We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, Helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome hotel, Helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My taxi driver recommended Heron Hotel after I have had my first disappointing night at Sentrim 680 Hotel. I and my Fiancée stayed for three days in Heron and we love a very single moment of our stay.

It is a true value for money. You feel the quality of the services right from the reception.

I recommended it for any holiday maker who requires a peace of mind in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are more value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are delighted that you liked the hotel and its services. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    78
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
19
27
24
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As this hotel is located in a very quiet location at walking distance form the CBD and has very good access to the airport we were very pleased to stay here 3 times one night during our vacation. 1 night after the international flight from Belgium to Nairobi, 1 night after our safari and 1 night at the end of our vacation in Lamu Island before flying back home. The big swimming pool and fitness area are well equipped with very modern facilities. The staff is professional and very helpfull. The hotel hosts tourists as well as international business men.

Kristof De Witte-Schelkens (BELGIUM)

Room Tip: If you travel with 2 to 3 children take 1 large room on the top floor for the whole family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Newly done up rooms are tastefully done. Comfortable stay. Good service, Good food. Perfect for tourists visiting Nairobi with families. Felt safe and at home as the staff is warm and helpful. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I stayed at the Heron on the recommendations of other reviews and I was certainly not disappointed! I was greeted with a cool glass of complementary juice whilst booking in and was most impressed by both the contemporary decor of the reception area and the friendliness of the staff. A problem with the hot water supply to my intended room resulted in an upgrade to a larger room! room and the hotel facilities were wonderful! The main restaurant was well appointed, with good service and excellent food. In terms of value for money, this hotel was truly outstanding. I really hope it remains affordable as I would ( & have) recommend it to all travellers to Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico, Nairobi and for sparing your valuable time to share experience of your stay through TripAdvisor.

Your feedback about our services,quality of food and the hotel in general, is very very encouraging.

Thank you for this motivation.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Even a few days would be fine. Can't comment as to location in relation to attractions/activities as it was only an overnight layover. About 15 minutes from airport if you miss rush hours. 2 1/2 hours if you have to navigate rush hour traffic. Transport cost 2500 KES (about $30 USD at this time) each way. You arrange through hotel and pay when you arrive - Visa or cash - and don't expect change in USD. You can pay for the return transport as well but remember to tell the desk that is what you want to do when you checkout. Otherwise you could be left paying the driver in USD instead of KES and he'll likely be confused. :)

Staff were very nice and the hotel restaurant was very good. Service was a bit unhurried but friendly and the food was quite excellent. The location felt safe.

The room itself was quite acceptable for an overnight or a couple of days. On the large side, I'd say. There may have been air conditioning but there was no thermostat that I could find. The fan did a fine job though and we were comfortable. The bed was better than the one we'd slept on the previous night, even though it was not something I'd buy for myself.

I'm afraid we made quite a mess in the bathroom with the shower door that only extended halfway to block the spray and no shower curtain. So we used the rest of the towels to make sure we weren't going to slip on the floor in the middle of the night. :) As with most places in Europe and Africa, if you want a washcloth for your face, you need to ask for one. There are hand towels and bath towels provided but no face cloths.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a standard room. Not bad but nothing memorable. Our twin room was very small, the "aircon" was actually only a fan and it was very noisy located directly overlooking the neighbouring gospel church on a weekend. Staff were helpful though especially in the Seasons Restaurant where we had dinner. Same cannot be said for breakfast where staff appeared quite disinterested and the choice of food was unusual by Western standards (tuna patties?). We had 2 extra nights booked for the future but have cancelled as we don't think the price is justified.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for this feedback. We are pleased to know that our staff came across as polite and friendly.It is extremely disappointing to know that we did not match your expectations on menu selection and service during your breakfast.

We have shared this feedback with the team who I'm sure will take this up as a challenge in improving.

I do hope that you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. I look forward to meeting you in future. Please do write to me at gm@heronhotel.com the next time you plan your visit to Nairobi.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed at the Heron twice on a recent trip to Kenya/Tanzania, before and after an Intrepid trip. It is good value for Nairobi - very secure, great desk staff, a very good restaurant with attentive waiters and a very relaxing ambience.
The rooms, particularly those upstairs in the main building, are well apppointed with free wi-fi. Desk staff are very helpful in arranging transport and recommending places to visit.
Importantly it is one hundred metres down the street from the hotel used by Intrepid to start and end trips. If you can, stay here rather than the other place. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, preferably upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasant feeling to know that we were able to meet expectations of our guests every time they stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.