We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel to stay in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice hotel to stay in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel is very nice but there is no AC in the rooms. I would not expect a non AC room in that price but all other hotels I saw in that area didnt have AC so this was the best of all.

The superior room is quite comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful and also quick at service. The restaurant serves great food at a reasonable price so I did not bother to look for other places to have my dinner all the 4 nights.

Has a great gym and spa.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

We have taken a note of your A/C requirement and would like to inform you that we are working on it.

Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    68
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
24
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

It is a good hotel for business travellers. A little bit far from the city center, but more secured place. The BF was regular and NO A/C in my room. There is a nice outdoor cafeteria with good croissant. The price/quality is fair.

Room Tip: Take the high floors for more fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we take immense pride in the fact that we work to make our guests feel at home. Feedback like this motivates the entire team to perform even better and more efficiently.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Since many years we are using the Heron Hotel as a workshop location.

The team is extraordinarily friendly and we have to say there is almost nothing which is impossible.
Rooms are spacious and clean, friendly decorated with all amenities.
There is a fitness room, a café, tourist shop with cyber and a pool.

Location is excellent - you can reach the city centre very fast as well as Lavington/Kilimani/Hurlingham area.

Security is good - though we once heard of somebody´s bag being stolen and the security camera hasn´t been working at the time of the incident.

Restaurant and prices are good. You might want to order early though, it often takes a while to be prepared.

Breakfast could also be a bit improved, but there is already a very good variety of everything.

Room Tip: Block A (rooms starting with "1"): even though facing the road, hardly any noise and spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for penning down beautiful lines of appreciation for our hotel and its amenities. We are happy to know that you had pacifying stay at our property. We are pleased to know that you liked our well appointed rooms, cleanliness at the hotel, Friendliness and courtesy of the staff, scrumptious breakfast and dinner and other amenities at the hotel. We are pleased to know that we have been able to live to your expectations. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A bit off the city so the surrounding is calm, a bit too calm. The check in was nearly smooth. The room was neat but a tad too small for my liking. Watch out for the bathroom window/ ventilation. It opens towards the front corridor. So from a safety point of view ensure that it is latched when you go out. Also from a privacy point of view do take care when in the shower :-) There is a swimming pool too.

The restaurant is another story though. The buffet breakfast spread is functionally good but not lavish. The service time for getting my dinner on two consecutive days was too long. It took quite a bit of time for the waiter to get me the menu, then long enough again to get his attention to take my order and then quite long to get the food on table. About the food itself I do not write much in my reviews as tastes vary amongst readers. For me it was fine enough.

I had asked for a car from the hotel for a local ride. The request was dealt with very promptly and the charges were reasonable too. There is a small souvenir shop on premises. I did browse around but could not get tempted.

Summation is that it is a small compact hotel, functional and comfortable. Restaurant service speed has scope for improvement but that that observation can be disregarded as I come from Delhi where the life is at faster pace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that the level of service and the hotel ambiance was to your liking.

We take immense pride in training our staff so that our guests are delighted. Your comment on the services has been take up with concerned department and corrective measures have been done. Feedback from our guest encourages and motivates them to attain higher levels of perfection.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next stay with us.

Best Wishes and regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I wish I had spent more than a night there. It is a lovely place and within walking distance to a lot of places. It is quiet and peaceful, for a place within central town area of Nairobi. The staff were friendly and helpful (not very common for Nairobi).
Food was great and the quality of sleep almost perfect (heat), despite having a fan in the room.
What I loved most was the wide choice for breakfast. I noticed that breakfast in East Africa can be quite a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is good to know that we have lived up to your expectations, also heartening to learn that you enjoyed your stay, while you were with us.

I will convey to the colleagues in front office, housekeeping, F&B service and kitchen about your appreciation of their services, which definitely will boost their morale.

It was our privilege to have you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel and restaurant are good. I did not enjoy the swimmingpool because of the bad weather. Staff is nice and friendly. Standart room are ok even if a bit small. Price is good if you comparate with most of the hotel in Nairobi. There is a fitness room also. It is a safe place with safety men all day long. English breakfast only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travelers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Quiet and Excellent property; near to city center business location; with all facilities. The best is the buffet breakfast with choice of African, continental and Indian food options. I enjoyed most was the dinner sitting outside in the veranda with cool breeze of Nairobi and excellent service of the staff.

Room Tip: Quietness is best on upper floors with a nice view in the rooms facing front side of the road with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Heron Portico.

It is indeed a true pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that you highly recommend all guests to try our hotel for stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back ‘Home’ on your next trip to the city.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.