We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I have been in the Heron several times, and for me this is the place to be in Nairobi. The hotel is very safe, and close to the business centre. In day time you can walk to the city centre within 15 minutes. At night you take a taxi back 'home' for only 300 Ksh. Rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast is okay, but every time I am there served in another way. And the last time I often had to wait for clean dishes or things like that. But this is Africa. The terrace besides the entrance is a nice place to work in open air, in the shade and with real espresso coffee (in a small part of the terrace it is allowed to smoke, hurray). The only minus of this hotel is room cleaning. They clean your room part by part during all day long. So if you want to go for a nap in the afternoon, ask the cleaners personally to do your room quick and during morning hours.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank your for your feedback .

We are really pleased to know that you were satisfied with the services and facilities offered to you during your stay and that we managed to live up to your expectations.

We are happy that you enjoyed lovely idyllic location. We have taken a serious note of your feedback on F&B service and housekeeping.

We look forward to welcome you again at The Heron Portico.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    67
    24
    9
    0
See reviews for
15
24
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed with family for a couple of nights. Service at the reception was slow (not unusual for Kenya...). We got a huge suit at the 6th floor which was great for a family. Breakfast is rather poor and Wifi is slow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is always our constant endeavour to provide best of services to our guests and that every guest of the hotel is treated with utmost professional care and hospitality. It seems we have fallen short this time. We have taken a note of your feedback on check in,WiFi and breakfast at restaurant very seriously and corrective measures have been taken.
We would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better

I do hope that you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services.
I look forward to the opportunity of meeting you on your next visit and personally assuring you of our best services.

Kind Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingshurst
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel recently for eight days and I cannot fault it. Very friendly staff, clean and impressive rooms, good breakfast choice and a good range of options for the evening meal. I would recommend poisitively.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico,Nairobi!

It brings me immense pleasure to receive such positive feedback from our discerning guests and I’m glad to note that your stay at our hotel was most enjoyable and our facilities & services exceeded your expectations. Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team. I am sure this will go a long way to motivate them further to keep up the high levels of guest services. Guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to be your preferred destination in Nairobi.

Kind regards,
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse,Yukon
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It has been two years since we stayed at the Heron. During that time, they were doing some retrofitting . During our latest visit, we found much of the same. Great service, good food and decent rooms. Their room service menu was full of choices and delivery was timely. We would definitely stay at the Heron for a third time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Robert,

Greetings from The Heron Portico, Nairobi!

Thank you for sparing your valuable time and posting a great review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very delighted to note that your stay at our hotel was most enjoyable and our facilities & services exceeded your expectations. Your kind words of appreciation for renovation encourages us to keep moving ahead.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope to be your preferred destination in Nairobi.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Will I ever go to the heron again? MOST DEFINATELY!! In fact anytime I am in Nairobi, I will go to the Heron. I have stayed there twice. My only regret is that on my second stay I booked late and was unable to be hosted there for my last night. At the risk of having difficulty next time I want to stay there (due to competition) I strongly recommend this hotel. Heron Keep up the standards!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having you stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We are happy to note that your stay was comfortable and our facilities & services were to your liking and expectation.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.

Best regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

With one of the booking-machines I got a very good room rate for a junior suite. But make sure that you do not get a downgrade by accident when checking in.
Room was spacious. Comfortable bed. There was a fridge in the room, but no Minibar. Coffee/Tea making facilities were provided.
Everything seemed to be renovated.
The bathroom was quite big with a walk-in shower.
Breakfast was ok with the usual stuff, but it seemed to be very difficult for the waiters to keep it filled. So often I had to wait for the items to be refilled. The coffee was awful. But they have a nice outside cafe where you will get perfect coffee (at an extra charge).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are delighted that you liked our renovated room and facilities provided. We have taken a note of your feedback on minibar replacement and breakfast buffet replenishment.

We would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location, clean apartments but slow service in rešturácii. Due to the quality and price excellent choice ... The staff is helpful and friendly with an effort to help and immediately address deficiencies of any kind.
Management responds flexibly to all requirements and is surprisingly fast flexible with regard to the country where you are, I highly recommend it despite the shortcomings in the first days of my stay in this unit. After 14 days, no reproach.

"He has no room" of fitness because the morning after 6 hour's sleep! : O)

Room Tip: "He has no room" of fitness because the morning after 6 hour's sleep! : O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasant feeling to know that we were able to meet expectations of our guests every time they stay with us.
Feedback like this motivates the entire team to perform even better and more efficiently.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.