We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so friendly hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
BS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not so friendly hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

I visited heron hotel in april 2009. I got a nice new renovated and clean room. the hotel is under reconstruktion. So it was very loud beginning in the morning. In the evening it was a loud from the restaurant. the staff partly friendly. As i arrived i was told breakfast until 11. One morning i wanted to have breakfast at 10.15. At that i should pay for the breakfast because it is only up to 10 for free. I do not understand that, because breakfast was included. The breakfast poor. For this room rate not a good service. The receptionist only partly friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    67
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
15
24
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Córdoba,Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

The Heron Hotel was the departure point for our Safari-tour through Kenia -Tanzania and it was included in the excursion.We stayed two nights,at the begining and at the end of the tour.The staff at the reception were very friendly and the check in quickly.They gave us a Standard room at the second floor. We had to go upstairs passing through narrow corridors and wood walls.Unfortunately for us the hotel was under repairs.The first impression of the room wasn't very nice,at any rate it looks clean and the beds were comfortable.Whe we return from the tour many fellow travellers run to looking for another better hotel ,because they remain for a couple of days more in Nairobi.At the evening we order burgers for the room and the service was OK. The previous night we request an early breakfast due our early flight and we got it and it was almost perfect

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Its a Secret
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

A good, clean (like CLEAN), comfortable and friendly hotel a short walk from Nairobi city centre. Rooms are recently redecorated and equipped to an average level for an international hotel (ie TV, cable, free internet access - I'm posting this from my room).

Reasonable resturant for this price bracket - I strongly recommend the fillet steak (two large pieces for KSh800, you can't go wrong) - but menu a bit limited.

Downsides are: no air-con (at least you don't end up with someone elses cold!); patchy cable TV service (it doesn't work in all rooms, or all of the time); sometimes v slow internet. But then, hey, this is Africa...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

I was visiting Nairobi with colleagues and had been booked into Ngonghills hotel. Believe me you really would not want to stay there. The Heron Hotel was at least ten times better than that.
There was still some building work going on but this did not start too early nor carry on too late,
My room was completely adequate, bed okay, bathroom good. I looked for air conditioning as the sun shone through my windows from lunchtime till sunset and was very hot by the time it was time to go to bed.
The hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and obliging. We ate in the restaurant every evening. The food was good but the same choice of menu each night. Breakfasts were not so good.
I do think a buffet style breakfast would be much better.
our stay was for 6 nights and proved to be a good base for the purpose of our visit. We could sit, relax and enjoy our evenings over a meal and a drink.
After being approached by a lady, whilst waiting outside the hotel for a colleague to visit the hotel, it was fairly obvious what she was after. She insisted that she was just being friendly. She went away when I told her that I was waiting for a male friend.

  • Liked — room, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — breakfasts,no air conditioning
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.