We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fiti -- Its Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fiti -- Its Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was here for a very short visit as a sharing guest with my colleague. The room is quite good, space, furniture, beds etc., Bathroom showers .... problem. Security is quite good. No lift facility for the rooms backside. Appears my colleague faced big issues with wifi connectivity, think it is better the hotel improves this becaz mostly we come on business. executive lunch options limited but tasty enough. Overall fiti. While my short stay I was asked by housekeeping staff if I wanted to get the room cleaned. Got a small Jim, Swimming pool. Good show.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms having lift connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    27
    12
    0
See reviews for
22
28
24
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. My client typically books folks into the Hilton but my fixer suggested the Heron. Rooms were nothing special but the staff was fantastic and it was a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NAIROBI
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked my guest Mr. Marco Favazza from Italy in your splendid hotel last week as from the 29 April upto 04 May 2013 and we appreciated the quality service of the tall huge brown gentleman in your Front Office. My guest will certainly recommend your hotel on his next visit in October 2013.

Many thanks.

Anthony Smith.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travelers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

Positive feedback from our guest is always a strong motivation to all of us.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on several occasions during april/may 2013. Staff are warm and friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable. Hotel seems secure with guards at the gates etc (and Police HQ on the other side of the road, and same area of town as the president's house). Wifi facilities are good. Business people staying for more than a couple of nights might get bored with the current menu in the restaurant and bistro/cafe - I discussed this today with the general manager and understand that new menus are on their way any day now, so I'll look forward to those on my next visit. The Heron probably isn't a "family" hotel but it does have a pool and a gym so if you are coming with family I'm sure the children will be fine. Overall, very good.

Room Tip: I stayed in the rooms at the back of the hotel which seemed to be quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that the level of service and the hotel ambiance was to your liking.

We take immense pride in training our staff so that our guests are delighted. Your comment on the services of our staff encourages and motivates them to attain higher levels of perfection.
We have introduced our new menu and would like you to give your valuable feedback in next visit.

We look forward to the pleasure of your next stay with us.

Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The Heron Portico hotel in Nairobi made us feel like our home away from home. Mr David Mwaniki, the front desk manager, made sure our stay was as comfortable and relax as possible. His professionalism, friendliness, and dedication to making his guests feel at home are outstanding. Thank you Mr. Mwaniki and your hotel and your staff will be our choice when we return to Nairobi and we will highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is in a secure area in Nairobi, is comfortable and has wonderful staff. The rooms are well equipped, and offer a cozy nights sleep. The staff are wonderful, welcoming and helpful. Honestly a wonderful place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on multiple occasions in 2011 during my business trips to Nairobi. My travelling agent could not find anything better within the given budget. I found this hotel to be okay for business travelers like me. But i would not recommend it to someone travelling with kids and family. Honestly, what i heard about this hotel from the locals was that the hotel was infamous for various (obvious) reasons in the past! and during my stay in the hotel, I did find few such elements sitting in the bar and restaurants :)
Otherwise, hotel stay is comfortable, bar and restaurant is very nice, and they serve nice hot food. Breakfast buffet is splendid! Rooms are average. They also have a swimming pool in the hotel which was a nice past time for some sun bathing. Location of the hotel is also very good, close to the central Nairobi and still very peaceful and green surroundings.
Overall I would give 3.5 stars for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.