We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Ulm
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Heron Hotel is a good place to stay if you need to be on upper Hill and Fairview is fully booked. Rooms are OK, clean, well furnished and the Service is fine. The difference between deluxe and executive rooms is nearly not existing, so take the cheaper option.
The Hotel Restaurant is not that recommendable. Breakfast is a low quality buffet and not comparable to the feast of fresh options other Hotels offer. I will be back in Heron in October and think its a good place to stay if you don't look for something fancy but a safe and quite place to sleep.
Internet and digital TV are available and of good service level taking into account that we are in central Africa.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    67
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
15
24
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

At the suggestion of Laura, from TravelPlanKenya, we stayed two nights in the Heron Hotel to allow us a good night's sleep on arrival, a day out in Nairobi, and another good night's sleep before heading off, fully refreshed, on Safari with our Eyes on Africa driver/guide. A good idea in more ways than one as it had the desired effect of peaceful rest, of 'acclimatising' us before safari, and, because one of our suitcases missed our KLM flight, we were able to have it delivered to the hotel the next day.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and with Eyes On Africa Safaris having on office next to reception, we were well informed and organised about our future arrangements. The Superior Suite we stayed in was quite spectacular in size and design, was clean, well maintained, and all services worked well, including the hotel's modern lifts used to reach it if we required.

The Heron hotel allows a choice of dining venues and styles, has a well stocked shop (with reasonable prices), and clean and pleasant outdoor pool and sitting area. The food we had was good quality and reasonably priced, as were the drinks. Restaurant service was very friendly yet courteous, and was our introduction to the charming nature of the Kenyan people. Breakfast was a feast of international choice, with an abundance of fresh local produce and juices. One benefit for us tea drinkers in Kenya is the availibilty of good quality tea, made properly with boiling water!

The location of the Heron Hotel doesn't allow for a particularly pleasant stroll into town, but it does allow quite effective access (20min) to/from the airport and to/from day trips such as the Karen Blixen Museum, Langatte Giraffe Sanctuary, Sheldrick elephant orphanage, and Nairobi NP.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Heron Hotel, giving us a taste of luxury of a bygone age but with modern faccilities and standards of hygiene. With great food and friendly and professional service, the Heron Hotel has a winning recipe, and provides an oasis of calm in Nairobi's hectic choas.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I'm surprised at some of the reviews on this site. We stayed twice for one night either side of a longer visit. We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment on the top floor, with huge living room, kitchen and balcony. Lots of comlimentary bottled water and coffee/tea provided.

The pool area was clean and quiet, the food was fine and we found all the staff friendly and helpful and prices reasonable. We had early morning starts on both of our stays, but were provided with a full plated breakfast ready and waiting for us at 5am!

I cant even put that old cliche that you get what you paid for. This is a 3 star hotel and our stay was far better than some of the much more highly acclaimed and starred hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Among the various hotels in Nairobi, I think The Heron is the best value for money. It's a cool, safe and well decorated place, very functionnal, with access to Internet in every room. Nice restaurant (although it was better before).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I stayed here at the start of a 3 week safari trip booked with a group. Rather than staying in the actual hotel we were placed in a building out the back which resembled old staff quarters. It was the work accommodation I have ever stayed in. The room was very old and dirty, the bathrooms unclean. there was no flyscreen on the window. In the shower the hot water tap leaked boiling hot water and so was too hot to touch. They only supplied 1 towel for 2 people in a double room. the sheets and towels were threadbare and had holes. The hotel restaurant got our orders significantly wrong on 2 of the 3 meals we ate there.

Had I only paid £20 to stay there for the room, I would have expected that standard, however we paid significanly more for a room that would not qualify as a 2 star. It was terrible.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Our safari started at Heron Hotel which ment that the room was pre-booked by the tour operator.
The hotel room was clean and featured nothing more and nothing less than one could expect from a hotel of this standard. Ofcourse it had a mosquitonet.
As many people have written about this hotel the walls are very thin and you can hear everything going on in the rooms next to yous and in the halls and on the stairs. It seems quite loud and woke me up many times during the night. After a night like that don't expect to get your wake-up call on time.
Breakfast in the restaurant next to the reception is good and can be enjoyed outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I visited heron hotel in april 2009. I got a nice new renovated and clean room. the hotel is under reconstruktion. So it was very loud beginning in the morning. In the evening it was a loud from the restaurant. the staff partly friendly. As i arrived i was told breakfast until 11. One morning i wanted to have breakfast at 10.15. At that i should pay for the breakfast because it is only up to 10 for free. I do not understand that, because breakfast was included. The breakfast poor. For this room rate not a good service. The receptionist only partly friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Jovago.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.