We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location, clean apartments but slow service in rešturácii. Due to the quality and price excellent choice ... The staff is helpful and friendly with an effort to help and immediately address deficiencies of any kind.
Management responds flexibly to all requirements and is surprisingly fast flexible with regard to the country where you are, I highly recommend it despite the shortcomings in the first days of my stay in this unit. After 14 days, no reproach.

"He has no room" of fitness because the morning after 6 hour's sleep! : O)

Room Tip: "He has no room" of fitness because the morning after 6 hour's sleep! : O)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasant feeling to know that we were able to meet expectations of our guests every time they stay with us.
Feedback like this motivates the entire team to perform even better and more efficiently.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    24
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
22
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Heron Hotel is one of the most upscale hotels in Nairobi. It is located at a convenient distance from both the airport and from the shopping district. The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We were here for a couple of nights before moving to Masai Mara and we loved every moment of it. The food at the restaurant was amazing. I was looking for Indian food for lunch and I had the best tasting Dal Tadka here. The hotel is secure and is highly recommended for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about us.

We take pride in the fact that we stand out as a hotel when it comes to making guests feel at home. Your positive sentiments are a testimony to the fact that we are successful in doing so.

We thank you again for your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to Nairobi.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We Centum Learning Limited - India used to book this hotel for our all employees including senior Level stay. We are VERY happy with the Fast response of front Office Manager "David Mwaniki" he alwasy responds to our calls and mail without seeing time and day or night And even our employees whosoever stayed at Heron is is Highly satisfied with the Hotel Atmosphere as well as with the Front office Manager "David Mwaniki", They always say "he is a best and most Helpful guy in Hotel, His way of talking, way of managing things, way of attending peoples is very much appreciable. We always got on time Airport Transfers as well and We also very much appreciates Mr. David Mwaniki because of his understanding nature and His response which is VERY VERY NICE

We are VERY VERY Happy with this HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

This is by far the most pleasant feedback that we have ever received. Thank you for sparing time to do so !

Your thoughts have been shared with the entire team at the hotel. This has gone a long way to ensure that the team stays positive and motivated to take service levels to a new level.

We look forward to your continuous support.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is superb as it is not far from the city center - walking distance. It is also very quiet and feels secure. Our room was clean, spacious and even had a kitchenette. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good although the restaurant can be very cold as the windows are constantly left open even at 6.45 a.m. The hotel was worth every penny and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before commencing an overland tour. I appreciated the clean room, great food, friendly staff and a reasonable pool area... Is quite expensive compared to other options but for a little bit of luxury it was worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We thank you for choosing The Heron Portico as your preferred hotel in Nairobi and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to The Heron Portico in the near future.

Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is quiet, clean and I was amazed at how friendly the staff here was. They went out of their way to make us confortable and happy in all possible occasions. The food at the restaurant was amazing, and very fair prices. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The avenue on the front is quite busy, so pick rooms on the back of the hotel, which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico ,Nairobi and for sharing detailed feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our team members are very motivated when we receive such feedback. It encourages them to continue making an effort towards newer heights of excellence.

Thank you for recommending The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is an average hotel with some pro and cons. The location is pretty good although it can take up to 2 hours in traffic to get between here and downtown Nairobi. The rooms are a nice size and very clean although they do not have hairdryers in the room.

The food in the evening is really good and great service but the breakfast was pretty dire and very unsatisfactory, I ended up skipping breakfast but having dinner each night at hotel.

The pool and gym were great for this size hotel and the staff were all very helpful. I would stay here again for business but definitely not for leisure or if I had a bigger budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico Nairobi!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback.

I have noted your valuable feedback on breakfast buffet and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

I would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better.
we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heron Portico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.