We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I wish I had spent more than a night there. It is a lovely place and within walking distance to a lot of places. It is quiet and peaceful, for a place within central town area of Nairobi. The staff were friendly and helpful (not very common for Nairobi).
Food was great and the quality of sleep almost perfect (heat), despite having a fan in the room.
What I loved most was the wide choice for breakfast. I noticed that breakfast in East Africa can be quite a challenge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is good to know that we have lived up to your expectations, also heartening to learn that you enjoyed your stay, while you were with us.

I will convey to the colleagues in front office, housekeeping, F&B service and kitchen about your appreciation of their services, which definitely will boost their morale.

It was our privilege to have you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    24
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
22
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel and restaurant are good. I did not enjoy the swimmingpool because of the bad weather. Staff is nice and friendly. Standart room are ok even if a bit small. Price is good if you comparate with most of the hotel in Nairobi. There is a fitness room also. It is a safe place with safety men all day long. English breakfast only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travelers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Quiet and Excellent property; near to city center business location; with all facilities. The best is the buffet breakfast with choice of African, continental and Indian food options. I enjoyed most was the dinner sitting outside in the veranda with cool breeze of Nairobi and excellent service of the staff.

Room Tip: Quietness is best on upper floors with a nice view in the rooms facing front side of the road with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

We are extremely delighted to have you as an “ambassador” for The Heron Portico.

It is indeed a true pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time with us and that you highly recommend all guests to try our hotel for stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back ‘Home’ on your next trip to the city.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Had stayed here for a day during June 2012.beautiful location. Good facilities. Decent sized rooms. Though service is a bit slow here.
They offer pick up and drop services to airport for a reasonable charge

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Heron Portico, Nairobi and we thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your experience of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to receive your feedback and to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. The location of our hotel is indeed very nice. We are also happy to note that you enjoyed the facilities provided in the hotel. We have taken a note on service delivery.

Your feedback is very encouraging and inspiring.

We appreciate that you will always choose to stay at The Heron Portico, Nairobi on your future stays and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

In my last stay, i have experienced the best service and hospitality beyond my expectation. after the new management the hotel has been very much professional and take care of their guest very well.

Rooms

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,


It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable and our facilities & services were to your liking and expectation

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Besides The wildlife safaris, game tours of various national parks and adventure hot air baloon ride, The best experience was my stay at The Heron Portico. A hotel with really nice, bright, spacious rooms and true value for money. The Kitchenette provided in the rooms are the best. The staff is warm, splendid service. Check in was quick. This was my second trip to Nairobi and stay at the same hotel. But must say that this year I found the services, food etc much better and quick than last time, Specially the service and room cleaning.
Would recommend for families going on vacation. Corporates for outbound meetings. Good fun!!!
Cheers

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool... The corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s exciting to receive such motivating comments from our guests as we take pride in delivering best of the services to make your stay a memorable one and to become the most preferred destination in Nairobi.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I really enjoy staying at the Heron Hotel during my visits to Nairobi. Nice welcome pick up at the airport, efficient check in by friendly reception staff and nice spacious rooms for a pocket friendly price.

The hotel is now under new management and a few rough edges have clearly been polished. Staff is being trained and issues addressed more efficiently. However they still have an issue with their locks. I lost my key card and could not get a replacement. Had to be accompanied every time back to my room by a bell boy...not very nice. Hope they solve this before I come back.

Food quality in the restaurant is good, however the breakfast buffet is very limited. They could do a little more for breakfast.

I used the hotel laundry services and was pleasantly surprised to see all my laundry was returned and nothing damaged, good job!

I will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We take pride in training our team members and ensure that guests such as yourself feel at home while staying with us.

I have taken a note of your feedback on buffet breakfast and room lock. Please be assured that corrective measures are being taken for enhancement of over all service delivery.

We have shared your sentiments with the entire team. The team is delighted and looks forward to your next visit at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heron Portico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.