We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendlier staff ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendlier staff ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This hotel is quiet, clean and I was amazed at how friendly the staff here was. They went out of their way to make us confortable and happy in all possible occasions. The food at the restaurant was amazing, and very fair prices. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The avenue on the front is quite busy, so pick rooms on the back of the hotel, which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico ,Nairobi and for sharing detailed feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our team members are very motivated when we receive such feedback. It encourages them to continue making an effort towards newer heights of excellence.

Thank you for recommending The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    70
    25
    9
    0
See reviews for
16
26
21
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is an average hotel with some pro and cons. The location is pretty good although it can take up to 2 hours in traffic to get between here and downtown Nairobi. The rooms are a nice size and very clean although they do not have hairdryers in the room.

The food in the evening is really good and great service but the breakfast was pretty dire and very unsatisfactory, I ended up skipping breakfast but having dinner each night at hotel.

The pool and gym were great for this size hotel and the staff were all very helpful. I would stay here again for business but definitely not for leisure or if I had a bigger budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico Nairobi!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback.

I have noted your valuable feedback on breakfast buffet and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

I would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better.
we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My taxi driver recommended Heron Hotel after I have had my first disappointing night at Sentrim 680 Hotel. I and my Fiancée stayed for three days in Heron and we love a very single moment of our stay.

It is a true value for money. You feel the quality of the services right from the reception.

I recommended it for any holiday maker who requires a peace of mind in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are delighted that you liked the hotel and its services. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As this hotel is located in a very quiet location at walking distance form the CBD and has very good access to the airport we were very pleased to stay here 3 times one night during our vacation. 1 night after the international flight from Belgium to Nairobi, 1 night after our safari and 1 night at the end of our vacation in Lamu Island before flying back home. The big swimming pool and fitness area are well equipped with very modern facilities. The staff is professional and very helpfull. The hotel hosts tourists as well as international business men.

Kristof De Witte-Schelkens (BELGIUM)

Room Tip: If you travel with 2 to 3 children take 1 large room on the top floor for the whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Newly done up rooms are tastefully done. Comfortable stay. Good service, Good food. Perfect for tourists visiting Nairobi with families. Felt safe and at home as the staff is warm and helpful. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Heron on the recommendations of other reviews and I was certainly not disappointed! I was greeted with a cool glass of complementary juice whilst booking in and was most impressed by both the contemporary decor of the reception area and the friendliness of the staff. A problem with the hot water supply to my intended room resulted in an upgrade to a larger room! room and the hotel facilities were wonderful! The main restaurant was well appointed, with good service and excellent food. In terms of value for money, this hotel was truly outstanding. I really hope it remains affordable as I would ( & have) recommend it to all travellers to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico, Nairobi and for sparing your valuable time to share experience of your stay through TripAdvisor.

Your feedback about our services,quality of food and the hotel in general, is very very encouraging.

Thank you for this motivation.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Even a few days would be fine. Can't comment as to location in relation to attractions/activities as it was only an overnight layover. About 15 minutes from airport if you miss rush hours. 2 1/2 hours if you have to navigate rush hour traffic. Transport cost 2500 KES (about $30 USD at this time) each way. You arrange through hotel and pay when you arrive - Visa or cash - and don't expect change in USD. You can pay for the return transport as well but remember to tell the desk that is what you want to do when you checkout. Otherwise you could be left paying the driver in USD instead of KES and he'll likely be confused. :)

Staff were very nice and the hotel restaurant was very good. Service was a bit unhurried but friendly and the food was quite excellent. The location felt safe.

The room itself was quite acceptable for an overnight or a couple of days. On the large side, I'd say. There may have been air conditioning but there was no thermostat that I could find. The fan did a fine job though and we were comfortable. The bed was better than the one we'd slept on the previous night, even though it was not something I'd buy for myself.

I'm afraid we made quite a mess in the bathroom with the shower door that only extended halfway to block the spray and no shower curtain. So we used the rest of the towels to make sure we weren't going to slip on the floor in the middle of the night. :) As with most places in Europe and Africa, if you want a washcloth for your face, you need to ask for one. There are hand towels and bath towels provided but no face cloths.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.