We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gigiri Homestead

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gigiri Homestead to your Saves list
Gigiri Homestead
Un Close | Off UN Cresent Road, HSE No. 287 Last house in the close., Nairobi, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 183 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here in January 2014 for a week and returned for 2 nights in April 2014. The property is beautiful, the rooms nicely furnished and clean, and the service friendly and warm. Very quiet and peaceful place and good breakfast served. UN complex and Village Market (for Maasai Market) within walking distance of the homestead.

Dinners served were good too and is catered to personal choice. I had two wonderful stays. No complaints and will return when I'm back in Nairobi.

Brianne

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I originally went to this guesthouse because I go to work at the UN and the traffic had got too bad to stay in town, but I'm so glad I did. It's really cosy and safe, in a quiet, secure area which is walking distance from Village Market and UN Gigiri, and the food and cleanliness are second to none. But where it really excels is in service.... The staff are all charming, and spare no effort to make you feel at home. I have stayed in much more expensive places and not been so well looked after. If you're looking for something a bit different from the usual anonymous business hotels, you couldn't do better. And don't miss the excellent chicken curry at dinner or the mango pancakes at breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at Gigiri Homestead for a week in Nairobi while travelling there for a non-profit, and it was one of the highlights of my trip. The homestead itself has a wonderful bright, cottage feel, the garden is beautiful and peaceful. The area is very safe, secure and close to the Village Market for food, supplies and shopping. Bedrooms and bathrooms were extremely clean (and I don't take cleanliness lightly). The staff were among the nicest, warmest people I've come across in all of my travels. They went above and beyond to make sure we were ok, well fed (and had our shoes, when we accidentally left them behind while packing up on our last day.) They were amazing and we enjoyed our dinners-in chatting with them and learning about their lives and Kenyan politics and cultures from them, firsthand.
I had a wonderful stay here. I've have travelled to many different countries and stayed in a variety of homesteads, cottages and B&Bs and this was by far my favourite. I'd highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Nairobi.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms that shared a bathroom and did not have a huge issue with it. If you are thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great service very friendly personnel, nice house with a home-feel and great breakfast! Affordable 125 USD per night in master bedroom with ensuite. Close to village market just 10 min walk with restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A nice, safe and quiet place in Gigiri within a walking distance to the UN and Village Market. The staff is very friendly and helpful, all do their best to make you feel at home. Some furniture in the room is a bit decrepit, but everything is very clean and kept in good order. Bed linen is changed every 3 days. A gorgeous garden allows one to relax after a hectic day in heavily poluted Nairobi. Should you desire a dinner, make sure to order the food before noon.

Room Tip: The hotel is rather small and not all rooms have baths. It functions as a base for UN staff who stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stay in Gigiri Homestead every time I travel through Nairobi (every 2-3 months). And it feels like coming home.
Place is quiet, located very close to UN compound and Village Market. It feels safe just to walk to both these places.
Rooms are nice – simple, but comfortable. The whole accommodation – rooms, bathrooms, lounge, garden are very clean. Food is good, prepared upon request, even in the evening. Staff is very welcoming, helpful and accommodating i.e. they helped me when I had troubles with cash.
I would recommend Gigiri Homestead to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Am delighted to be able to review Gigiri Homestead. I stay here every time I come to Nairobi. I love the location because it is quite and safe. I love the food and the rooms. I know the most of the staff personally and look forward to seeing them every visit. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
The Bedelle
#9 of 132 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 132 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigiri Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigiri Homestead

Address: Un Close | Off UN Cresent Road, HSE No. 287 Last house in the close., Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gigiri Homestead is a beautiful residence that provides comfortable, convenient and quality accommodation. It is situated within the lovely suburb of Gigiri and is within walking distance of the Village Market shopping centre, UN Head Quarters and US Embassy. The house is nicely furnished and has experienced staff that are committed to making your stay in Kenya a wonderful experience. The nightly rate includes unlimited wireless internet access and a delicious complimentary buffet breakfast. Discounts are provided to guests who stay longer than 1 week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gigiri Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gigiri Homestead Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gigiri Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.