We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gigiri Homestead

Gigiri Homestead
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gigiri Homestead
Save
You added Gigiri Homestead to your Saves list
54 Gigiri Court | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed here in January 2014 for a week and returned for 2 nights in April 2014. The property is beautiful, the rooms nicely furnished and clean, and the service friendly and warm. Very quiet and peaceful place and good breakfast served. UN complex and Village Market (for Maasai Market) within walking distance of the homestead.

Dinners served were good too and is catered to personal choice. I had two wonderful stays. No complaints and will return when I'm back in Nairobi.

Brianne

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
10
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I originally went to this guesthouse because I go to work at the UN and the traffic had got too bad to stay in town, but I'm so glad I did. It's really cosy and safe, in a quiet, secure area which is walking distance from Village Market and UN Gigiri, and the food and cleanliness are second to none. But where it really excels is in service.... The staff are all charming, and spare no effort to make you feel at home. I have stayed in much more expensive places and not been so well looked after. If you're looking for something a bit different from the usual anonymous business hotels, you couldn't do better. And don't miss the excellent chicken curry at dinner or the mango pancakes at breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed at Gigiri Homestead for a week in Nairobi while travelling there for a non-profit, and it was one of the highlights of my trip. The homestead itself has a wonderful bright, cottage feel, the garden is beautiful and peaceful. The area is very safe, secure and close to the Village Market for food, supplies and shopping. Bedrooms and bathrooms were extremely clean (and I don't take cleanliness lightly). The staff were among the nicest, warmest people I've come across in all of my travels. They went above and beyond to make sure we were ok, well fed (and had our shoes, when we accidentally left them behind while packing up on our last day.) They were amazing and we enjoyed our dinners-in chatting with them and learning about their lives and Kenyan politics and cultures from them, firsthand.
I had a wonderful stay here. I've have travelled to many different countries and stayed in a variety of homesteads, cottages and B&Bs and this was by far my favourite. I'd highly recommend it for anyone traveling to Nairobi.

Room Tip: We stayed in the rooms that shared a bathroom and did not have a huge issue with it. If you are thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great service very friendly personnel, nice house with a home-feel and great breakfast! Affordable 125 USD per night in master bedroom with ensuite. Close to village market just 10 min walk with restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A nice, safe and quiet place in Gigiri within a walking distance to the UN and Village Market. The staff is very friendly and helpful, all do their best to make you feel at home. Some furniture in the room is a bit decrepit, but everything is very clean and kept in good order. Bed linen is changed every 3 days. A gorgeous garden allows one to relax after a hectic day in heavily poluted Nairobi. Should you desire a dinner, make sure to order the food before noon.

Room Tip: The hotel is rather small and not all rooms have baths. It functions as a base for UN staff who stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stay in Gigiri Homestead every time I travel through Nairobi (every 2-3 months). And it feels like coming home.
Place is quiet, located very close to UN compound and Village Market. It feels safe just to walk to both these places.
Rooms are nice – simple, but comfortable. The whole accommodation – rooms, bathrooms, lounge, garden are very clean. Food is good, prepared upon request, even in the evening. Staff is very welcoming, helpful and accommodating i.e. they helped me when I had troubles with cash.
I would recommend Gigiri Homestead to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Am delighted to be able to review Gigiri Homestead. I stay here every time I come to Nairobi. I love the location because it is quite and safe. I love the food and the rooms. I know the most of the staff personally and look forward to seeing them every visit. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gigiri Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigiri Homestead

Address: 54 Gigiri Court | Gigiri, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gigiri Homestead is a beautiful residence that provides comfortable, convenient and quality accommodation. It is situated within the lovely suburb of Gigiri and is within walking distance of the Village Market shopping centre, UN Head Quarters and US Embassy. The house is nicely furnished and has experienced staff that are committed to making your stay in Kenya a wonderful experience. The nightly rate includes unlimited wireless internet access and a delicious complimentary buffet breakfast. Discounts are provided to guests who stay longer than 1 week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gigiri Homestead Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gigiri Homestead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.