We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heron Portico

Save Saved
You added The Heron Portico to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF ON JR. SUITE
Ranked #18 of 91 hotels in Nairobi
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I organised a workshop for 15+ people from around Africa at this hotel. The Managers and staff did an excellent job of arranging accommodation, airport transfers, meals and conference facilities; accommodated numerous last-minute and complicated requests with efficiency and professionalism; and went to extra lengths to ensure the comfort and security of our participants and their belongings. The rooms were comfortable and clean, conference and other facilities good and well maintained, the food tasty and fresh and the service excellent. Most importantly, the staff at all levels were incredibly friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    24
    8
    0
See reviews for
15
22
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed here while in Nairobi for work. I checked the website beforehand and was not very impressed with the pictures, so I was not expecting much. Therefore, when I got to Heron Hotel, I thought surely there was a mistake.

The facade was elegant and the reception sophisticated with predominantly wood decor. My room was tastefully furnished, very clean and comfortable. There didn't appear to be any air conditioning, but the weather was cool when I visited, so that wasn't a problem. However, it might have been different during hotter weather.

My main problem with the room was the design of the shower, which led to a lot of water leaking onto the floor. It was not all a pretty sight after each shower time.

The restaurant food was delicious, though pretty expensive as hotel meals tend to be. The Heron Hotel is located in a quiet area of Nairobi, although the more vibrant downtown is a mere 15 minutes away by car. The fitness centre was not yet open when I stayed there, although I got to look at it and could see that it would be a great facility, with more space and equipment than the average hotel gym.

It is a good place to stay if you want a comfortable, quiet hotel, which is not too far from the buzz of the city centre. I would suggest however that the hotel gets itself a better website.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The rooms are large,beds extremely comfortable. Shower is big and the water pressure is nice. Service from everyone in hotel is excellent. Seems like a change of management. Very close to CBD.Buffet breakfast was OK, can have some more variety.

Room Tip: Ask for block C room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had lunch at the terrace of the main restaurant on a sunday afternoon,the grilled chix pizza that ma son ordered was very well done oven baked n sumptuous n ma Poussin chix very well marinated n spicy its worth trying while u visit the hotel ....and not forgetting the waiters are very attentive to detail and courteous same as the reservation manager who will welcome u with open arms....n the public areas esp..the ladies washrooms r very clean....will visit soon
I recommend the Deluxe rooms for accommodation....

Room Tip: I recommend the Deluxe rooms for accommodation....pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Heron Hotel for just one night before our safari. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were excellent. We ate in the restaurant that evening and there was a good choice of food. Our meal was great. The hotel also has excellent security and the only downside is, its a little bit out of the centre.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Its generally a good hotel quiet, walking distance from/to town, safe due to its proximity to a police station but poor service especially with the rude waiteress at the terrace and the night receptionist

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am not sure how much my client paid for this hotel but the deluxe room I stayed in was large had a microwave kitchenette and had a good size bathroom. This would be a good 3* property and perhaps fall short for a four star with it's only bar and restaurant that has no concept of service. The staff is polite and easy but that does not add up to good service. Simple things like bottled water took ten minutes to be served. The breakfast and food at the restaurant is average and mundane. Good showers, although I had to let a lot of water run before I got hot water, Clean towels and linen. This would be a good hotel if the pricing is about $80 a night, anything above this would earn negative points.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Heron Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi
Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heron Portico 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Heron Portico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.