We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel all around..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good hotel all around..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel and found it to be what we were expecting. Our end of hall room was spacious, and being at the back of the hotel, very quiet. Staff were as helpful as possible, although front desk staff was lacking somewhat in local knowledge. Food in the restaurant was fine, and reasonably priced. Hotel is located about a 20 min walk to central area, or an 800 kes taxi ride.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarthotel11, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your experience at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

I am glad you left with a positive impression of our staff, restaurants and the hotel at large.

Your kind words of appreciation shall be conveyed to my team for whom they will be a tremendous source of inspiration. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    97
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
22
30
29
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

For my visit to Nairobi, the only request I had made to my Local colleague was to book a hotel which offered Indian Food. Vegetarian more precicely. My wish was granted. Plus this hotel offered much more.

Located strategically on hilly terrain and posh locality of Nairobi, the hotel felt like home. Wont mind staying at this place if I visit Kenya again.

Pros : Value for Money. Peaceful. Great Service. Good Food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smarthotel11, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

It’s a delight to read your appreciation of The Heron Portico, Nairobi. I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and cater to your Indian food requirement.

At The Heron Portico we genuinely believe that providing awesome memories to our guests is our prime purpose and endeavor to deliver this message through our actions and services.

It is always an honor to receive positive feedback which motivates our team to serve you better.

We await your early return for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

great service, also for conferneces etc. very comptetetive prices for accomodation and conference facilties, good building (airt circulation) with tasteful furniture, cuisine very good, I liked the combination of indian british and african dishes

had a good one week stay with a lot of support from hotel staff for my business trip. thanks a lot

Room Tip: somewhere high where the circulation of air is even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for writing beautiful lines of appreciation for our hotel and its amenities. We are happy to know that you had pacifying stay at our property. We are pleased to know that you liked our well appointed rooms, cleanliness at the hotel, Friendliness and courtesy of the staff, scrumptious breakfast and dinner and other amenities at the hotel. We are pleased to know that we have been able to live to your expectations. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

Looking forward to your next visit to Nairobi.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is very nice but there is no AC in the rooms. I would not expect a non AC room in that price but all other hotels I saw in that area didnt have AC so this was the best of all.

The superior room is quite comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful and also quick at service. The restaurant serves great food at a reasonable price so I did not bother to look for other places to have my dinner all the 4 nights.

Has a great gym and spa.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

We have taken a note of your A/C requirement and would like to inform you that we are working on it.

Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It is a good hotel for business travellers. A little bit far from the city center, but more secured place. The BF was regular and NO A/C in my room. There is a nice outdoor cafeteria with good croissant. The price/quality is fair.

Room Tip: Take the high floors for more fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we take immense pride in the fact that we work to make our guests feel at home. Feedback like this motivates the entire team to perform even better and more efficiently.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Since many years we are using the Heron Hotel as a workshop location.

The team is extraordinarily friendly and we have to say there is almost nothing which is impossible.
Rooms are spacious and clean, friendly decorated with all amenities.
There is a fitness room, a café, tourist shop with cyber and a pool.

Location is excellent - you can reach the city centre very fast as well as Lavington/Kilimani/Hurlingham area.

Security is good - though we once heard of somebody´s bag being stolen and the security camera hasn´t been working at the time of the incident.

Restaurant and prices are good. You might want to order early though, it often takes a while to be prepared.

Breakfast could also be a bit improved, but there is already a very good variety of everything.

Room Tip: Block A (rooms starting with "1"): even though facing the road, hardly any noise and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for penning down beautiful lines of appreciation for our hotel and its amenities. We are happy to know that you had pacifying stay at our property. We are pleased to know that you liked our well appointed rooms, cleanliness at the hotel, Friendliness and courtesy of the staff, scrumptious breakfast and dinner and other amenities at the hotel. We are pleased to know that we have been able to live to your expectations. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A bit off the city so the surrounding is calm, a bit too calm. The check in was nearly smooth. The room was neat but a tad too small for my liking. Watch out for the bathroom window/ ventilation. It opens towards the front corridor. So from a safety point of view ensure that it is latched when you go out. Also from a privacy point of view do take care when in the shower :-) There is a swimming pool too.

The restaurant is another story though. The buffet breakfast spread is functionally good but not lavish. The service time for getting my dinner on two consecutive days was too long. It took quite a bit of time for the waiter to get me the menu, then long enough again to get his attention to take my order and then quite long to get the food on table. About the food itself I do not write much in my reviews as tastes vary amongst readers. For me it was fine enough.

I had asked for a car from the hotel for a local ride. The request was dealt with very promptly and the charges were reasonable too. There is a small souvenir shop on premises. I did browse around but could not get tempted.

Summation is that it is a small compact hotel, functional and comfortable. Restaurant service speed has scope for improvement but that that observation can be disregarded as I come from Delhi where the life is at faster pace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that the level of service and the hotel ambiance was to your liking.

We take immense pride in training our staff so that our guests are delighted. Your comment on the services has been take up with concerned department and corrective measures have been done. Feedback from our guest encourages and motivates them to attain higher levels of perfection.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next stay with us.

Best Wishes and regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
Bidwood Suite Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#19 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#16 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.