kilometers in the temperatures and at altitude for charity is a wonderful thing and it was my pleasure to organise their safari and take care of their travel arrangements while with us at Kikuyu. I wish them and the others associated with their charity well in their endeavors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
20
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Kikuyu Lodge so very much. The room was clean and very comfortable - nice beds, couch, and en suite bathroom; tastefully decorated. The garden view from the window was breathtaking. The garden itself was such a delight. It was much bigger than we had anticipated, housing over 100 trees, many of them of the flowering variety. Just beautiful. We enjoyed sitting outside in the mornings, sipping our coffee and watching the birds. We counted 17 varieties one morning -- a real treat, as we are bird watchers! The food was fresh and good; the staff just excellent and friendly too. Trevor, the owner, is a very personable man; helpful in every way and a generous friend to all. The neighborhood was peaceful and quiet --we slept so well. We will definitely visit this quaint and homey hotel again and look forward to it!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We are obviously please when our guests are happy. The garden and bird life have developed wonderfully over time since we built the hotel and are relaxing for guests after the pressure of traveling, we know your time with us is special to you and we try to make it as smooth running and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I found Kikuyu Lodge through TripAdvisor and was pleased with the accommodation, and the garden setting is lovely where cheerful Hannah serves a nice breakfast. The Lodge is a distance from downtown Nairobi, but the personalized service one receives more than makes up for the extra travel time. Trevor was so helpful - aiding us with lost luggage, driving us to the airport for a pickup at 3am and arranging a driver for an all-day excursion. With our own driver, we were able to visit all the parks (elephant, giraffe, reptile) and sights we wished in Nairobi at a fraction of the cost we would have incurred had we booked with a downtown tour operator.
I had already organized my safari when I found Kikuyu, but another time I would welcome having Trevor organize a trip for us, as he seems very well-connected with the various safari operators and can make excellent recommendations. One needs to be careful when organizing a safari - there are many many operators all served by many many brokers. Having someone with a vested interest in your successful safari organize for you would be a very good idea.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
It is gratifying to know that you were happy with your time here and I was pleased that your luggage was located and finally caught up with you before you went to Tanzania. Personal service and local knowledge is what we hope to bring to your safari holiday and I hope we can organise a trip for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Trevor and staff are quite accommodating, and the lodge is very homey and welcoming, but prospective visitors need to understand that this place is far away from the center and even farther from the Sheldrick elephant orphanage, which was a particular problem for us.

As "adoptive parents" of several baby elephants we were afforded the opportunity to visit with our elephants from 5:00-6:00 pm on two separate occasions, in addition to seeing the daily feeding that occurs at 11:00 each day. We were quite enthusiastic about this until we got into our taxi and spent the next 60 minutes driving to the other side of a terribly congested Nairobi in order to get to the elephant orphanage. Our one hour evening visit therefore took three hours, with two hours spent in the taxi! For the 11:00 visit we left Kikyu Lodge at 10:00 am and actually got there a bit after 11:00--it had taken more than one hour and we missed part of the feeding. We consequently decided to forego our visit to the orphanage that evening, which was a shame, as visiting the elephant orphanage was really a high point of our time in Nairobi.

Visitors need to be aware that this is a problem, both from a time perspective and also from a financial standpoint. We stayed two nights at $100/night--very comfortable and wonderful meals, so no complaints there. But we spent an additional $210 on transportation in a mere 1 1/2 days: a full day taxi lease which included a trip to the elephant orphanage, the Nairobi Museum, and the Maasai Market (near the embassies) cost us $100. But to be picked up from downtown initially (in order to get to the lodge), the aforementioned evening trip to the elephant orphanage, and a ride to the airport at the end of our trip cost an additional $110! We were really not expecting that.

For our purposes, since we wanted to spend additional time at the elephant orphanage, I think we would have been better off staying closer to Karen. If you are interested in the elephant orphanage, as well as Giraffe Manor and the Blixen Museum, you might want to consider this as well, as Kikyu Lodge is an hour away from these sites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
I must say that I welcome all responses to our services both positive and negative. However I must apologise for the problems with taxi's over the Christmas period. Most Kenyans travel to their homes over this period and there is a shortage of experienced drivers. There is no need to go through Nairobi to reach Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixen, etc. It should never take more than 30 minutes each way. Regarding the cost of Car and Driver Hire by the day I consider US$100 for 9 hours unlimited travel around Nairobi to be reasonable. Vehicles and Vehicle maintenance are very expensive in Kenya and fuel costs are high approaching 5.50US$ per US gallon. We do our best to minimise cost, it being better to hire by the day than pay by journey. It is unfortunate when people are disappointed and we endeavour to please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed (3 teachers and 13 students) for a night on our way back from the Masai Mara before flying out of Nairobi. Trevor was a great help in organising our stay and booking a bus to take our group to the airport at 4am. When we arrived after our journey Hanna had made a delicious meal for us and we were made to feel at home. Would definitely stay here again. Trevor is very quick in answering inquiries and has lots of local contacts to help you with other arrangements while in Kenya. And the garden out the back is lovely...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
It was a pleasure to deal with this group of student , the work and research such people do in Kenya is much appreciated and we are here to assist in any way. Being a small business with local knowledge means that we can offer special arrangements and it is nice that this is valued by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Both my husband and myself have just returned a wonderful week's holiday in Kenya!
It all began when we found the website for Kikuyu Lodge Hotel and realised they organised safari tours. So we made contact with the owner, Trevor Kent, and were SO impressed and grateful by his speedy detailed responses (I think I must have contacted him over 20 times in the run up to departure and he ever failed to respond with the necessary information ...a truely first class personalised service!!!). He organised our entire trip from our collection at Jomo Kenyatta airport, the local tour to places of interest around Nairobi with a driver, all the wonderful accommodation in the Maasai Mara and Lake Nakuru plus the safari tour bus with an amazing driver named Sammy (also highly recommended!) Both of the places Trevor arranged for us to stay, The Mara Sarova in the Maasai Mara and Flamingo Hill Tented Camp in Lake Nakuru, were first class! We consider ourselves extremely lucky to have found Kikuyu Lodge!
Staying at the lodge is like home away from home. We cannot rate it highly enough! We felt totally relaxed and welcome throughout our stay. The room was clean and spacious, the bed was comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water for showers. Each bedroom has a wooden carved animal outside its door, we were in giraffe room. I really liked this attention to detail!
Hannah, the housemaid, made a wonderful selection of meals ... breakfast often consisted of a selection of fresh fruits, cereal, a western cooked breakfast and plenty of tea/coffee. Lunch time sandwiches were always tasty and evening meals were delicious ... spicy fish and chips was a favourite! Nothing was ever a problem. I mentioned to Hannah my love of sweet potato and the next day she went out and bought me some to have for breakfast! She is SO lovely, always smiling and wanting to please her guests.
Trevor is great! He is an interesting man and we had many great conversations over dinner. He has lots of knowledge about the country and is willing to answer all your questions. Daniel, his son, was also on hand to help us throughout our stay. We want to thank them both for being so brilliant!
The downstairs living area at Kikuyu Lodge is cosy with sofas and a television plus many travel books and maps to browse. I enjoyed chilling in my tracksuit and slippers over a hot cup of coffee whilst my husband enjoyed a 'Tusker' beer. There are many traditional African artefacts around the house which are interesting to look at and determine their use.
The garden is lovely at Kikuyu Lodge and we sat outside soaking up the sun in the peaceful surroundings.
We have no hesitation in recommending Kikuyu Lodge Hotel ... A+++. We will always have fond memories of our time there! xxx

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We are so happy to know that our guests enjoyed their special trip to Kenya. It is a pleasure to deal with appreciative people, this make it more than a job, visitors become friends. Your words of gratitude and recommendation mean a lot to our business, to future visitors and to us personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay here, top notch meals (kudos to Hannah), great conversation (thanks Trevor), and a warm homey atmosphere. Safari excursions were perfect. Did I mention it was a great place. :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor2009, Owner at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
We really appreciate your comment it is great aid to promoting smaller businesses. The personal service we can offer, and advice for new travelers to Kenya. It is also good for our staff to feel their efforts have made customers happy and their future more secure.

Many thanks.

Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Address: Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a long established family run Guest House/Safari planners, organising personal itinerary holidays and wildlife safaris to the game parks of Kenya, Sightseeing to the beautiful Rift Valley and it lakes, and the mountain scenery of Mount Kenya and the Aberdare Ranges. Beach breaks to the beautiful Indian Ocean and Marine Park. For the serious naturalist or the leisure of a holiday in beautiful surrounding we organise it all and at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel we offer comfortable homely accommodation, good food and a warm welcome as well as our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel And Safaris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.