We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kivi Milimani Hotel to your Saves list
Kivi Milimani Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
London
2 reviews
“Not that bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The rooms weren't very secure and breakfast not very nice pool area nice, food took a while ended up starving and staying here for part of the dragoman package and now I look back it just seemed fun and part of the memories even though not the best hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Agbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dewsbury. W. Yorks
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

There have been some pretty damning reviews on here, but having spent three days split by a safari in this establishment I have mixed views. Our first stay was on level 2. The hot tap didn't work, the bath looked as though it was from 1806 and on returning after dinner we found what looked like a mouse turd on the bed. Even at £35 a night this was rather disappointing. However on retuning we were on the third floor and our room was far superior. The hot tap at least turned on, it didn't deliver hot water, but it turned on. The bath looked safe enough to occupy and there were no mouse turds. The message is clear. If you get chance ask for a room on the third floor. I recommend room 316! The staff were great and the pool area is lovely, though the water a tad chilly. The hotel stored our luggage for an entire week while we went on safari and the internet was free. There is entertainment on Saturday nights and the BBQ is good value if not absolutely brilliant. I wouldn't stay here for a lengthy stay, but if you are transiting for a safari and you can get a better room its fine and not expensive.

Room Tip: third floor, room 316.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickDud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for on our first night arrival into Kenya prior to starting out safari trip arranged by Steenbok Safari's.

This is quite a basic hotel but servered its purposes. Room and bathroom was clean and functional and the staff seemed friendly enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfra386401l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed here 3 nights in all, before and after a safari. The first set was two nights and there were definite positives and negatives to the property. Always start with the positives...staff were excellent, warm, and friendly - a great introduction to the great Kenyan people. The rooms were comfortable and I slept fine. Nice balconies with nice views of the general area and gardens etc...Outside area is very slick and nice. Great spot to have a few Tuskers and laugh the night away with a few others. Ordered food there one evening and didn't get what I wanted but it was pretty tasty nonetheless so happy days. The lock system isn't that great but I had no worries and there are guards outside the property and safes behind the counter to keep your valuables in. Don't scare yourself, most of the hotels here have a guarded gate before you get in, that can be a good thing. Second stay was the last night after the safari and had a wonderful night. Always various tours in and out so cool people to meet up with at the bar. There is a reason a lot of tour companies use this as a starting point and it is an honestly good spot. You can walk about 5 minutes down Jomo Kenyatta to get into downtown which was pretty cool and vibrant. All in all, I would definitely stay here again if I am in Nairobi again - good value, good hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator as it can be pretty loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The apartments are just whack! We stayed there for 2weeks and the experience was horrible!The sitting room has got some cheap seats not to mention the kitchen which has no cutlery, no microwave and to worsen the situation some old fridge that break anytime. I honestly didn't come across anything stunning in that hotel.....You need to improve your décor first then the rest will follow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
threesixtyfive, Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments. Please note that we have embarked on ambitious renovations to upgrade our rooms. This is to supplement the already good reports about the staff , view from rooms, gardens and the lovely swimming pool. The following are the areas to be covered:

1. New lift to the rooms
2. Door locks [already the fifth floor room doors have new locks]
3. Curtains
4. Bath tubs repair and spraying
5. New beddings
6. New furniture
7. Flat screen satellite TVs mounted on the wall
8. Tiles on room floors to replace carpets
9. Electronic room safes

We are going to do this in phases to minimize client disturbance

Wilberforce Tirop - Product Manager, Kivi Milimani Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
356 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night pre-booked by our tour company for a safari we were doing. Is a nice hotel with nice clean rooms and friendly staff. Nice pool which we didn't use as weather was cool. Only issue we had was lifts broken and had to walk up to 5th floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night prior to Intrepid Serengeti Trail ,not sure how much the tarrif is as inclusive in my tour price.Reading previous bad reviews I took note of which rooms to avoid and away from noisy lift so asked reception for a good room with a secure lock and away from the lift.Staff were very friendly and obliging, also stated that the broken locks had been repaired. I was placed on the 5th floor room 511 which was just fine, yes the hotel is old and dated but my room was clean with a king size bed with crisp white linen.I also had a balcony with table and chair which overlooked the pool.The bathroom is also dated but staff showed me how to turn on the switch for hot water which heats instantly.The water was hot and adequate.
That night as a group we ate from the dining room choosing from the barbeque or whatever you wanted from menu.I wasn't hungry so just had the pumpkin soup and fresh bread which was thick and delicious.Some of the others were not impressed with the barbie and didn't think it was good value which also included beer or glass of wine.The restaurant had live entertainment with African dance and music with the dancers being very energetic, they danced around the tables getting people up to dance with them which was fun. When we returned to the Hotel after our tour some of us were heading to the airport later in the evening for flights home so for a tarrif of $30 we could use the room(officially only one person per room) for 4hrs enabling to shower and to repack.This hotel is in Nairobi centre and about 20 min walk into town.This hotel was fine for one night, suited me as I don't sweat the small stuff.

Room Tip: Room 511 on the 5th floor overlooks the pool and is away from the noisy lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alarnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#17 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Nairobi
Hilton Nairobi
#47 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sentrim 680 Hotel
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#73 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing