We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe solution and a pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A safe solution and a pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

The Kivi Milimani Hotel was the start and end point after an (excellent) Intrepid trip. (Don't bother staying there unless you have to). The Kivi was booked out on my last night in Nairobi, so I had to find somewhere else...

After several frustrating attempts at the Kivi, of trying to use the internet and telephone to book another hotel...I gave up! I decided to walk into town and make a booking face-to-face at the Stanley. However, a 100m down the road I noticed The Heron...

Although the Kivi is practically next door (and in a similar price range) they are worlds apart! The guy at reception was helpful and friendly. He probably thought it was a bit weird that a stressed-out muzungu walked in off the street and booked a room for the following night!

I arrived the next day before check-in, so they stored my bags and I walked into town. The city is a 10-15 minute walk away - go out past the security gates and guard - turn left and keep walking...easy. As a solo female, I felt completely safe on Milivani Road during the day. I would be more cautious walking past the parks in the evening. Also remember NOT to speak to ANYONE that approaches you...unless you are up for a con!

The room was clean and cool. The furnishings were nicely put together. I had dinner and breakfast the hotel, both of which were of a good standard. The wait staff were very professional.

I had an evening flight so arranged for a late check out (6pm), and I just lazed around the hotel. The gift shop/business centre sells snack food, and internet was fast and relatively cheap. Watching movies in my room was pleasant and relaxing way to spend the afternoon before my flight. The taxi driver at the hotel was also friendly and professional.

Next time I'm back in Nairobi, I will definitely stay at The Heron.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    72
    25
    9
    0
See reviews for
17
27
22
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

I enjoyed my 2 week stay here. The staff were generally helpful, the service was good and my room was always nicely cleaned. A decent albeit slightly overpriced restaurant is attached with options for room service (with surcharge). Down points were that the laundry service lost one of my shirts although they did try to put this right. Some days I didn't want housekeeping to clean my room so I put my 'do not disturb' note up - house keeping still asked if I wanted service - whilst they were just trying to be helpful this did get on my nerves a bit! There is internet access but only via cable rather than wireless.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

In a city with a seeming shortage of hotel rooms in the Upper Hill, Hurlingham, Lavington area, this one is a winner. Quiet, clean rooms, with attentive service, a full service restaurant, and easy access to the Upper Hill, Hurlingham, Lavington areas of the city. I've been to Nairobi five times in the past six months and consistently have trouble finding a hotel or guest house that has decent food, reasonably comfortable beds, and gives me the assurance I am safe when traveling alone. The Heron Hotel did all of that.... the one drawback is that there is no wifi service in the rooms: there is a business center with Internet access on the main level, but that is not nearly as convenient. The wireless modems offered by the major cell phone networks work fine, but they are certainly more of a hassle. Given the lack of clean, affordable hotels in this part of the city, it was a compromise I was willing to make.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Heron Hotel is a good place to stay if you need to be on upper Hill and Fairview is fully booked. Rooms are OK, clean, well furnished and the Service is fine. The difference between deluxe and executive rooms is nearly not existing, so take the cheaper option.
The Hotel Restaurant is not that recommendable. Breakfast is a low quality buffet and not comparable to the feast of fresh options other Hotels offer. I will be back in Heron in October and think its a good place to stay if you don't look for something fancy but a safe and quite place to sleep.
Internet and digital TV are available and of good service level taking into account that we are in central Africa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

At the suggestion of Laura, from TravelPlanKenya, we stayed two nights in the Heron Hotel to allow us a good night's sleep on arrival, a day out in Nairobi, and another good night's sleep before heading off, fully refreshed, on Safari with our Eyes on Africa driver/guide. A good idea in more ways than one as it had the desired effect of peaceful rest, of 'acclimatising' us before safari, and, because one of our suitcases missed our KLM flight, we were able to have it delivered to the hotel the next day.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and with Eyes On Africa Safaris having on office next to reception, we were well informed and organised about our future arrangements. The Superior Suite we stayed in was quite spectacular in size and design, was clean, well maintained, and all services worked well, including the hotel's modern lifts used to reach it if we required.

The Heron hotel allows a choice of dining venues and styles, has a well stocked shop (with reasonable prices), and clean and pleasant outdoor pool and sitting area. The food we had was good quality and reasonably priced, as were the drinks. Restaurant service was very friendly yet courteous, and was our introduction to the charming nature of the Kenyan people. Breakfast was a feast of international choice, with an abundance of fresh local produce and juices. One benefit for us tea drinkers in Kenya is the availibilty of good quality tea, made properly with boiling water!

The location of the Heron Hotel doesn't allow for a particularly pleasant stroll into town, but it does allow quite effective access (20min) to/from the airport and to/from day trips such as the Karen Blixen Museum, Langatte Giraffe Sanctuary, Sheldrick elephant orphanage, and Nairobi NP.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Heron Hotel, giving us a taste of luxury of a bygone age but with modern faccilities and standards of hygiene. With great food and friendly and professional service, the Heron Hotel has a winning recipe, and provides an oasis of calm in Nairobi's hectic choas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I'm surprised at some of the reviews on this site. We stayed twice for one night either side of a longer visit. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor, with huge living room, kitchen and balcony. Lots of comlimentary bottled water and coffee/tea provided.

The pool area was clean and quiet, the food was fine and we found all the staff friendly and helpful and prices reasonable. We had early morning starts on both of our stays, but were provided with a full plated breakfast ready and waiting for us at 5am!

I cant even put that old cliche that you get what you paid for. This is a 3 star hotel and our stay was far better than some of the much more highly acclaimed and starred hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Among the various hotels in Nairobi, I think The Heron is the best value for money. It's a cool, safe and well decorated place, very functionnal, with access to Internet in every room. Nice restaurant (although it was better before).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.