We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't for Intrepid nobody would stay here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kivi Milimani Hotel to your Saves list
Kivi Milimani Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for Intrepid nobody would stay here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stayed for two nights, one at the start of the tour and the other at the end. The first night was simply atrocious, the sink emptied directly onto the floor flooding the bathroom, the noise from the lift was deafening and to top it off somebody walked into my locked room while I was sleeping!!

The return trip was a lot better, the room was nicer (comparatively speaking) and there were no real problems - except for the price: US$120!!!!

Oddly enough the pool and bar area is actually quite reasonable, I would have thought the money would have been better invested on the rooms. If Intrepid ever stops using the hotel they're in serious trouble.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere if you want a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    58
    33
    29
See reviews for
14
43
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

stayed there in February 2013 in order to pick up a tour starting there. They were good about picking us up in the middle of the night from the airport. Also, the same couple drove us around the next day. We paid but it was not over the top. The pool area is tropical and nice as is the bar off the pool. The rooms are 1970s Soviet bloc. Thin walls, concrete and utilitarian. Very thin. The hotel is gated so you do not go out at night except in a cab. They surprised us with a Valentine's Day dinner. If I could afford it, I would stay at a more upscale place if I am ever back in Nairobi. The local ex pat community uses the bar so there are interesting people there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

As with many people I was staying here at the beginning of an intrepid tour. The prices are really high for an average room and facilities but Nairobi is an expensive place to stay in general so when compared with what else is available it is kind of standard prices. The rooms on the fifth floor are ok and have supposedly been refurbished (I can only wonder what an original room must be like!). The tv didn't work and the balcony door fell apart as the porter tried to open it.

The staff are nice, and friendly and the wifi works pretty well. The pool is nice and the surrounding gardens are lovely.

Overall the hotel is not great but ok for a night

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zürich
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

we had to stay there because we booked the interpid tour. but the room was not nice, the door was broken, so no proper lock, shower was almost not working, just little wather.
the room was not so clean, staff and wifi was ok. wouldent stay there again.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The place is a rip off from the moment we were picked up at the airport. Quoted $30 US driver charged $35 until showed paperwork and reluctantly handed back $30. It is filthy and decrepit. The toilet didn't flush. We are also joining a 34 day camping safari with Dragoman. Had I read the reviews there is no way I would have stayed here. Make sure you get a written quote as to the price. We were forced to pay $130.00 US for the worst room we have ever stayed in

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed here for two nights before my safari with Intrepid Travel. For $100/night, I was expecting something a little nicer. The door didn't appear to be very secure and there was a sign next to the television stating the hotel was not responsible for things stolen out of your room while you were gone. The room itself was very basic and the bathroom was clean, but very old. At least the hot water worked. The hotel did have a decent restaurant downstairs. The complimentary breakfast was really disgusting, but I ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the food was actually really good. The hotel also has wifi, a pool, and a bar. If you don't spend much time in your room, this place is okay. This hotel does let you store bags if you're going on safari, so that was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The rooms weren't very secure and breakfast not very nice pool area nice, food took a while ended up starving and staying here for part of the dragoman package and now I look back it just seemed fun and part of the memories even though not the best hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 119 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kivi Milimani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.