We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Really great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Nice room for all kind of pocket. Good location to go in every corner of Nbo. Swimming pool in the average. Service is precise, gentle, timed. There are few opportunity to make some Shop. One of the Best choice in Nbo.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write about your wonderful experience at The Heron Portico.

I'm glad that we succeeded in creating a memorable stay experience for you and feel extremely elated by your kind acknowledgement of the same. Your positive comments are a great motivation for the team.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    27
    12
    0
See reviews for
22
28
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Came here for a business trip and stayed for 3 nights. Starting from reservation confirmation till check out, everything was smooth. Food quality and service is superb. Casbah lounge bar is very contemporary but hotel has retained its Swahili theme.
Outdoor cafe is really a great place to unwind. I would recommend this hotel for business and leisure traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing room on higher floor to get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind endorsement of our unique features and staff services following your recent stay at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

I am delighted to read that you found time to sample our new launched lounge bar Casbah.

My team and I eagerly look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We came here for holidays. Honestly speaking was not expecting such an international standard service. Extremely warm staff. All facilities are nice and very well maintained. Nice clean environment.Rooms are good. Bathrooms are nice. Though Breakfast was awsum otherwise Food is ok. Overall a great experience at the hotel. Would certainly stay again and would recommend others. Certainly one of then best properties!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback about your experience at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

I am extremely delighted to note that the hotel and its services exceeded your expectations.
Our team is our asset and we take great effort to train our team to deliver excellence. Your positive sentiments have been communicated to the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A good hotel which was our stop in Nairobi before starting our overland trip.

Was a little confusion on our airport transfer as the driver wasn't aware we were being picked up so didn't identify himself but he was there so could be found. The hotel also upgraded our room due to this which is good customer service.

Room was well equipped and we had a great nights sleep there, breakfast was good too.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We have taken up your feedback with the concerned departments and ensured corrective measures are done.

It is always our constant endeavor to provide best of services to our guests and that every guest of the hotel is treated with utmost professional care and hospitality.

We are pleased to know that we have been able to live to your expectations. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next stay with us.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I came here for business trip and have till now stayed for 3 nights. People are very friendly and service oriented. It is clean and yet it gives you the African ambiance.
Just nice. I would definitely come back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Heron Portico, Nairobi recently. Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

The team is excited looking at your fantastic feedback and I am sure this will motivate them further to deliver high levels of guest satisfaction. Thank you for your excellent review.

It will be our distinct privilege to serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Two night stay...although I spent a lot of time at the hotel before as other friends were staying there for 6 days. The staff is attentive and polite. My room was great with a sitting area and a good bathroom. There are safes for your valuables. The room has some quirky hallways and stairs that have to be navigated between towers. The pool was a mess while we were there but they did offer to take us to a sister property if we wanted to use the pool. (it got fixed just as we were leaving - after draining it and repairing it.). The food was okay...happy hour on the patio was nice, just wish they had happy hour on the inside bar too. I would stay here again. Nice gym and they also have a sauna. The lobby provides a nice area to gather our group. Breakfast was good but it took a lot to get coffee refills. They also charged me (not really as breakfast was included) for two breakfasts both days even though I was only 1 person staying in a double room - I gave up trying to get that straightened out..as it was included.

Room Tip: There are better and worse rooms...I think I got a more deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

I thank you for taking the time off to provide us valuable feedback on Trip advisor regarding your stay at the The Heron Portico.

At the very outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us with regards to coffee service at restaurant. Your feedback on the experience at the hotel has been noted and shared with the team.

It is feedback from esteemed guest like you that helps us to constantly introspect our systems and procedures and assists us in striving for a better product and service.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and take this opportunity to assure you of our best attention and service at all times.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Hotel is very well located and has good conference facilities. Also the food is good and a lot of variety in the menu in the restaurant. The room is very comfortable and the bathroom very clean. The Spa and the Gym is also excellent.

The Wifi in the Hotel is very good and free.

A very good experience overall.

Room Tip: The Room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you very much for posting your reviews about your experience at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

I am delighted to note that you have had an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to have been of service to you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Heron Portico.

Kind regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.