We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kivi Milimani Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed here for two nights before my safari with Intrepid Travel. For $100/night, I was expecting something a little nicer. The door didn't appear to be very secure and there was a sign next to the television stating the hotel was not responsible for things stolen out of your room while you were gone. The room itself was very basic and the bathroom was clean, but very old. At least the hot water worked. The hotel did have a decent restaurant downstairs. The complimentary breakfast was really disgusting, but I ate lunch and dinner at the restaurant and the food was actually really good. The hotel also has wifi, a pool, and a bar. If you don't spend much time in your room, this place is okay. This hotel does let you store bags if you're going on safari, so that was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    50
    28
    24
See reviews for
12
39
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The rooms weren't very secure and breakfast not very nice pool area nice, food took a while ended up starving and staying here for part of the dragoman package and now I look back it just seemed fun and part of the memories even though not the best hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury. W. Yorks
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

There have been some pretty damning reviews on here, but having spent three days split by a safari in this establishment I have mixed views. Our first stay was on level 2. The hot tap didn't work, the bath looked as though it was from 1806 and on returning after dinner we found what looked like a mouse turd on the bed. Even at £35 a night this was rather disappointing. However on retuning we were on the third floor and our room was far superior. The hot tap at least turned on, it didn't deliver hot water, but it turned on. The bath looked safe enough to occupy and there were no mouse turds. The message is clear. If you get chance ask for a room on the third floor. I recommend room 316! The staff were great and the pool area is lovely, though the water a tad chilly. The hotel stored our luggage for an entire week while we went on safari and the internet was free. There is entertainment on Saturday nights and the BBQ is good value if not absolutely brilliant. I wouldn't stay here for a lengthy stay, but if you are transiting for a safari and you can get a better room its fine and not expensive.

Room Tip: third floor, room 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for on our first night arrival into Kenya prior to starting out safari trip arranged by Steenbok Safari's.

This is quite a basic hotel but servered its purposes. Room and bathroom was clean and functional and the staff seemed friendly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights in all, before and after a safari. The first set was two nights and there were definite positives and negatives to the property. Always start with the positives...staff were excellent, warm, and friendly - a great introduction to the great Kenyan people. The rooms were comfortable and I slept fine. Nice balconies with nice views of the general area and gardens etc...Outside area is very slick and nice. Great spot to have a few Tuskers and laugh the night away with a few others. Ordered food there one evening and didn't get what I wanted but it was pretty tasty nonetheless so happy days. The lock system isn't that great but I had no worries and there are guards outside the property and safes behind the counter to keep your valuables in. Don't scare yourself, most of the hotels here have a guarded gate before you get in, that can be a good thing. Second stay was the last night after the safari and had a wonderful night. Always various tours in and out so cool people to meet up with at the bar. There is a reason a lot of tour companies use this as a starting point and it is an honestly good spot. You can walk about 5 minutes down Jomo Kenyatta to get into downtown which was pretty cool and vibrant. All in all, I would definitely stay here again if I am in Nairobi again - good value, good hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator as it can be pretty loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The apartments are just whack! We stayed there for 2weeks and the experience was horrible!The sitting room has got some cheap seats not to mention the kitchen which has no cutlery, no microwave and to worsen the situation some old fridge that break anytime. I honestly didn't come across anything stunning in that hotel.....You need to improve your décor first then the rest will follow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night pre-booked by our tour company for a safari we were doing. Is a nice hotel with nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Nice pool which we didn't use as weather was cool. Only issue we had was lifts broken and had to walk up to 5th floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kivi Milimani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.