We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to stay a bit away from the busy downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
The Heron Portico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If you want to stay a bit away from the busy downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Heron Hotel has recently been refurbished and offers a good option for business and leisure travellers who prefer not to be in the middle of the action downtown Nairobi. Being on Milimani Road it offers the opportunity to be close enough to the centre without the hustle and bustle of the town centre. It is also within walking distance to Lenana Road if you happen to be in Nairobi on a business trip linking up to development agencies. Staff is friendly and attentive to requests by customers. The restaurant offers good choices on their menu for dinner if you feel not to have a test of the many restaurants in the area. The breakfast buffet could be improved with a better variety of food.

Room Tip: Rooms in the block at the back are quieter than the ones on the main block at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for taking time to write down the review.
Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts. We have taken a note of your feedback on our buffet breakfast variety and would like to assure you that corrective measures have been taken. Hopefully you will find the difference in your next visit.
Positive feedback from our guests are always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    76
    25
    10
    0
See reviews for
19
27
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at the Heron for a couple of days in October on Business. The location is a touch off the main sights and sounds but it adds lusture to the Hotel.

It has the look and feel of an Old English Hunting Lodge and the winding pathway and stairs to my 3rd floor room was real great. The room itself was decent sized and the spacious bathrooms was a relief

It also had a more than reasonable Vegetarian selection and the Breakfast was fulfilling

The Hotel staff can do with a bit more training and they took a long time to check me in. The only sour note was me and my colleague who used the same Hotel shuttle from the airport which we had pre-booked were charged separately ( double charge).

If you have the habit of rushing to catch your flight, do plan in advance as this one is a fair distance from the airport and passes through some real busy thorough fares in heavy traffic.

The property is slightly pricey but I guess the good decor and the cleanliness of the place will attract Business and Pleasure travel alike

Ravi

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is good to know that we have lived up to your expectations, also heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay, while you were with us.

As far as your grievances are concerned, kindly accept our sincere apologies for the same. We assure you that we will be looking on the mentioned points in the most optimistic way and considering them as moments of truth we will improvise on the same. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

We commit that we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned thus ensuring you a wondrous stay enriched with beautiful moments and unforgettable memories. We are waiting for you for yet another beautiful stay with us.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The rooms especially the deluxe is to die for...spacious, executive...got no words to express what I have experienced there, customer service is excellent and the staff are very hospitable. keep it up and keep the good work, maintain and even seek to be better to perfection!!

Room Tip: Depending on taste/preference choose a space that feels comfortable for you and also if you want a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travellers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.
Positive feedback from our guests is always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I organised a workshop for 15+ people from around Africa at this hotel. The Managers and staff did an excellent job of arranging accommodation, airport transfers, meals and conference facilities; accommodated numerous last-minute and complicated requests with efficiency and professionalism; and went to extra lengths to ensure the comfort and security of our participants and their belongings. The rooms were comfortable and clean, conference and other facilities good and well maintained, the food tasty and fresh and the service excellent. Most importantly, the staff at all levels were incredibly friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here while in Nairobi for work. I checked the website beforehand and was not very impressed with the pictures, so I was not expecting much. Therefore, when I got to Heron Hotel, I thought surely there was a mistake.

The facade was elegant and the reception sophisticated with predominantly wood decor. My room was tastefully furnished, very clean and comfortable. There didn't appear to be any air conditioning, but the weather was cool when I visited, so that wasn't a problem. However, it might have been different during hotter weather.

My main problem with the room was the design of the shower, which led to a lot of water leaking onto the floor. It was not all a pretty sight after each shower time.

The restaurant food was delicious, though pretty expensive as hotel meals tend to be. The Heron Hotel is located in a quiet area of Nairobi, although the more vibrant downtown is a mere 15 minutes away by car. The fitness centre was not yet open when I stayed there, although I got to look at it and could see that it would be a great facility, with more space and equipment than the average hotel gym.

It is a good place to stay if you want a comfortable, quiet hotel, which is not too far from the buzz of the city centre. I would suggest however that the hotel gets itself a better website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The rooms are large,beds extremely comfortable. Shower is big and the water pressure is nice. Service from everyone in hotel is excellent. Seems like a change of management. Very close to CBD.Buffet breakfast was OK, can have some more variety.

Room Tip: Ask for block C room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had lunch at the terrace of the main restaurant on a sunday afternoon,the grilled chix pizza that ma son ordered was very well done oven baked n sumptuous n ma Poussin chix very well marinated n spicy its worth trying while u visit the hotel ....and not forgetting the waiters are very attentive to detail and courteous same as the reservation manager who will welcome u with open arms....n the public areas esp..the ladies washrooms r very clean....will visit soon
I recommend the Deluxe rooms for accommodation....

Room Tip: I recommend the Deluxe rooms for accommodation....pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.