We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was enough.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kivi Milimani Hotel to your Saves list
Kivi Milimani Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One night was enough.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for two nights prior to starting an overlanding trip. The rooms were basic a relatively clean, unfortunately the same cannot be said for the bathroom. The shower was broken and you had to hold onto the hose, and the bath tub was peeling and in poor condition.

Service was below average, the second day we were called and advised that we had to change rooms immediately so we packed our bags in a panic and lugged them down the stairs (elevator was not working and kept getting stuck) only to be told that we didn’t need to change rooms after all. Also there was no bottled in a room and we had to request it another 2 times.

The pool area was well kept and the BBQ buffet lunch around the pool was good.

Wi-fi is available for a nominal cost.

If you are only staying here for one night and you are only in need of a basic bed then this will do the trick but otherwise I’d recommend elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    55
    32
    26
See reviews for
12
42
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rabat
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I made the mistake of going to this hotel when I came in late from Eldoret, at 1 AM, knowing I had only a few hours to sleep before waking for my morning appointments in Nairobi. My biggest mistake was trusting the woman downstairs about there being running hot water. Needless to say, there was no running hot water. To make matters worse, the room was a complete mess and when I asked why there was no hot water, I was told that the technician was late to fix the hot water. I asked to change rooms. She then changed my room. When I got to the second room, I was told to turn on a boiler button and that there would be hot water 20 minutes later. I decided to go lay down while the water heated. When I went to do so, I uncovered the sheets and found human marital relations stains on the sheets, needless to say, I was mortified and went back downstairs to ask for another room, because in this room as well, the water was not heating up. This was met by attitude from the woman at the desk, which was very surprising as I had not ever experienced rudeness from hotel staff at a Nairobi hotel. I was given yet another room, and asked for the bellhop to go with me to the other room, so as to check the room to make sure it was ok. The third room of course, ALSO had a malfunctioning faucet, and the toilet did not flush. I paid 5850 KSH for this hotel room. By the time I moved into the third room, the receptionist called the manager. The manager yelled at the receptionist, wasted more of my sleep time and took me to yet another room, where everything seemed ok. I tried to use the shower, but it was still cold, as I had to wait 20 minutes for the water to heat and decided instead to take a shower in the morning. The time when I entered the 4th room was 5 AM - I had to be at an 830 Appointment the next day. This hotel had cost me 4 very valuable hours of sleep and destroyed my day. The manager did not offer a refund. Do not EVER even consider taking a room in Kenya until you see the hot water working and test it out yourself.

Room Tip: I am currently staying in a good hotel in Nairobi - it is called Nairobi transit hotel - it is almos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in Kivi Milimani Hotel the night before my overland tour commenced. Luckily for me I stayed at another hotel nearby 5 days before which was 10x more better (Reata Serviced Apartments).

Good things: My room was available earlier than normal check-in time, the grounds of the hotel are really nice, food served is nice.

Bad things: Rooms can be accessed with key only - so easy to break into rooms, shower took forever to get warm water, it took 1 hour for a sandwich to be served for lunch... in general it just seems a bit run down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The only thing good about this hotel and I mean the only thing good about it is the fact that the staff is friendly and very very polite. The elevator opened once about 3 feet above the landing and I almost broke my neck stepping out of it. This was only when the elevators were actually running. Most of the time they were broken. The first two rooms they attempted to put me Were flooded. The locks are as easy to pick as it is to write this review. The rooms were dirty and old. The hotel itself is rundown degraded and not worth half of what they charge. Unfortunately this is the hotel used by many tour companies and I have sent a formal letter to the tour company themselves to avoid this hotel in the future. It is not worth $100 a night. I would not stay here again if it was free

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed here for two nights, before an overland trip with intrepid. I do not know how other hotels in Nairobi are like but i would not recommend kivi milimani. When i got in the showers there was no hot water and when i called them they said that 'now we have turned on the boiler, it will take some time' so i had to wait for over half an hour. The furniture and the carpet are old but at least the linen and the towels were clean and ok. The door seemed to have been breached by thieves several times so you should give any valuables at the reception and they will put them in a safe.
I paid 90 dollars per night which i think is way to expensive.
There are 3 pc's near the reception but you have to pay to get access.
At the restaurant try traditional foods (e.g stirred chicken with rice) and avoid western menu because the pasta i ordered the first night was not good at all.
From the hotal to the airport is less than a half an hour distance where there is not traffic. I booked a taxi from an airport transfer company for 20 dollars.
To sum up the hotel would be ok if it was not so overpriced for what it is.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Spent five nights here in total on a return trip from Malawi where we had been doing some voluntary work a couple of years ago so the stay date is a little out below. Hotel is clean and tidy with good food. Staff went out of their way to book taxis, train tickets and kept most of our bags when we travelled to Mombasa for several days.

The lad behind the bar was a font of information and was able to tell us about guides who charged significantly less than advertised rates. Petted a cheatah and saw the flamingos at lake Nakurah for a fraction of the normal price. (I did check out the guides registration on the net before we took a chance).

There were a lot of tour groups using this hotel and as a result it did feel a bit like a hostel at times as you wound your way round bags.

Nairobi is not safe at night so make sure you avail of the shuttle to other eating houses in the city and they will collect you from ones that are not on the list for a surcharge. (usually about 1/3 of asking price if you haggle.

Two other tips
1 Smoking is not permitted in public in Nairobi other than designated areas and that includes the streets and parks. (people will tell you in the street that you can't smoke here and look for a policeman, WALK AWAY)
2 Be discrete. Loud westerners draw the worst kind of attention, when your trainers are worth 2 months wages what do you think is going to happen.

Room Tip: Not exactly a room tip, but this hotel is in a safe area of the city but take a taxi at night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here one night, as many others do, before joining an overland trip. We stayed here because we had to - the reviews of this place are pretty accurate. We took the advice of an earlier reviewer who suggested staying additional nights at the Heron Hotel next door, and we are glad we did. For only a little more money, the Heron gave us a much nicer room and service over the Kivi.

The one thing I can say in its defence is that it is clean - cleaner than the reviews suggest. I was expecting something much worse in terms of cleanliness. In truth, the hotel is old, and things like tiles, faucets and toilets are showing their age, but they are not unclean.

I found the people working here to be very unhelpful, and most of them quite unfriendly with the exception of one woman who tracked us down after we had left some important papers behind in the restaurant. And as for the restaurant - it's not great. The food took forever to arrive and was tasteless.

I don't know why some companies still use this place as their joining hotel. I suspect the contract they have with them is part of the problem - if they have a guaranteed influx of patrons with every group departure, it's like a captive audience - why bother improving? Overall, it's got a decent bed, and acceptable shower, and it's clean. The breakfast is also decent. But the price - at $120 per night, is really, really ridiculous. I would be okay with paying about $60 for a hotel like this in my own country. Nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kivi Milimani Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.